We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #12 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast ever”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed with Becky and Bob in June for 2 nights. It is a good location with an easy walk along Government St into downtown Victoria. My room was very comfortable and clean and great value. Whilst I had some amazing breakfasts during my holiday Becky's was my favourite including delicious fresh fruit, savoury crepe and wonderful fruit muffins to go. Both Bob and Becky were very welcoming and helpful with information.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
93
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have nothing but good things to say about our stay. The room was excellent. The location is tremendous, as nearly every major attraction in Victoria is within easy walking distance. Places to eat are also close by - just chose the cuisine you like Not only do you get the flavor of BC life you get a taste of England from your hosts Bob & Becky who were originally from England. Breakfasts are to look forward to. In addition to a good meal everyday Becky bakes fresh muffins - which are very tasty - to put it mildly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave58528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The fresh flowers and fruit in your room are just a sign of the wonderful care that the owners take. We really appreciated their helpfulness and loved the big breakfasts! You will not find more delightful innkeepers!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichabod66604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Amazing B&B with a great atmosphere and very friendly hosts. Bob and Becky welcomed us to their home and treated us like old friends.
The house is located in a quiet street a few minutes distance to the coast and walking distance to the city centre.
They served us the best breakfast we had during our trip through Canada.
Should we ever come back to Victoria we surely will stay at the John Lewis House again.
Thanks for two great days, Bob and Becky !
Pauline & Julia from Berlin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlin201407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is where it's at, unless you'd rather stay at some commercial you-know where on the beaten path. My husband and I love our children, but promptly left them with capable grandparents, at their suggestion, to take a long weekend in Victoria.

Bob and Becky, clearly in their element as owners, ask you your interests upon arrival. Then, map and pen in hand, draw it out for you so that you have the most tailored experience. We arrived, promptly napped like Snow White after a grounding run in the super close Beacon Hill Park, and enjoyed Victoria in a way that one only can in a neighborhood joint.

Do the right thing. Book it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Becky and Bob make you feel right at home in their B&B. Much attention has been given to thoughtful details including a plush bed, thick towels, books to read, fresh flowers, fruit and chocolate in your room, robes for the bathroom two steps outside your bedroom, and a fine homemade breakfast served at a time you choose. The house is impeccably clean. Becky and Bob have extensive knowledge of the area and are just fun to be with. Top all that with a great location a block from access to the ocean and a short 15 minute walk to downtown, restaurants, and a large park. Book early as they only have two guest rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I do love a good B & B and Victoria has some of the best. My recent stay at John Lewis House was further proof. Wonderful, friendly, accommodating hosts are absolutely essential and Bob and Becky were that and more. The house is lovely, has a great location just mins walk from Cook St. Village, Beacon Hill Park and downtown Victoria. My room was well appointed and cozy with a lovely comfy bed and linens. There were lots of little extras to make my stay enjoyable and delicious breakfasts awaited me in the morning.
There are only two rooms for travellers, so book ahead - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennymasae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,695 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Property: John Lewis House B&B
Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Lewis House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing