We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2008

This is a comfortable hotel, reasonably priced and centrally located in downtown Victoria. Valet parking is inexpensive and you can leave your car and walk to the harbour, many venues and fine restaurants.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AlvinNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

I stay at this hotel for 2 nights every 2 weeks for work. Without exception I am always greeted with smiles and welcomes from the entire staff. I chose this hotel after trying others in the area and finding this one to be above the norm for cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.
It is within walking distance of downtown Victoria and many restaurants are close by. It does have a restaurant for breakfast and lunch but not for dinner.
Parking is Valet Parking but that is not a problem as you only have to give 15 min notice to get your car.
I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone wanting to stay in Victoria. Suites are available

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fernie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I had expected a lot less when booking the Best Western Carlton but I was pleasantly surprised by it's location, rooms and service. We weren't on the inner harbour for a change but it was a good change as we were able to explore more areas of Victoria. Even though we were on the 2nd floor facing Johnson street, we never heard a peep from the goings-on of a Saturday night. The rooms were a good size with duvet covers instead of those thin hotel bed-spreads. We had a complimentary upgrade to a suite upon our arrival which was great! The people at the front desk were extremely nice and pleasant but not very helpful with the local bus (minor detail). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmurf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We spent two nights in Victoria on our family vacation and found the Carlton Plaza to be a good value with an excellent location for walking around the sites of the inner harbour of Victoria.

The room was oversized with a couch, kitchen and sitting space. Excellent for four people, including two teenagers.

The beds were comfortable and the front desk was very helpful and cheerful. They handle the parking situation (or lack of) well with courteous and prompt parking service.

Overall - a good stay in a great location. I also saw the previous review and our room had no noise issues.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

this hotel is located above a very loud nightclub that kept us awake all night. The manager offered us a gift certificate for another stay but would not include the same dates as our visit, only off season !!!!
Would not recommend this hotel if you need a good nights sleep

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank penticton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2008

Thank you to the TA member for posting the review about the noisy stay. We certainly apologize about the negative experience. There are advantages and disadvantages of staying in a downtown hotel location. One disadvantage being noise created by downtown life. The advantage is of course you are close to just about everything. There is a nightclub in the basement of our hotel but generally speaking, they are good at keeping the level of noise to a minimum. The member is correct that we sent them a gift certificate which would entitle them to a future one night stay and yes, there was a restriction that it wasn't valid until October 1st, 2008 but it was valid till April 30, 2009. We were not aware that the guest would not be able to use it during that time so we sent them an email stating that we would be pleased to re-issue the gift certificate without restrictions. We have yet to hear from them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This was the third Best Western hotel we stayed in this 3 week holiday - and was certaily the best! the location was great - not far from all the attractions, but the room was fab! - two beds in it and a sofa bed and a kitchen area - so for 3 of us it was plenty of room. nice and clean too. Valet Parking at $9 per day was really handy and conveniant. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the Pancake house next door - really great - but you might want to think about sharing unless you have big appatites! try tea at Barbs place - a bit of a walk - 30 mins of so via the inner harbour but great fish and chips -0 and not expensive either. Its at Fishermans Wharf - and watch out for the seal!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank corrylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

very enjoyable stay, great beds, staff were great very close to all amenities of downtown Victoria

Stayed: July 2008
Thank bigguysalmonarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £58 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing