We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

While passing through Victoria, our World Harmony Run team received a complimentary accommodation in this hotel and we were more than thrilled to stay here.
The rooms were very spacious with comfortable beds, with a separate rest area (hmm, what a nice couch!) and a kitchenette.
All of us enjoyed the excellent service we were provided and can recommend this hotel to everybody.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    390
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
288
368
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It was a perfect location to pick up some snacks to take back to the room. There was a 7-11 store right across the street. There was Burger King and McDonalds within 5 mins. For us (parents) there was a nice restaurant for dining within walking distance also.
What I liked was the private bedroom, then a queen size bed and a hideabed. There was also a full kitchen. I was very impressed with the size of the room for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Sometimes I have to get 2 adjoining rooms. The large suite worked out perfect for our family of 5 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickylagos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you very much to the writer for this review. We are happy to offer our family suites for only $40 more than our standard room accommodation. Our family suites include one separate bedroom, a full kitchen, a full living area, two queen beds, and a sofa that turns into a double bed. The rooms are approximately 500 square feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo b c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We always stay at Best Western Hotels and this is one of the best. Great location.. All round great Hotel .Chris and his staff go out of their way to help and make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoe962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was my first stay in a Best Westin hotel, and it was hands down one of the best hotel stays I've ever had. The location was perfect for walking around town, the front staff were so friendly and helpful one could be forgiven for forgetting they were in a hotel, the dining room person was equally friendly and helpful, the young man who brought my car out was a delight, and the room maid was absolutely charming. Wonderful value for money, especially for two seniors; couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for such kind comments about our hotel and staff. Reviews such as this is a great reward to all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have to hand it to the staff! We have had incredible personalized service for two days! They have made great suggestions and helped with purchases and printing out info from the Internet for us. The location is great within walking distance to everything and bus stops for those of us willing to take mass transit in an unfamiliar setting.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenjantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much to the writer for this wonderful review of our hotel. We are always more than happy to make any sort of arrangements that maximizes the quality of a guest’s vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our second stay at Carlton Plaza, the first being such a good experience.

We are very happy to say we were not disappointed with our decision to stay again. The competent service & friendliness of all staff remained consistent with our first visit. The room (Suite) was very clean & comfortable & well equipped. Kudos to the House Keeping staff. Also we inadvertently left our computer power pack in the room, which was expeditiously mailed to our home.(Thank you).

Since our last stay a new restaurant attached to the hotel "Stone Throw", had just opened. It's as if the two proprietors ( Fraser & Corey ) were cloned from the same gene pool as the hotel staff, being so open & friendly even under the stress of only just opening. Breakfast all day! plus direct room service. Good value in the two meals we had.

Room Tip: We really enjoy a self contained suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you to the writer for this review.

We are very glad to here you enjoyed your return to our hotel. It is also encouraging that the brand new Stone’s Throw restaurant did well to service your dinning needs. The new restaurant owner’s are working hard to meet all of our guest’s wishes, from opening early in the morning and staying open all day, to providing high quality room service at a good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My hubby and I stayed at here and cannot say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel. We were upgraded to the 7th floor, with room to spare and an amazing outdoor space. Over the 3 days of our stay we encountered many different staff members at the desk and throughout the hotel....and everyone was excellent, they just couldn't do enough for us it seemed. The new owners in the restaurant are very good and we enjoyed almost all our meals right in the hotel, it was easy and tasty!!! I would definitly return and also recommend this hotel to everyone. What a gem of a place, with a great location to boot!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRUISERS_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you very much for such a touching review. Receiving appreciation such as this encourages all of our staff to do everything they can to make each of our guests experience great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing