We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
612
438
125
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
438
125
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinglondon tubegreat locationvalet servicedowntown victoriajohnson streetwithin walking distancebest westernsfront desk staffcentral locationupgraded to a suiteattached restaurantper daysofa bedfew blockstourist attractionsgovernment street
Filter
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We moved away from Victoria after 35 years in 2009. Since then we have returned 4 times with each stay at this hotel. The location is just right, Walking distance to the Inner Harbour,Empress Hotel, Government Street and numerous bars,pubs and restaurants. This hotel is remarkably quiet for being right in the centre of downtown. There is a kitchenette and couches which makes entertaining very easy. The rooms are very clean and well attended. I personally believe the staff here are as good as anywhere you go. They are friendly,attentive and go out of the way to assist in any manner. The times we have been there I do believe the parking/valet service was complimentary.It looks like this may have changed since last time we were there. This is a top hotel with excellent prices and is in an ideal location to see Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you Bob; for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. As mentioned a short walk from our hotel will take you to the inner harbour and the beautiful sites of downtown Victoria. All of our Studio Suites come complete with a full kitchen and seating area. Our housekeeping staff works very hard every day to ensure the strictest of cleanliness standards are upheld in each of our rooms. All of our staff here at the hotel prides themselves on the level of service we provide to all our guests. Being a downtown hotel we do charge a nominal fee for parking, which includes having your car parked by our Valet and promptly brought around to the front of the hotel with 15 minutes notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We often alternate staying here and the other BW Hotel (inner harbour) in Victoria, depending on the time of year, why we are coming (business, pleasure, or both), and what the price is for the room at that time of year, as it changes from season to season. This time we were in for a little business, a little Christmas shopping, and some family/friends visiting. Checkin was easy.

We stayed in the room with a separate bedroom, 2 queen beds and a pullout. For 5 or 6 people, this is the best value if you are staying for a couple of days. The view from our window wasn't pretty (back alley), but that wasn't why we came, so it wasn't a big deal. Everything we expected was there--wifi (big deal if you have internet starved kids with smartphones), a kitchen microwave, stove, fridge & cutlery, a desk to work from, multiple outlets to charge every electronic device under the planet, an in-room safe, & 2 TV's so the kids can watch something different from the adults. All in all, it provides enough room & space for a family of 5 to spread out for a few days without tripping over each other. There aren't a lot of 5 person rooms in downtown Victoria at this price--and if you do, you usually end up with a smaller room.

Service was quick & friendly. We asked for extra towels and they were up to deliver it in under 5 minutes. There is valet service for our car (not optional, but very handy)--you just have to call down 15 minutes before you need it. There was an extra charge for the valet service, but it was cheaper than putting it into a parking lot myself, and I didn't have to go retrieve it every day; it's actually very nice to have your car waiting for you out front every time you want to go out!

This place is great if you have teenage or older kids in tow that love to window shop downtown, especially if you're willing to let them explore on their own. As soon as you step out of the hotel, you don't have to go far to get to the local downtown mall, Bastion square, movie theatres, Government street shops (including the largest Christmas Store in Western Canada), Chinatown--they're all within 10 min of walking distance. There's also an eclectic assortment of knick knack stores, pawn shops, new & used book stores and novelty/comic shops in the area. Our adult kids LOVE staying here because of the selection of stores they can shop, and the fact that we don't have to get into the car, drive & park to get to it--it's right outside the hotel doors. We can shop as long as we want, and simply go back to the hotel room for a rest if you want to. LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION--this place has it.

If you were wanting a quiet romantic walk for two along the waterfront with moderate seclusion and privacy, go to their other Hotel, BW Inner Harbour. But if you want a little of everything and want a place to put up your feet at a reasonable price, come HERE.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side face away from the street, but the windows are closed anyway, so you can't hear much anyways
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

I’d like to thank the author for this excellent review of our hotel. The room being described is our Family Suite with 2 Queen Beds. All of our suites offer all the comforts of home with a full kitchen, sitting area with pull out couch and 37in flat screen TV. We offer complimentary WIFI in every room as well as complimentary water to keep you hydrated while walking around our lovely city.
As the author mentioned we are in the heart of downtown so we do have a very urban view of our surrounding area. We are a few minutes walk from all the tourist shops and major attractions that Victoria has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This wonderful spot is comfortable and charming. The service is excellent and feels genuine in its warmth. The small scale of it adds to the charm. The valet service is moderately priced and is very helpful in a city with expensive parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you Don for the kind words on our hotel. Our staff is always trying to go the extra mile for our guests. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

When I needed a hotel to stay at while having a medical procedure done in Victoria BC, Canada, this hotel offered a special rate for medical needs. The service was really good, the staff friendly & very helpful, and the room was spacious, very clean and had all the amenities that we needed. They also offer valet service at a reasonable daily rate, and boy, was that a bonus - my vehicle was parked safely under cover and brought to me with about 10 minutes request time! I recommend it for a stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

I’d like to thank you Jill for this wonderful review. We do have special medical rates here at the Best Western Carlton Plaza available to anyone who is a patient or visiting a patient in one of Victoria’s hospitals. Our valet service is a 24 hour 7 day a week service and our staff strive to go above and beyond for all our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My husband and I were in Victoria to meet our brand new grandbabies - twins, a boy and a girl. There is not enough room for all of us and I decided to find the closest Best Western. The BW Carlton Plaza is an older hotel, so more charming than modern boxes. Our room had a living area with couch, and a kitchen, very clean and cozy. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful; the valet service was a great touch. It will be our home away from home for our visits to Victoria; it's downtown, so maybe I'll have time for shopping next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaBJ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan J, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Congratulations on your recent addition to the family and thank you for this lovely review. The Best Western Carlton Plaza was built in 1912 but we are continually updating rooms to meet the needs and expectations of our guests. Our studio suites provide all the necessities of home with full kitchens and a sitting area with a pullout couch. Our valet service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and all our drivers will always handle your vehicles with the utmost care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews