We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hotel staff were very helpful at this hotel in a relatively busy part of downtown Victoria. Lots of small restaurants on street. Close to transit. Neighbourhood a little seedy, but safe. Beds only of average comfort; walls a little thin. Heating unit very quiet.

Room Tip: The usual - away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. There are numerous tourist attractions, public transit and Victoria's finest restaurants just within close proximity. All our staff make sure to provide our guests with excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    379
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
270
362
80
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nanoose bay, bc
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I loved the location of this hotel. We were with our whole family, including the grandkids, and we could easily walk to most of the attractions we were there for. It is near a funky, hip part of the downtown zone, with great little shops and restaraunts. I just felt that the room was a little dated, could use some improvements and updating. It was also a little small with 2 beds and a kitchenette all in one open area. We were all bumping into each other if we weren't sitting down.

Room Tip: ask for a BIG room, if you want a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. As you mentioned, we are centrally located in the heart of Downtown, Victoria. You can easily walk to main attractions, restaurants, and shops in town. Since last October, we have been working on some improvements in all of our suites by replacing the kitchen counter top, cabinet, and bathroom vanity. Just one more floor to go! We hope to welcome your family back to enjoy our modernized suites with full kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was very lucky to find the Best Western Carlton in Victoria. I am constantly travelling to Victoria for business and need to keep the bill on budget. The Best Western offers a good price, but they also offer top notch service as well. Not always the case with an affordable price point. And the location is great! The valet parks my car for me when i check in, I can walk to all my meetings throughout my stay, no worries about parking. It's perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hello Jennifer and thank you again for your kind review! It's always a pleasure to see that our repeat guests are happy. Parking at the hotel is $7 a night in the winter and $12 a night in the summer season, and comes with our unlimited valet service. The hotel is walking distance to most everything in the downtown core, and many guests choose to leave their vehicles in parking for the duration of the stay. We look forward to having you back again the next time your meetings bring you to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Plus in Victoria, BC in December 2013. The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to my favorite places in Victoria. The Public Market was a 10 minute walk. I found some of the best restaurants during my exploration of downtown Victoria.

The staff was extremely friendly and make suggestions for deals on nearby restaurants. The front desk clerk even made my reservation for my hotel in the US and made sure that reward points were added.

I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I chose a room on the front side because I like to see the everyday coming and going of city life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us, and for your kind review! The neighborhood in which the hotel is located is certainly a gem. Walking distance to restaurants, sights, the new Victoria Public Market located in the old Hudson Bay building and proximity to transit means that you are never far from where you need to be. We look forward to seeing you again on your next Victoria visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Make sure you get a room on the top floors. The bars in the nearby area are noisy if you are on the 1 - 4 floors. Rooms are nice. Beds comfortable. Walking distance to nice Asian restaurants. Parking costs $7 per day extra which I did not notice when booking. Its all valet parking. Hotel is cheaper than many Best Western's so that makes up for some of the hassles.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write this review. As the reviewer stated we are a downtown property, and though we do not have on site parking we do offer it at $7 a night in the winter. Our parking comes with a valet service, is 24 hours and unlimited in/out privileges. Though we are in an urban setting, rooms on the back side of the hotel are especially serene for even the lightest sleepers and tend to be popular no matter what floor. We hope to see you again on your next Victoria visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a nice place to stay in Victoria. If you don’t want to pay what the Inner Harbour hotels charge, stay here. It is a great location downtown. You can walk to lots of nice restaurants and pubs. There is lots of shopping nearby. The inner harbour is a short walk. The area feels safe and it is very pretty at night.

The room is what you expect from a Best Western…good mattress and pillows, fairly roomy and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room had a small fridge. There is an exercise room on the first floor that has a lot of equipment. The valet parking at this time of year is $7 per night. I think that is a good price for downtown.

We only had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was good and the server very congenial.

My only complaint with the room is that the drinking glasses were plastic and the coffee cups were Styrofoam. I guess that does assure that they are clean.

I would stay here again and probably will!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us on your recent trip to Victoria! We find our our location ideal as well, close to all the businesses and attractions of downtown, walking distance to everything and part of a vibrant neighbourhood. We do offer parking for $7 a night in the winter, and $12 a night in the summer. While we do furnish the rooms with to-go cups for guests, we're more than happy to provide glass and ceramic for those that prefer it as well. We hope to see you on your next journey down to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We've been going to Victoria regularly for over 30 years and usually stay at the Bedford Regency, but decided to be different this year since I was getting tired of their 12 year old mattresses and 19" tube TVs. Saw the Carlton was nearby and gave it a try. Great price, nice downtown location and found the valet parking convenient. Rooms were "corporate" when compared to the Bedford (which has a "charm" to it), but if you look at a hotel primarily as a place to sleep or freshen up and spend most of your time out enjoying the city, the rooms are perfect as they were well lit and everything worked. Only issue is what other reviewers have raised: Get a room on a high floor, as there is a nightclub in the basement. It was not a problem for us on the 6th floor, but I felt sorry for anyone on floor 3 or lower...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AbilitySys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Good Evening and thank you for giving our hotel a chance on your latest trip to Victoria! Our comfortable rooms are in the process of being updated, keeping the feel of the rooms fresh and cozy. We have both traditional rooms and suites available and for any guests planning on spending more time relaxing at the property, or preparing their own meals, the suites are a great option as they include both a full kitchen and seating area with pull out sofa for additional space. Thanks again for choosing us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing