We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria, B.C. is perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We recently stayed for two nights at Best Western's Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria, B.C.
and cannot say enough about how pleased we were. The hotel is perfectly located,
the service was exemplary; that is all the staff that we dealt with were most helpful,
cheerful and efficient. The rooms are pleasant with attention to detail and the beds,
sheets and pillows were most comfortable and we particularly appreciated the valet parking. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Cannot say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennice39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

Exceptionally clean, staff are friendly, parking a breeze. Made to feel welcome and so pleased at the cleanliness. Excellent location to walk to many great restaurants and easy cabs home after nightlife anywhere in the city. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy510109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I travel for business on a regular business. This place has always provided excellent customer service and warm smiles. The rooms are comfortable and clean. You can't go wrong staying here:)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltime151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Thank you to the staff at this hotel for making our stay great! Our room was extrordinary, extremely clean and the staff were professional and helpful. We have stayed here before and will stay here again in a heartbeat and will recommend to our friends and family!

Thanks Best Western Plus - Carlton Plaza Hotel for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago, liked it, and chose it again for a 5-night trip to Victoria. We were satisfied with our decision. No it isn't on the waterfront but it has a good location a bit uptown. A couple of blocks from the heart of Chinatown, 3 blocks from the Via Rail station if you want to take a day trip up the Island, dozens of restaurants within a short walk and an easy stroll down to the harbour. Maybe dollar for dollar the best hotel stay to be had in the city. Although it is in the midst of the city we had sound sleeps with no traffic noises or sounds from other rooms (it seems well built that way). Maybe the biggest down side is the absence of any restaurant at all on the property at this time. We chose to have our own breakfast in the room and sample different Victoria restaurants for the rest of our meals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

I would like to start by thanking the writer for their review of our hotel. As the write mentioned we are not situated in the inner harbour, however the hotel is just a short 5 to 10 minute walk from the inner harbour and all other downtown amenities. Our guests are able to enjoy a more downtown feel close to fantastic restaurants. I am sorry about the in house restaurant situation at the hotel, but am happy to report that a new restaurant will be opening in mid May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

my husband and I have 8 grandchildren in Vicoria along with their parents, so when it is time for a visit such as this last time for a B-day, there is not much room available in their home. We both love downtown Victoria and the waterfront, and Chinatown, so the Carlton plaza is a perfect fit for us. The rooms are spotless and spacious, love the valet parking and the front desk is always friendly, helpful and accomodating. We would not think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiejamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I originally reviewed this hotel immediately upon my return home back in October, 2010. I posted that I ran the 2010 Victoria Marathon and this hotel was on the race's list of recommended hotels. If we'd have been placed on the opposite side of the building, all might have been well. Sadly, there's a nightclub on the ground floor of the western side of the building and our room (322), like all others on that side, was directly above the entrance. The street noise from 11 pm - 3 am kept me wide awake, as did bumping into my husband in a bed that felt smaller than a queen. (The manager insisted it was a queen bed.) BIG problem when running 26.2 miles/42.2 k the following day. This was unacceptable, especially since the hotel "welcomed" runners.

That said, there are positives: the rate was pretty good. The location is excellent - 10-minute walk to the ferries, walking distance to some great pubs/restaurants (Swans, Il Terrazzo, Café Brio). The staff was very nice. I love having a mini 'fridge in-room for beverages/leftovers (that's not stocked with overpriced snacks). WiFi was painfully slow at times, but free, which is excellent.

Manager John Clisby contacted me as a result of that review and gave us a generous (and unsolicited) compensation, which was greatly appreciated. It won't lessen the nightclub noise for future travelers, but we were pleasantly surprised by the gesture.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £60 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing