We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Needed a room last minute in Victoria BC ( missed my ferry home). Not only were they able to accommodate me, they gave me a AA discount. The room had wi-fi, separate sleeping (2 dbl beds), living, dining & kitchen areas all very nicely furnished. No parking but for a very reasonable $7 they provide valet parking service and bring your car to the front of the hotel at the time you need it the next day. Beautiful room, very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peejaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you Peejaay for this lovely review. We do offer a discount if guests book a AAA rate with the hotel, please let us know at the time your are making the reservation and don't forget to bring your card with you. Our rooms vary from a traditional queen room, to a one bedroom suite with two queen sized beds, kitchenette and a pull out sofa. We're more than happy to answer any questions you may have while reserving, to get you into the room most suited to your needs. Thank you again for the review, please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    375
    105
    22
    15
See reviews for
265
360
79
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
427 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

By avoiding the waterfront, the hotel can charge a reasonable price for rooms. I had a suite with kitchen and living room for less than an ordinary waterfront place. Within a few blocks are dozens of restaurants and great stores. Don't miss Marigold for breakfast and the world-class Green Cuisine vegetarian restaurant just down the street. China Town was close by, and many coffeehouses. The staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. At night there are a few street people hanging around on the sidewalks in neighboring blocks, but nothing most cities don't experience. Parking cost $12 a day, with unlimited in-and-out valet service. My wife and I look forward to returnig here soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you Robert, for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is centrally located with fabulous shopping, restaurants and sights within walking distance of our door. Although we are not a waterfront property, the hotel is only a 5-10 minute stroll down beautiful Government Street to the inner harbour. Into our winter season now, parking is only $7 per night and does come with the unlimited valet service, 24 hours a day. Thanking you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo,CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We are on a 3 week road trip vacation from S.Calif. to Vancover and the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza in Victoria is definitely the best hotel of our trip. They upgraded us to a room that has a kitchen and a living room area. WOW! and the staff is so pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review. Yes, our suites are perfect for anyone looking for a little more space. Typically they are twenty dollars more per night than a standard room. The suite contains a kitchen, pull out sofa sofa and seating area and a larger floor plan. Most guests who bring cars to the hotel choose to park with us at $7 per night, we offer a complimentary valet service with our parking that is 24 hours, and unlimited access. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start and finish of a biking trip on Vancouver Island. The hotel was clean and nice and the staff was very helpful. We were able to bring our bikes into the lobby and unload them and then the staff took them to the basement to store them safely and returned them to us in the morning when we were ready to load them and ride. The hotel was very convenient to stroll into town for dinner and close to the Johnson Street Bridge to begin our bike trip on the Galloping Goose Trail. Our rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you Sofie, for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay here. We are very centrally located, perfect for any guests walking to restaurants, sights and attractions downtown. For those guests without their own bikes, we do have four to borrow for our guests for two hours at a time, complimentary. Thank you, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delano, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here one night on September 8, 2013 when me, wife, and an adult son visited Victoria for the first time. Picked this hotel in a package deal from Victoria Clipper (catamaran ferry between Seattle, WA and Victoria) that also included The Butchart Gardens. I could have picked another hotel from the list offered by Clipper, but being a BW Rewards member, I chose this hotel. We were given Room 415. It was well appointed, but it smelled vomitus. It was hard to tell where the smell was coming from. Maybe a previous occupant puked in the room. Since we were only staying one night and we came back to our room late after a night out in the city, we did not make a big deal out of it. Of course, I told front desk upon checkout. Also be forewarned - - of all the BW properties we've been to, this is the only one that does not provide complimentary breakfast despite its being a BW Plus

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdoin9456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
First of all thank you for bringing this issue to our prompt attention. We do take pride in our clean rooms and housekeeping department here at the hotel. Though our housekeepers are incredibly vigilant, certain issues remain undetected until more time has been spent in the suite. Upon checkout, we were able to notify our housekeepers who were able to rectify the situation. I thank you again for taking the time to write this review, and for letting us know of your issue with the room on checkout. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel has many fine attributes, but is 'oversold on the internet'. It is not near the harbour, it has terrible views from the rooms and the rooms are small. Also, there is a small fee for parking. Finally, I could not get my Best Western rewards points because I booked through a BW partner. The reason I did this is because by booking direct, the price was almost $30.00 higher.

This is an above average hotel with good service and clean, well appointed rooms in an OK area Management should address the points issue( IE give best price). 2ndly they should improve the web site. (good valet parking, near good shopping).

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room with queen or king bed(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Tom, for taking the time to review our property, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. As a centrally located, downtown hotel, we are only a 10 minute walk from the Inner Harbour, and our views are mainly urban.

When booking online, the room rate seen on the third party site is always a rate also offered by the hotel, in this case as an advance purchase rate. While it is not always the first rate listed on the Best Western website, it is available when you pay 30 days in advance. In this way you can book a room at the same price and also collect your rewards points. We have a variety of room sizes and types, a suite offering a sitting area and kitchenette is typically twenty dollars more per night for families needing more space. I hope that next time you stay in Victoria, you will give us another chance to make your visit a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a good basic hotel right in the center of Victoria, close to quaint shops, and within easy walking distance to many of the downtown sights. We were four adults sharing an upstairs suite, which had a small kitchen and basic cooking facilities. The room was small, but adequate if you do not intend to spend a lot of time in the room. There's no wall dividing the sofabed from the double beds. There was a very low hum from the fridge from time to time during the night, but not enough to keep you from getting a good night's sleep. The upper floors are very quiet. I was able to work on my computer for a couple of hours in the evening without hearing a sound from the hallway. (Internet speed is good too.) Staff were very friendly, pleasant, and helpful. Parking is extra ($12.60 per day). Your vehicle is parked in a nearby garage by the hotel staff.

There is a good Indian restaurant right across the street, and a very nice bakery called Willie's just about a block away. I have been to many Best Westerns around the world and was pleased with this one. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, safe, and reasonably priced place to stay in downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floors facing the back of the hotel if you need peace and quiet. You can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review of our hotel.
We are indeed a very centrally located hotel, which many of our guests appreciate. Our close proximity to all of Victoria’s major attractions and activities is very convenient for our guests.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites. We offer them to our guests for only $20 more than a traditional room, with a much greater number of amenities – all of our suite rooms are equipped with kitchens and an extra sofa bed. Excellent for groups and families!
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing