We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I've stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel I've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

I booked this hotel in advance, online and stayed for more than 3 days so our room was $89/night. A great deal. We wanted a fridge and microwave for doing baby bottles and we got a small kitchen. I just can't say enough good things. Everything was perfect. The beds, the staff, the breakfast. (which was included in the price and had everything you could want) and since we stayed over Christmas they even gave us a small gift of a calender and some chocolates. This hotel is also walking distance to all the downtown attractions, an awesome location. We didn't check out the hot tub since we didn't have time. The only downside I could see is that the secure covered parking has a low ceiling due to pipes, but the heights and low spots were all clearly marked, and we got our Chevy Tahoe in fine. The website says they will help you find parking if you have a bigger vehicle.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    433
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
492
716
95
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
293 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Helms Inn is out spot in Victoria, but this time we tried Best Western Plus Inner Harbour, and we'll be back. As much as we like Helms, when they abandoned providing homemade muffins in the morning, they lost their edge. Best Western's breakfast is included, full of options, and changes some each day. Also, this is the only case we've ever seen in which the actual breakfast room is nicer than the photo!
All staff is excellent --there when you need them, and not overwhelming or solicitous. The room was perfectly clean and perfectly adequate except for two details. First, the baseboard heat travels up the insulating curtain instead of warming the room. But the room was warm enough; it just seems like a waste of energy.
Second, we had to redefine "balcony," as we reserved a room with a balcony and thought we were getting a room at least on the second floor, preferably higher, and in the best of all possibilities, facing the harbour. Our balcony was a patio with a view of nicely groomed bushes and the occasional pedestrian, and, alas, on the first floor!
This property is well maintained, and they go overboard in some instances. For example, they offer dispenser amenities in addition to spa hand and bath soaps. The towels are remarkable for the price.
Now it's a toss-up between Helms and Best Western Plus, but the free secure covered parkade, and the breakfast and the breakfast facility tip the choice in favour of Best Western Plus Inner Harbour.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Inner Harbour recently and were pleased with the overall experience.
The room was clean and comfortable with a convinient kitchenette unit available (though we did not use it).
The bed was super comfortable and the view was lovely. I understand they are/have been undergoing some renovations and upgrading. Our room was simple and pretty standard of what a Best Western offers, but the service was top notch. The front desk agent at check in was friendly and efficient. He also offered us a great tip on a fantastic place to have dinner.
They are welcoming and friendly. The location is great. It is in relative walking distance to shopping and dining. We will definitely be back. The only warning I would have is, it is located right on the waterfront directly across from the US Ferry Terminal so when that whistle blows it can startle you at times! Also, the traffic noise is somewhat loud for any light sleepers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

Just a 20 minute walk to the centre of town with lots of shops and restaurants even closer. Very friendly,accomodating front desk staff and one of best complimentary breakfasts we have had. No swimming pool but a lovely big hot-tub which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 28 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments on the service of our staff. We are also delighted to hear that you so enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast.

We are glad to hear you were able to walk around the area and take it all in, as a local tourist! This is an extra special time of the year at the inner harbour with all the Christmas light displays just a few minutes' walk from our hotel (such as at the Parliament Buildings, the Empress and along the waterfront causeway).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

While the view is fantastic, it was a bit of a walk to downtown. The room included a kitchenette, so that was nice, and the facility was well kept. I guess the check in was what soured me a bit. The woman was polite, but nothing more. It felt like we were inconveniencing her despite us being the only ones checking in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesuistom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 28 December 2010
Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you were not "wowed" by our staff. We have shared your comments with our front desk team. We look forward to seeing you back again soon and commit to making it a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

This hotel has pros and cons. The bottom line is, if you're looking for a clean and comfortable downtown location with the added perks of possible harbour views, and a continental breakfast included in the price, this hotel is for you. On the pro side, staff were all very friendly and helpful; each unit has a fully equipped, small kitchen with a window (nice for adding brightness and something to look out at while eating); also standard are private balconies with table and chairs, not always found in downtown hotels; and windows that open for 'fresh air freaks'. Most rooms, including kitchens and bathrooms, have been recently updated. On the con side, the continental breakfast isn't suitable for those with wheat or gluten sensitivities or someone who doesn't want to 'carbohydrate load' for breakfast. If that is you, it may not be good value; there are some downtown hotels that offer packages in the same price range, which include a choice of several full breakfasts. The hotel is modest in appearance, minimal-sized lobby, rather narrow hallways and dated, dark walls and carpet. There are other downtown hotels in the same price range with better amenities and nicer decor. However, we did a 'budget' trip and obtained our room through airmiles, so overall we were happy with our stay. We would probably stay there again using airmiles, but for a more special get-away, like an anniversary, I would recommend something a little more elegant. I do think for families, this hotel has a lot going for it. I pondered for a while about whether I would recommend it to a friend and decided that I would, depending on whether it fit their individual needs and circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaimoRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing all your comments.

We appreciated all the kind things you had to say, especially on the service of our staff, the cleanliness of our rooms and the extras our updated rooms offer (such as kitchen facilities and balconies).

I am sorry that our continental breakfast did not meet all your needs. Our staff are pleased to assist guests who let us know of their allergy - such as dairy, wheat or gluten - and we have items on hand for these guests or can arrange to have some special items brought in. We even keep a special toaster aside just for gluten-free breads. Please be sure to ask our staff for assistance on your next visit or mention your allergy at time of booking so we can provide a better breakfast experience.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Staff were very helpful - room was excellent value and was surprised to find kitchen facility.
also enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdpPowellRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWIH_Manager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Thanks so much for your compliments!

All of our guest studios include a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Full kitchen facilities can be added for a small charge when booking studios, and are located in a separate eating area adjacent to the guest room. Also, full kitchens are included (no extra charge) with all one-bedroom suite & penthouse reservations. The kitchens in our guest studios have all been beautifully renovated in the last year, and are especially popular with guests here for an extended stay.

We are delighted to hear you were able to make use of these extra facilities while our guest and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Address: 412 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Green Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located at Victoria's famous scenic Inner Harbour, just steps to attractions, shops and restaurants. Simply park your car and walk to all Victoria's sights. We offer a complimentary full breakfast buffet. Underground parking (max 6'6") is available for a daily charge. Well-appointed guest studios and one-bedroom suites include a private balcony, fridge, microwave, free wifi & DVD player. Ask about kitchen studios for extended stays. Luxurious penthouses offer stunning harbour views. Relax & unwind in the outdoor seasonal pool, indoor whirlpool, sauna, steam room and fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Best Western Hotel Victoria
Best Western Victoria
Best Western Inner Harbour
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing