We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was used by the tour company we were travelling with. The hotel was very clean, comfortable with good sized bedrooms that made maximum use of the space. Staff were very friendly and helpful. One word of warning for light sleepers who stay on a Friday and Saturday night, there is a disco close by and the constant base sound disturbed our sleep until 2am. It was not until the next morning that we found ear plugs provided in the bedside cabinet for such circumstances. You have to expect external noise in a downtown area.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello and thank you for your thoughtful review of the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza. As mentioned, we are a downtown hotel and though some street noise in inevitable we do our best to provide a calm and restful stay for everyone. Our central location makes walking to the near by sights and attractions a breeze. With the downtown location comes a choice of restaurants, bars and shopping just minutes away. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Excellent stay. This was the first time I have stayed in the hotel, but I will certainly not be the last! It is convenient to many venues and amenities ain downtown Victoria. Very short walk to shopping, theatre, and harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Susan, thank you very much for your kind recommendation of our hotel. We are very proud of our perfect location to must-see attractions. Our close proximity allows guests to be able to walk to the Bay centre mall, Inner Harbour, theatre district, and many great restaurants in Victoria. We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I arrived at the hotel, the staff checked me in and had the valet take my rental to the parking area. I had no problem with the finding my room. The place smelled great or really didn't have a distinctive smell that I would be repealed by. I got to my room and it was clean and made up for me. It was a comfortable stay, I wouldn't mind staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hello Victoria, and thank you for this kind review. As the review states we do have parking available at the hotel and as we are now into our winter season it is only seven dollars per night. Our parking comes with a complimentary valet service which is unlimited and runs 24 hours per day. With our comfortable and well appointed rooms, any guest is sure to have a good nights sleep. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is a great price considering the quality of your room and it's distance to attractions in downtown Victoria. Bus lines run up and down the next block taking you to the gardens, the mansion, or where ever you'd like. It is steps away from Chinatown and right across from one of the most delicious Indian restaurants in Victoria. The staff was on point about restaurant suggestions, directions, and general service. I never felt unsafe in this location and although it does share the block with a night club, I never heard the bass!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I would like to thank Anilyn for this wonderful review. As Anilyn mentioned, we are centrally located just a few blocks away from China Town and 10 minutes away from many other tourist attractions in downtown, Victoria. There are many buses going by the hotel which make your trip more convenient. All our staff are real ambassadors of the city. We are always happy to assist guests with recommendations, directions, and other information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The location was very ideal though the staffing levels could have been higher. Was a very busy Sunday morning and they had 1 person on front desk and 1 in the restaurant, needed at least 2 at each, or assistance from a manager...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you Tracie for staying with us and writing us a great review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We do our best to be attentive and prompt with our service all the time. We will make sure to keep it up. Thank you very much again, Tracie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Needed a room last minute in Victoria BC ( missed my ferry home). Not only were they able to accommodate me, they gave me a AA discount. The room had wi-fi, separate sleeping (2 dbl beds), living, dining & kitchen areas all very nicely furnished. No parking but for a very reasonable $7 they provide valet parking service and bring your car to the front of the hotel at the time you need it the next day. Beautiful room, very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peejaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you Peejaay for this lovely review. We do offer a discount if guests book a AAA rate with the hotel, please let us know at the time your are making the reservation and don't forget to bring your card with you. Our rooms vary from a traditional queen room, to a one bedroom suite with two queen sized beds, kitchenette and a pull out sofa. We're more than happy to answer any questions you may have while reserving, to get you into the room most suited to your needs. Thank you again for the review, please come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

By avoiding the waterfront, the hotel can charge a reasonable price for rooms. I had a suite with kitchen and living room for less than an ordinary waterfront place. Within a few blocks are dozens of restaurants and great stores. Don't miss Marigold for breakfast and the world-class Green Cuisine vegetarian restaurant just down the street. China Town was close by, and many coffeehouses. The staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. At night there are a few street people hanging around on the sidewalks in neighboring blocks, but nothing most cities don't experience. Parking cost $12 a day, with unlimited in-and-out valet service. My wife and I look forward to returnig here soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you Robert, for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is centrally located with fabulous shopping, restaurants and sights within walking distance of our door. Although we are not a waterfront property, the hotel is only a 5-10 minute stroll down beautiful Government Street to the inner harbour. Into our winter season now, parking is only $7 per night and does come with the unlimited valet service, 24 hours a day. Thanking you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £64 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing