We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you don't have a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location if you don't have a car”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pro-- good location close to Chinatown and walkable to the Inner Harbour area
Good staff throughout the day and night
Clean and maintenance in the lobby going on( painting)

Con-- noisy street noise and noise in the hallways from other patrons
Could hear the thump of the music from the pub

Biggest nuisance is the valet service. They take your vehicle away and you have to request it when you want to use it. Definitely found it hard at night to find a place to park it and then have them 'valet' it . We drove around the block 4 times before we found a spot to park it for the valet. Perhaps the hotel or the City street department could paint lines in the parking zone so the vehicles took the appropriate space allowance. This would reduce frustration for the hotel patrons trying to enter the hotel to register etc.

Room was smaller than what we are used to, but understand this is a downtown hotel. Liked the toilet being in a separate room from the sink area.

Next time we will look elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room not close to the pub and avoid a room on Johnson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our property and writing this review. As stated, we do our best to keep the hotel clean, comfortable and refreshed by ensuring ongoing maintenance and updates. I must apologize if you experienced any extended waits with our valet service. As with the majority of downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking and a result we park in a gated area off site. It does take 10-15 minutes to retrieve vehicles from this lot, though we are always able to pre-schedule any car to be waiting out front of the hotel whenever it will be needed. On occasion when our loading zone is very busy, our valets need to be quite quick in clearing space in the zone. Our parking costs $13 per night and if a guest would prefer to drive their own vehicle, we are more than happy to accommodate this, and will have a valet escort them to swipe them in and out of the gated areas. Thank you again for choosing us on this last trip to Victoria, and I hope we see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    397
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
296
372
84
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coaldale, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights while on a getaway. The location is good as it is downtown and close to shopping and amenities. It is also a short few blocks to the inner harbour, museum and other touristy type venues.
There is no self parking (I think the parking lot is several blocks away), but the valet will get your car ready for you in a few short minutes.
Staff are very helpful and friendly and made us feel important.
This will stay on our list of accommodations for future visits to Victoria.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the west end of the hotel as there is a nightclub on the main level and it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your last trip to Victoria, we appreciate the feedback and the kind words. As with most downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking. Our parking costs $13 per night, and because it is located off site, we provide an unlimited 24 hour valet service. Guests who wish to park themselves are absolutely welcome to do so- though they do require a valet escort to let them in and out of our gated area. We hope to see you again on the next trip to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in late June 2014 and was very impressed by the Carlton Plaza. Location is excellent, Very central in downtown Victoria and an easy walk to anywhere downtown.

Staff: Frankly I have never had a nicer, more helpful, and pleasant hotel staff anywhere, ANYWHERE. I was blown away by how helpful and pleasant they were.

Food in the restaurant is above average at least for breakfast and was very well priced.

The hotel provided free bikes and helmets to ride around town in. WiFi speed is very good, and the rooms clean and comfortable. Above average for a BW for sure. All in all one of the nicest "affordable" hotels I have stayed in, the nicest Best Western and a great place to stay if you want to be in downtown Victoria without breaking the bank.

Will definitely make a point or returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JameswgT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello again James, and thank you so much for this great review!

We do our best to make every stay special, and I'm glad we were successful on your last trip to Victoria. From our complimentary guest bikes, to the friendly staff and other services- our goal is always to make our guests feel welcome and at home. You mentioned the breakfast at the Stone's Throw restaurant, and I agree- their waffles are fantastic and a staff favourite. Please visit us again on your next trip through town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We started our vacation on Vancouver Island in Victoria and ended it there about 10 days later. This is a lovely hotel, very central, walking distance to the water, to main thoroughfares - Douglas, Government, etc - chock full of restaurants, bars, stores, coffee houses, pubs, and still walking distance, maybe about 10 minutes to Empress Hotel. We found it good value, very well maintained, very clean, and with an exceptionally nice staff. Our first time, 3 nights, we had a room on the 5th floor, one of the smaller ones, but made larger by some architectural design by its proximity to the elevator . We did not hear the elevator, just enjoyed the extra space. The only inconvenience was the tight space between the sink, which was outside of the bathroom, and the closet opposite the sink, with the bathroom door always in the way. A nice large TV gave us access to the FIFA and Wimbledon matches.There is a restaurant in the hotel - Stone's Throw - where we had a substantial breakfast and good service. When we checked out and reminded the young woman at the reception that we will be back for one more night, she offered us complimentary upgrade to a larger room with a kitchen. indeed, when we returned to Victoria after a fabulous excursion through the gorgeous Vancouver Island, we were taken to our larger suite on the 4th floor, a large spacious room with a full kitchen, a sitting area, and a bathroom with the sink inside and no conflict with the closet. So sorry we had only one night, as we were on our way back home. We had a rented car that we parked with the hotel, actually it was valet parking, as everything else efficient and done with a smile, for $13. Staying at this nice hotel enhanced our visit to Victoria. We hope to return one day to the land of the Pacific Ocean, and we know which hotel we will return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good Morning. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here on the Island and our hotel enough to come back again on the return trip! Our central location is what attracts most travellers to the hotel, and the staff do their best to ensure your stay is amazing so that you return again. Our suite rooms typically run $20 more per night than the traditional rooms and include a full kitchen as well as a pull out sofa and seating area for those needing a bit more room. Our parking is $13 a night, and does come with a 24 hour unlimited valet service. Please come back and see us again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location! It's perfect for not being right on the water. Central to all the happenings of Victoria. Clean, the staff are simply amazing! Will definitely
come back here to stay. They even have bikes to borrow for a couple of hours/day. We had a suite which was just like aN apartment. Perfect way to keep expenses down when you can buy some
local produce and keep it fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello! We're so glad that you enjoyed all that Victoria had to offer. We do have bikes available for guest use. They are available during daylight for up to three hours at a time. We provide helmets and water, and any directions you may need. The Kitchen suites are fabulous for those hoping to do a little cooking, and our proximity to the Hudson Market, Bastion Square market and several grocery stores makes whipping up a few meals a breeze. For those hoping to eat out, there are great options just steps away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a suite that accommodated 6 adults. The kitchen was more than adequate, the suite spacious. Not much of a view, but it was a great location, and easily walkable to anywhere. Staff was helpful, and we had no issues checking in/out.

Room Tip: No pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for this quick and kind review! Our location is one of our strengths as we're right in the downtown area just steps away from all the restaurants, sights, and attractions. The suite described is great for those needing a bit more space, because the full kitchen and pull out sofa can help accommodate a larger crowd. Guests can feel free to call us directly at 250-388-5513 and we can help choose the prefect room for your needs! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, being made smaller by locating the washbasin outside the bathroom in what was a corridor from the room with the wash basin one side and the wardrobe and safe area the other. Occasionally this could be inconvenient if one person was using the washbasin and the other wanted access to either the bathroom, of clothes. The staff were uniformly helpful and efficient. The lobby area is attractive. Most downtown attractions are within walking distance. The restaurant is a separate concern, owned by the chef. Friends complained that it was understaffed to the point of being chaotic at breakfast. We ate out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for this kind review! We have many different rooms types and variations, and strive to choose the best fit for each guest. Our traditional rooms are available with typically either two double beds, or one Queen. We also have a selection with a King, or with two Queens. These rooms contain a mini fridge as well as a coffee/tea station. Our suites (which cost an average of $20 more per night) are fabulous for guests hoping to cook, or spend more time relaxing at the hotel as they include a full kitchen and a seating are which includes a pull out couch to increase the sleeping capacity by two. We are well located within the downtown core, walking distance to all of the sights, attractions, restaurants and cafes!

Thank you again for choosing our property, we hope you will think of us again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing