We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Made the reservation through Booking.Com and reserved a King Suite in the new tower (on the top floor) close to the elevator. I learned of a senior discount and amended the booking through Booking.Com (who called the property and had them approve the discount) and reconfirmed the reservation...When we checked in I was told that the tower rooms were all gone and we had to stay in the old section, we were very disappointed in the room and the service. The first day when we returned to our room (at 6:00 PM) it had not been cleaned. The breakfast is a joke for quality. The tiny paper coffee cups make you feel like a child who is not worthy of an adult portion. Unfortunately we visited Victoria in the height of the tourist season and could not find another property for our stay so we just had to endure our disappointment. When we checked out there was no senior discount...

Room Tip: Make sure you get the property to post a bond to make sure you get the room you reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Socrates229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    99
    63
    26
    19
See reviews for
84
90
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parksville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great Location
Nice Clean Updated Rooms
Great Breakfast Included in Room Price

Only issue is cleaning staff did not clean or make up our room. I do not want to make or tidy my room when I am on holidays. When I brought this to the attention of the desk staff nothing was done. Shame on you desk staff.....someone should have come and cleaned my room at least given me clean towels and made the beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesliegrabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Lesliegrabove.

We have an automated system for our rooms and there is no doubt that your room should have been included in this. We are currently looking into this situation as there was an obvious glitch in our system. We are also looking into our front desk procedures to avoid future incidents like this.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention; it is comments like these that help us further improve our customer service and internal procedures.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Victoria.

Regards,
Greg McEwan
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booking short notice on a long weekend is always a worry. We managed to find rooms here. They were ok. Nothing really wrong with them but nothing particularly good either. Just a bed and a bathroom, reasonable standard, reasonably clean and does the job at a reasonable price. Take care in the breakfast room though, the very uneven floor is a heath hazard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel, MadCapt. We are pleased to hear that we were able to easily accommodate you and your party during a busy time.

Our breakfast room does have two levels, however we do have a ramp installed for easier access for those who are unable to navigation the limited steps. If further assistance is required, one of our staff members would be more than happy to help.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Victoria.

Regards,
Greg McEwan
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The room we were assigned was in the new section by the main road. One would think the traffic noise would have kept my up but to my surprise it did not. The room was great. The bathroom had room and a nice big bath tub to soak away my travel wary bones. Once out of the tub/shower you have to watch the wet floor so please stay on the bath matte. Once again, you have choices of soft or firm pillows And for those of us from the US, free WiFi. The breakfast was good, the normal you expect from Comfort Inn. The people at the front desk very helpful in answering questions on how we needed to proceed to our next destination.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Susan W.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our "Tower" building. We hope you had a great time in Victoria and we would love to see you again.

Regards,

Greg McEwan
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had the pleasure to stay at Comfort Inn & Suites. Now I may have been lucky but I was staying in the tower on the 4th floor (there are only 5) and the room was spacious and beautiful. Bed was super comfy and there were ample pillows of different firm/softness.

In addition to the great room, you receive free parking and a complimentary breakfast during your stay. I really appreciated the free parking as it felt like a $30-$40/day savings but really in my mind had discounted the breakfast figuring it wouldn't be much. Boy was I wrong! It was a full breakfast. Scrambled eggs, a different breakfast meat each day (i.e. sausage, ham) two variety of waffles, begals, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, pastries, etc and the quality of the food was good.

I'd love to give a shout out to the girl behind the front desk. She was friendly, helpful and went out of her way to make sure we had what we needed while we waited on friends to pick us up. I had searched for local restaurants nearby not wanting to go into the heart of the cifty after a long day of travel and as soon as I mentioned one of the restaurants her ears perked up and she provided examples of what she'd had there and then while I was sitting she quietly printed out the menu and brought it over. Let's just say, the meal didn't disappoint.

The location of this hotel is just outside of downtown Victoria. It's close to the Mayfair Mall as well as Uptown and it's just off Highway 17 which is the main freeway/highway that comes from the Swartz Bay and Sidney Ferries and ends next to the Parliment building in downtown Victoria. It's also near another major cross street (Hillside) which from 17 if your turn left you will then fine some great restaurants and a nice/quaint neighborhood.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it for anyone driving to Victoria.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the new tower unless you are looking for a kitchenette in which case I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and very thorough review of our hotel, Sandy H. We are so pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and enjoyed our soft and firm pillow selections.

Your comments about our breakfast were amazing. We really do have something for everyone at breakfast.

We greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of one of our staff members. Our team works very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay with us.

We are glad that the location worked out well for you during your travels.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards,

Greg McEwan
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderby, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to sleep. Was surprised how quiet it was. Friendly staff. Cushy beds and pillows. Would stay again. Pub has great food. Fridge in room. room 107. Slight mildew odor but was otherwise good spot.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Denise. It's always great to see such positive feedback from a Top Contributor.

We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy a meal in our attached pub. Thank you for letting us know of the slight odor you noticed; we will be looking into it.

We hope to have you back at the Comfort Inn & Suites next time you are in Victoria.

Regards,
Greg McEwan
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Selected it because of a concert near by we wanted to attend and not real pricey. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were standard hotel rooms but clean. Only issue was the AC sounded like a jet plane taking off! Finally had to shut it off but because the weather was perfect we really didn't need it on. Breakfast was above expectations with good eggs and ham.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Director of Sales & Marketing at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, mbabill. We greatly appreciate the recognition of our staff and the kind comments about our property.

We hope you enjoyed your concert, as well as your time in Victoria.

Regards,

Greg McEwan
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 52 in Victoria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 3020 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 5C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 152 well-appointed rooms, our hotel comfortably accommodates both business and leisure travellers. The Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria not only offers some of the best rates in Victoria, but each stay includes a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and ample free parking. Our conference and meeting spaces can accommodate a wide range of events, from large trade shows and weddings to small meetings. Redd’s Pub, our on-site restaurant, offers diners traditional pub fare, with a pleasant mix of international flavours. For you convenience, we also have a cold beer and wine store onsite, Rosie's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Victoria
Victoria Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing