We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is a nice hotel. My husband and aunt ( and her dog) stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a kitchen and were very comfortable. The hotel is well located, close to stores, tourist attractions and all things Victoria. The staff are wonderful, very, very, very helpful. Nice bright lobby. It is a 1921 building that has been updated, we thought it was charming. The valet parking is reasonable and handy. It was a little noisy in the middle of the night, I think there is a nightclub close by. They do provide ear plugs. We thought it was great value and would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suite could sleep 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 834chefmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. As the writer mentioned, we do provide comfortable rooms. The suites have a small kitchen in them, which includes a standard size fridge, stove, microwave as well as many kitchen utensils. If you feel like staying in and cooking, we are really close to a couple of grocery stores. If you would rather dine out, we are close to some of the best restaurants Victoria has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    379
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
270
362
81
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!! My car was scratched by the valet drivers. I contacted the pathetic excuse for a hotel manager, Royce, chased him around for a week and only received an email about him looking into it. Extremely poor customer service. The valet drivers cannot drive standard, DO NOT let them near your car if you care about it.

I stayed at this hotel last year, and received great service. It was my go to hotel when I visited Victoria. But this visit was different. The front desk staff were not as friendly, the valet drivers are knobs (he couldn't even put the car in reverse and ended up leaving it half in the lane cause he couldn't park it) and the manager cannot even bother to get back to me. Not impressed!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGeneralManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
I’d like to thank the writer for the review of our hotel. I am truly sorry about the service you received here at the hotel. Royce is our Front Office Manager and unfortunately, the writer made contact with Royce just after he went on days off from the hotel. Our staff do try to provide an excellent level of service at all times. Some of the other reviews speak highly of the staff here at the hotel. Regarding the vehicle, I can say I reviewed the video tape from the camera that shows the hotel zone in front and can confirm that the valet driver did leave it a bit from the curb due to a full hotel zone. The video tape does show that the guests got into the vehicle without incident and without inspecting the vehicle. I am not aware of when they noticed the damage but it was not while the vehicle was in our care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Our room was beautiful with a kitchen and living room in it. The staff were very nice and efficent. The valet parking was something I had never experienced before and thoroughly enjoyed it. We will definately stay at the Carlton Plaza Hotel next time we are in Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Room was clean but small. Location central and staff helpful. It is right on the main street so a lot of noise. The rooms are bare basic , nothing fancy. It is ok for a short visit but maybe not if you are planning on enjoying some time in the hotel! Vale parking is great and cheaper than parking yourself!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip with a colleague because it was one of the few hotels in Victoria that could provide us with two beds in one room that didn't cost over $200. The hotel staff were very friendly and the location was great. I also appreciated the strict no noise after 10pm rule and the free wifi.

The rooms, however, are in a serious need of an upgrade. Or at least mine was. The beds were very hard and the decor seemed dirty - not because it was dirty but just because it was old. Our room way tiny and the beds seemed crammed in. The air conditioning unit looked very old and stuck out into the room pretty far. The bathroom was tiny and the shampoo / conditioner dispenser was yellowing with age.

Maybe I've gotten higher standards through my travels over the last year but this hotel really did not meet them. My colleague agreed that this was not what she expected from a best western brand hotel.

If you plan to not spend much time in your hotel room and just want some where cheap in the heart of downtown, this place is it. If you plan to stay a few days or work from your hotel room like I did, there are better and more comfortable places.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you Natalie for your review. We are sorry the room did not meet your standards. Our hotel does offer a variety of room types, with different sizes, from suites to standard rooms. We are always happy to try and upgrade a guest if possible; our staff always wants to make sure a guest has a pleasurable stay, whether it’s for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel was great, the desk staff were helpful and gave us good service. The hotel is close to everything in Victoria including China Town just down the road. The rooms were large and we thought the value great for the price which was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room was clean and on the 4th floor with a view out to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrangipanniBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royce P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the location convenient and the staff helpful. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service in the heart of downtown at a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing