We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo BC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay Downtown”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a nice place to stay in Victoria. If you don’t want to pay what the Inner Harbour hotels charge, stay here. It is a great location downtown. You can walk to lots of nice restaurants and pubs. There is lots of shopping nearby. The inner harbour is a short walk. The area feels safe and it is very pretty at night.

The room is what you expect from a Best Western…good mattress and pillows, fairly roomy and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room had a small fridge. There is an exercise room on the first floor that has a lot of equipment. The valet parking at this time of year is $7 per night. I think that is a good price for downtown.

We only had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was good and the server very congenial.

My only complaint with the room is that the drinking glasses were plastic and the coffee cups were Styrofoam. I guess that does assure that they are clean.

I would stay here again and probably will!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us on your recent trip to Victoria! We find our our location ideal as well, close to all the businesses and attractions of downtown, walking distance to everything and part of a vibrant neighbourhood. We do offer parking for $7 a night in the winter, and $12 a night in the summer. While we do furnish the rooms with to-go cups for guests, we're more than happy to provide glass and ceramic for those that prefer it as well. We hope to see you on your next journey down to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    406
    114
    27
    15
See reviews for
304
381
84
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We've been going to Victoria regularly for over 30 years and usually stay at the Bedford Regency, but decided to be different this year since I was getting tired of their 12 year old mattresses and 19" tube TVs. Saw the Carlton was nearby and gave it a try. Great price, nice downtown location and found the valet parking convenient. Rooms were "corporate" when compared to the Bedford (which has a "charm" to it), but if you look at a hotel primarily as a place to sleep or freshen up and spend most of your time out enjoying the city, the rooms are perfect as they were well lit and everything worked. Only issue is what other reviewers have raised: Get a room on a high floor, as there is a nightclub in the basement. It was not a problem for us on the 6th floor, but I felt sorry for anyone on floor 3 or lower...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AbilitySys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Good Evening and thank you for giving our hotel a chance on your latest trip to Victoria! Our comfortable rooms are in the process of being updated, keeping the feel of the rooms fresh and cozy. We have both traditional rooms and suites available and for any guests planning on spending more time relaxing at the property, or preparing their own meals, the suites are a great option as they include both a full kitchen and seating area with pull out sofa for additional space. Thanks again for choosing us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel is in good shape. rooms are clean and air conditioned.
it is close to attractions and you can just walk from the hotel to downtown.
the only weak point is that they don't offer breakfast service. However there are plenty of restaurants around and you can find something.
It was a nice stay and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehsan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you Ehsan for your kind review. While we do not offer a continental breakfast at the hotel, the fabulous independent Stone's Throw restaurant is on site, and available for full service meals from 6:30 am onward. They offer an all day breakfast which has many great options, as well as their famous triangle burger, hand made on a Portofino bun. With our downtown location, there are many great options for a variety of cuisines just steps away from the hotel. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

i was extremely pleased with every aspect of your hotel, my room upgrade, the friendly helpful staff, the quiet, comfortable guest room, bed, shower, i used my kitchen which was great. i interacted with all the staff at the reception desk and all of them were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Nancy, thanks for taking the time to fill out this review. The suite described in this review included a seating area with pull out couch and a full kitchen. They are a great option for travelling families and those looking to avoid having to eat at restaurants for every meal. They are $20 more a night than a traditional room, and are extremely spacious and comfortable. Come back again and visit us any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wow ! From the very first moment 'Valet Service' at the front door, from a gentleman without his hand out for a tip ! ( a much surer way to Get a tip ! ) opening the car door for us, asking if we would like help with our luggage,etc, smiling warmly and not that dreadful 'fake' smile that stewardesses used to be required to have, to an extremely cheerful and skilled multitasking front desk clerk, to a fine meal with an equally cheerful and very Good attached restaurant server ( there for both dinner and breakfast). Our visit couldn't have been more pleasant. And, this was on Christmas eve. And Christmas day ! If it were up to Me;i would give them each and all a Raise, a Christmas Bonus and a gift certificate to a Best Western of their choice anywhere in the world ! Bravo !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DavidLOGAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you Mr. Logan! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this great review. Our staff are always happy to know we made a difference in a guest's stay.

As Mr.Logan stated in this review, we have parking at the hotel for $7 a night in the winter, which comes with a complimentary valet service with in and out privileges 24 hours a day. Our on site restaurant is the Stone's Throw, they open at 6:30 in the morning and serve breakfast all day. (Waffles are a favorite with the staff, but they're slowly being over taken by the ribs and poutine more recently added to the menu.)

Thank you again, and hopefully we'll see you again next Christmas! Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is the second time I stayed at this hotel. the location is perfect for walking downtown and to the inner harbour. The staff was excellent, the hotel and room were very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dahlia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Good evening, and thanks for taking a moment to send in this lovely review. We're in a perfect location downtown for both site seers and business travelers as we're in the middle of downtown Victoria. We're close to shops, restaurants, attractions and business centres. Our comfortable rooms are a wonderful landing point for the end of a long work day, or base of operations for a family on the move. We hope you'll think of us again on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A vewry nice convenient hotel in downtown Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. The staff are caring and very friendly. This is an older hotel, which is very well maintained and very comfortable. This is our second stay and will not be the last.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for writing this pleasant review. I'm glad you've chosen to return, yes the valet parking option is nice in the downtown core. At only $7 in the winter, and $12 in the summer we have unlimited in and out privileges into our lot, 24 hours a day. We'll see you on your next visit! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing