We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Found the hotel to be nice/decent although , the service at the desk was OK.
The first person (girl) was pretty helpful - some details on what we can do etc but the rest of them during our stay were just "seat warmers"

The room itself is nice and clean ( we do suspect that there were some bed bugs though - so beware)

no breakfast ....and not sure where our valet parking was done but I didn't care. I could stay back here in a better room but for a shorter duration (<2 days)

lastly, trip advisor community is simply superb and I'd booked my stays based on reviews here and we certainly would be commenting, reviewing more and more to give back, what we can for our other fellow travelers....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolGuy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

I'd like to thank CoolGuy2000 for his review of our hotel. I am very concerned about his comments about him suspecting there were some bed bugs. I have sent him 2 messages within the TA system asking for the room number he stayed in so we can check it out. We do take these issues VERY seriously. We are currently running full as the busy summer season is upon us and can confidently state that we have not had any issues with bed bugs! I will certainly inspect the room once we find what room he was in. Regarding the comment about "seat warmers" as directed to our staff, I'm not sure what he means by this. During the busy season, we have 2 desk staff and a compliment of bell/valet staff as well since we provide valet parking at the hotel. It could have been that there was a slow period at the time of his observation and some members were currently not engaged with guest's needs. If you read other reviews of our hotel, the staff do provide excellent guest service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

On our recent stay in Victoria, we stayed here and were very pleased with the hotel. It is located right in the heart of Victoria and is within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions and shopping. The room we had was spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions as well. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when in Victoria

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snrempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you to the writer for this kind review. Our front desk agents are all very knowledgeable of the city, and always happy to help with tips to enjoy Victoria’s downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Excellent Friendly Staff! Close to Chinatown and Shopping!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit small but the one bedroom suites are very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Staff on check I were very helpful and offered to organise a whale watching trip for us which saved us time and effort. Our room was quite small but perfectly comfortable. It did have a strange bathroom set up with the sink separate from the rest of the bathroom which I thought was quite strange! The location was good, nothing seemed very far away. Only issue with the location was that there did seem to be a problem with homeless people in the area, we were approached several times and we saw one woman who refused to give any money and was then verbally abused and spat at which was quite shocking. Seems that if you come out of the hotel and turn right there is more of an issue which is a shame because we went to a really nice restaurant down in this area. Our room was next to an elevator but there was a note to say that it wouldn't be in use between 11pm and 7am so we weren't too concerned about it. Unfortunately the next morning we were woken at 6 by the elevator. We did complain, the staff couldn't apologise enough, moved us into a much bigger room down the hall and we had no further problems. Overall a good hotel with excellent staff.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsWheelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Congratulations on your recent marriage, and thank you for this review of our hotel.
As a resident of Victoria, I’m sorry you had problems with people on the streets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Had a great stay. Close to everything cool in Victoria. Went for a run past the parliament buildings then walked to some great pubs. Room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve9876432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you Steve for the wonderful review of the Carlton Plaza Hotel. Knowing that you will be back to the hotel means a lot to all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

A very good location close to the downtown core and tourist attractions. Staff were friendly and very helpful always asking if there was anything you needed. Valet parking was exceptional - we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for our car. Room was clean and the price was good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street have more light - our room at the back was quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you Sheena for such a kind review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that our customer service was appreciated, and that the location worked for you while in Victoria.

I agree the rooms at the front (south facing) side of the building are a bit brighter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The location is great. You can walk most places with ease. Staff were very helpful. Room was clean. Price was OK. No breakfast included and the parking is valet which runs the cost up.Close to a Burger King and McDonalds which helps with the food cost. Also the hotel is located close to a night club so this kept me awake one night of the 4 night stay. Would stay there again based on location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you to the writer for this review. I agree our location right in the centre of Victoria’s downtown is very convenient for walking to numerous dinning options. Of course, the downside to our location is we are more susceptible to noise than a hotel outside the city core. I’m sorry that the writer experienced one disturbing night, there is nothing more frustrating than not sleeping well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £68 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing