We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to see the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, United States
1 review
“Great location to see the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Carlton Plaza is located in the downtown area. We used valet parking and walked to see all of the beautiful buildings and sights. We were given the same royal treatment by the staff we've come to know when staying at any Best Western hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel for touring Victoria, BC, Canada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you Darlene for this glowing review of our hotel. Our hotel is perfectly situated downtown for sight seeing and is walking distance to most of the main sights and attractions. Many guests choose to leave the car in our valet parking, and stroll the downtown streets. We hope that next time you come to visit in Victoria, you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    383
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
274
362
81
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Despite the good and efficient staff, the hotel is below expectations... Welcome to the 90's... Everything is outdated ! Avoid at all costs the rooms above the night club. We had one, but thanks to the front desk, we've been moved to a suite on the other side.
There are not many parking options in Victoria, so get ready to pay the valet. Hopefully it is not that much. 12 cads per day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel-Severine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you, Axel-Severine for taking the time to review our hotel. Currently our hotel is undergoing some updates, new counter tops and cabinets are being installed. Though the current furnishings are both comfortable and functional we are in a state of transition. As stated we are a downtown hotel, walking distance to most sights and attractions. Our parking is $7 to $12 per night, and is off site, though we do offer a complementary valet service for the convenience of our guests with unlimited in/out privileges 24 hours a day. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope you choose to visit Victoria again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our family travelled across western Canada and stayed at a few hotels. We booked a studio suite for a family of four. With the valet parking (an extra charge of $12 per night) the bill was almost $700 for 3 nights. YIKES! We went to a grocery store and bought a few items, made supper and breakfast in the room a few times, enjoyed the coffee maker. I needed a wine glass and the hotel provided one for me to use. ordered from the restaurant and found the food very good and the prices reasonable too. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Close to walking distances to the harbor and Chinatown. I felt safe in the area. Lots of shops and restaurants too! Laundry room was $1 to wash/dry. The dryer was terrible. I complained to the front about the dryer and she gave me a $1. I noticed twice the hotel or restaurant was also using the machines to wash/dry their napkins, tablecloths and rags which I did not find appropriate. Nightclub on main level. We were on the sixth floor so we did not here a sound. I did not like the valet parking. One valet guy put our parking break on and we did not realize it was on untill we drove with it on to the corner lights! No need for parking break there as we are not on a hill! The staff were very friendly and addressed us by our last name. Very personable! :) I booked at the very last minute but there are many hotels around the harbor and perhaps a little cheaper too. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a suite for your family! They will enjoy the space and you will enjoy the kitchenette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Manatobanic, it sounds like you had an amazing time on your vacation! Thanks for reviewing our hotel and for the positive review.

Our studio suites are more spacious, and tend to be ~$20 more per night than a traditional room, which is usually well worth it for a larger group! Having a full kitchen in the room is great for saving money on breakfast and other meals if you are travelling on a budget.

Our parking rates are competitive with similar hotels in the area, and we are happy to help you with any questions you may have at the time of booking. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to see you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is a great overall value and I like the location. The staff have been very nice and helpful. The rooms are pretty standard. The gym is limited with three cardio machines and a universal weight machine, but for the outdoor runner a quick run down Douglas street gets you to a great run along the ocean and immediately down Johnson Street there's a great 5km boardwalk path along the water into Esquimalt.

Room Tip: choose a room away from elevator for noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoldfastOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you HoldfastOntario for your review. The fitness centre located on the first floor is equipped with treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, rowing machine and various weight machines. Also, as the writter has mentioned Victoria is a runners paradise with mild winters and beautiful scenery. If jogging is not what you are in the mood for, we also have four bicycles that we are happy to lend out at no cost.

Our friendly staff are always delighted to direct you to running trails, and bike routes. We hope to see you on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just did a overnight stay there and everything was very good. The price was reasonable and the room was fine, we wished that the location was a little closer to the Clipper arrival and departure area. The thing that made the hotel stand out was the helpfulness of the employees, they were all very accommodating and tried really hard to please. They had good ideas for things to see, restaurant recommendations, and storing luggage before check-in and after check-out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you Dean for staying with us on your last visit to Victoria. The clipper terminal (passenger ferry to Seattle) is about a ten minute walk from the hotel, being on the opposite side on the inner harbor. Now of course this is the time it takes me to walk and I am not carrying luggage.

Our location downtown is close to most sights and attractions, and yes if you're not sure what to see the staff are always eager to point out their favorite spots. Thanks again for choosing our hotel, and for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great location, staff and value. A shout out to Lina at the front desk. She was so helpful. The hotel is in a great downtown location. Our room accommodated 6 ppl. Only a musty odour in the room ruined a perfect night's stay at the hotel. Decor and maintenance of the hotel is great. I think if they can fix the air circulation problem, I would have rated higher.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank diyguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you to the reviewer for this happy review. I am sorry to hear that you experienced an odor in the room, and I am hoping that it was brought to the staffs attention to identify the source. Our housekeeping staff is vigilant and thorough. The rooms are also equipped with AC units. Lina is a gem and knows so much about our city! Any of our staff are more than happy to direct you to all the best spots and attractions. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you come back to visit Victoria again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batya
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel is within 5 minute walt to the inner harbour, through the main street of Victoria.
The rooms are nice relatively good sized .
I did not like the fact there was only valet parking . I knew there was a $12 fee for parking when reserving but was not aware the valet was the only option. This should have been mentioned in hotel website prior to reservation.
We stayed on the 6th floor so there was no noise, just very small and slow elevators.
Hotel does not have breakfast, nor any option of having one in the room. I do not think there was a coffee maker in the room.
I todays technology, the first thing you look for in the room is a place to charge all the familys cellphones, tablets and camera. the room was lacking a lot on this front so we had to take turns charging.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing