We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Downtown Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alberni
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A vewry nice convenient hotel in downtown Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. The staff are caring and very friendly. This is an older hotel, which is very well maintained and very comfortable. This is our second stay and will not be the last.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for writing this pleasant review. I'm glad you've chosen to return, yes the valet parking option is nice in the downtown core. At only $7 in the winter, and $12 in the summer we have unlimited in and out privileges into our lot, 24 hours a day. We'll see you on your next visit! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    375
    105
    22
    15
See reviews for
265
360
79
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have stayed at the Carlton many times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. It's in a great location with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are a decent size, good value for the price. The valet parking is a very nice feature, no worries about finding a parking spot!

Room Tip: rooms on the back side are quieter, we always request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I would like to thank the author of this review. As the author mentioned, we are located right in downtown, Victoria. Our hotel is in close proximity to The Bay Centre, Inner Harbour, The Empress hotel, and Victoria's finest restaurants and bars. Our perfect location makes your stay comfortable and convenient. We would love to welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great hotel in the center of downtown Victoria, Our room was very clean, modern, large, with nice view..Close to shopping and also huge selection of fine pubs and dinning.Had a window seat at Milestones for dinner directly across from the parliment buildings and the Fairmont Empress, what a view with all the Christmas lights...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank deserttacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for writing us a kind review. Our entire housekeeping staff do their best to provide our guests with clean and comfortable rooms everyday. There are so many restaurants, pubs, stores, and attractions within walking distance from the Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here on 16 October 2013 as part of a round-the-world trip.

It's right in the heart of things in this small, 'comfy', city. The magnificent harbour area is just a short walk away, and you'll pass lots of places to eat on the way ( - although Victoria tends to be provincially quiet after about 1900!). The world's smallest Chinatown lies a couple of minutes in the other direction.

I felt beautifully relaxed here. Even though the desk staff were under pressure - the phones wouldn't stop ringing and one of the receptionists was a trainee - they were nevertheless friendly and helpful. My room was a spacious apartment with views over the rooftops of the city. I could have self-catered if I'd wanted to.

I was only here for one night but enjoyed it a lot. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello Mr. Stuart! It is very nice to hear from you! Thank you very much for a lovely review. We hope your round-the-world trip is going well. I am very pleased that your stay with us was wonderful! As Mr. Stuart mentioned, we are centrally located in downtown, Victoria. Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza hotel is close to many attractions you would like to visit including: Canada's oldest China town, Inner Harbour, Royal BC Museum, and so on. We have been updating our studio suites by replacing the kitchen counter top, cabinet, and bathroom vanity. Our studio suites are equipped with 2 double beds, full kitchen, a sofa bed, and a lot more space. They are offered at additional cost of $20 per night. We will continue to do our best to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were traveling south for an extended vacation with our labrador retriever, roof box, and bikes on rack on the back. Staff were very helpful dealing with the awkward parking arrangements that were necessary to safeguard our possessions. Hotel is an older building but clean, well maintained and spacious room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gord m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you, Mr. Munro for a wonderful review. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you. We are currently updating all our suites that you stayed in. We are replacing the kitchen countertop as well as bathroom vanity. All our suites are equipped with full kitchen, a sofa bed, and a lot larger space to move around. They are available at additional $20 per night. We would love to welcome you back to the Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Not only was this hotel a great experience, it could be my BEST hotel experience I have ever had! There was a real screw up (our fault) with Areoplan and when I got to the hotel they told me I didnt have a room booked, this after a long day of travel.

Not only did the front desk staff try to solve the problem with the Areoplan people, but they bent over backwards to try and get me through the situation, which ended up being painful.

After it was all done they even put me in an upgraded room and I had the best stay I have ever had at any hotel.

Thanks again to the staff of this wonderfull hotel, you helped make this business trip a resounding success resounding success. I will always stay at this place when I vist Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for leaving us such pleasant feedback, we love to hear it! Our desk agents always do their best to ensure a smooth and restful stay, I'm glad we were able to salvage what could have been a stressful night. The suite this guest stayed in had a full kitchen as well as a pull out couch and seating area. Typically, they are available for an extra $20 per night, and are well worth it for the extra room and convenience. Hopefully we see you again soon, and have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our stay at this Best Western was extremely enjoyable. The nice pleasant, modern clean rooms and ambience are very nice. And despite being in the heart of downtown, it was very quiet, however, our stay was mid-week, so cannot say for the weekend, but I cannot imagine it being too noisy. I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank monty020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks Monty, for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. As stated we are in the downtown core, just steps away from Victoria's well known sights such as the inner harbour, legislature, museums, restaurants and shopping! Our variety of rooms are well appointed and comfortable for anyone ranging from a single business traveler to larger groups. Thank you again for choosing the Carlton Plaza, Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing