We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victoria Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Victoria Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a good hotel. The staff were all very polite and accommodating. The room was clean and well appointed with plenty of clean towels and a good selection of coffee and tea. The fact that the stairs exited directly to the street and not to the interior of the building in my only real complaint. The hotel is close to most of the attractions in the inner city and within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel for families, groups (I was with a group of 100 high school students) or business. The Wi-Fi worked fine and was easy to access.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the middle of the hotel facing the street and in the upper levels. The lower levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastornpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello, we're very glad that we were able to comfortably accommodate your group, and that you enjoyed your time with us. Our hotel is equipped with both traditional rooms, and suites which include full kitchens and a pull out couch/seating area. This can be very helpful for those booking large groups. Any guest interested in making such a group booking may call the hotel directly for more details on room types and pricing. Complimentary high speed internet, access to the fitness room, business centre, coin operated laundry facilities and secure access to guest floors are features we include at the Carlton Plaza. This also means that while staircases do exit onto the street- you require a staff key for reentry. Elevators to guest floors are accessible using your room key card. We hope to see you again on your next outing with the school!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    375
    105
    22
    15
See reviews for
265
360
79
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Best Western Carlton Plaza. It is clean, well located and the staff is wonderful. Great location within walking distance to anywhere. Would definitely recommend this hotel. I had a problem with my room (noise) and the staff could not have been nicer about moving me immediately. Very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank maggie10lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello Maggie, and thanks for taking some time to write this review. Firstly, I must apologize that you experienced noise in your room during your stay, though I am very glad to hear the staff were able to accommodate a room move for you. Our guest's comfort and quality of sleep is incredibly important to us and though we are a hotel in an urban setting- we do our best to minimize any factors that may impact your stay. Our downtown location is within steps of all the best restaurants, sight seeing attractions and shopping that Victoria has to offer. Please come back and visit us again so that we can show you the best our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our group of four adults needed a room for one night in Victoria. Chose this hotel because it offered a family suite at a good price. This hotel exceeded my expectations. Room was great; service outstanding. The location is just a block off Government street with most everything in walking distance. They valet parked our car for a reasonable price. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Good afternoon, and thanks for writing such kind things about our hotel and staff! We are centrally located in the heart of downtown, close to anything you may want to see. The suite described includes a full kitchen as well as a pull out couch/seating area which makes it a perfect choice for any larger groups requiring more space- or any traveler who might require a few more of the comforts of home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alice, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The only problem we had was they were in a rush to get you to check out before the check out time, so we didn't have time to eat breakfast there, cause they had got our truck out of overnight parking and had it parked outside the hotel and needed us to move it and find parking else where than we could come back to have breakfast...we went else where to have breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello Shannon and thank you for taking the time to write this review. As stated, we do have valet parking. Our parking charge is by the night, and guests are welcome to leave their vehicles as long as required into the next day. The onsite restaurant is called the Stone’s Throw and they are open from 6:30 am until 9:00pm. I apologize if there was any rush or miscommunication during your stay, hopefully we will see you on your next visit to Victoria to have another opportunity to provide you with the exemplary service that I know we are capable of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Victoria for 3 nights, and this place was walking distance for everything our kids wanted to see - the museum, bug zoo, miniature world and the movie theatre. The suite was set up nicely, so the kids could sleep while we stayed up on the couch. Only downside- slow elevator.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello, we’re happy to hear you had an enjoyable time on your family trip to Victoria. As mentioned in the review, we are walking distance to everything downtown has to offer. Our proximity to restaurants, sites and attractions makes us an ideal location for any travellers exploring the city or even working downtown. The suites we offer with a pull out couch and full kitchen give lounging room to guests hoping to relax between activities. I’m sorry to hear you had difficulty with the elevator. One of our elevators is quite a bit older (and perhaps a bit slow) but we do have a larger, speedier model located down the hall. Thanks again for choosing us, and hopefully we’ll see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Of all the Hotel chains, We love what Best Western has to offer. In any Country, or town. If we will be staying there. We will look for a Best Western. They are mostly Dog friendly and that works for us and the Dogs. They are always clean and very consistent with everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello Helen, and thanks for thinking of Best Western on your recent travels. The Carlton Plaza hotel is a perfect example of the comfort and convenience Best Western has to offer. Our well-appointed rooms are clean and comfortable with amenities including in room coffee and tea, fitness centre, complimentary Wi-Fi as well as a wonderful restaurant located through the lobby called the Stone’s Throw which offers room service to the hotel, and serves breakfast from 6:30am onwards all day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Best Western PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria BC is a must stay. We will return and Victoria is our home. Its' location is perfect for walking to harbour and shopping. Entertainment venues are minutes away (by foot). The staff genuinely care about your stay and it shows. Lovely lobby and attached restaurant. Try it. We're glad we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank George27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lina J, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you George for staying with us and writing us a lovely review. Our perfect location makes it easy for our guests to walk to fun places including: Inner Harbour, the Bay Centre, Victoria Event Centre, and Save-on-foods Arena. Also, our staff are always ready to assist our guests with directions and recommendations. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing