We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Much better than I first thought"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our 3 teenagers in one of the suites (2 queens, sofa bed, kitchen). We have always stayed at the Best Western Inner Harbour when we visited Victoria but it was already booked so we booked here instead. At first I wasn't very impressed - the building is older, and the view from our room was of the top of other buildings that had seagull poop all over them. But this place has really grown on me! When we went out exploring, we realized that the shopping on this end of town is great - so many wonderful little shops and restaurants that we had overlooked before. It is a very quiet hotel - We haven't heard anyone else when we have been in our rooms at all. We all got very good sleeps and the shower head was great. The kids and I ended up spending a lot of time watching the seagulls from our window. We saw the parents feeding their chicks and it ended up being a great and very interesting view! Every single staff member that we have been in contact with has been very helpful and friendly. There is no parking lot close by for your car so you empty your belonging from it and hand over your keys and they park it in a parking garage for you. You just need to give them 10 minutes notice to have the car back and they bring it right to you. It was kind of nice not to worry about parking and driving. Everything was within a 15 minute radius of the hotel. The room may be a bit worn, but it is very clean and it has lots of extras (2 TV's, good Wi-Fi, lots of plugs ins and a good air conditioner.) This hotel was a nice surprise and we will definitely book here as a first choice next time we visit Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travellovexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello and thanks giving our property a chance on your last trip to Victoria! I'm glad to hear it was a success. Our location is one of our strongest assets, as we are located right in the center of downtown Victoria. Shops, restaurants and attractions are all just minutes away, and most guests find they do not need a vehicle, though we do offer parking for $13 per night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Located in downtown Victoria, within walking distance of the ferry terminal and most major attractions. Quiet at night. Good size, clean room. Comfortable bed. Functional bathroom and shower. Room amenities include coffee maker and laptop-size safe. WiFi included.
A few minuses: small slow elevator, electrical outlets located under the desk (those in the bases of the table lamps are too loose).
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. However, if they take a credit card deposit even for a prepaid stay, they need to be prepared to issue a zero balance statement at check out.
Overall a good value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Good Afternoon and thank you for writing this nice review. As stated, we are central to downtown Victoria and walking distance to most everything including transit points, restaurants, pubs and attractions. We have two elevators located in our lobby (and yes, one is much smaller! and a bit slower than the other unit) as well as a business center, vending area and access to several businesses. As with most hotels, we do require preauthorization on a valid credit card upon check in for any added incidentals- though we do not charge the card. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a great downtown hotel if you want to be central to everything. You do not need a car yet they have very reasonable valet parking if you want a car. The rooms are very big and the beds are very comfortable. I would stay here every trip to Victoria. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Sandra, it sounds like you had a great trip to the Island! You are correct we do have parking available for $13 per night, but with everything located just a few minutes walk away, most guests find that they leave the car and explore on foot. We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip out West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Victoria was a stopover point on a recent business trip out to Vancouver Island. Victoria is a lovely city and the Carlton Plaza Best Western is central to the attractions. The hotel itself is a more traditional facility with a lot of class. I had a corner room on the 4th floor that was just lovely. Great views, lots of room, comfortable bed, good decor...no complaints anywhere. Parking is by valet at a reasonable cost ($13CAD per night for my stay).
Perhaps the neighborhood is a little funky: candle and crystal shops, art and the like. I enjoyed the area and I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Good Afternoon Phil, and thank you for the nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The room described is a King Suite which also has a pull out sofa for extra sleeping capacity and a kitchen. Because we're directly downtown, many guests choose to leave their vehicles in our parking which costs $13 per night. It comes with an unlimited in/out 24 hour valet service. Next time you're working in Victoria, please consider us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed here several times. Staff are very friendly and helpful, parking available in their lot. The rooms were spacious with lots provided so we could save our doggy bags too. Internet worked well. Lovely sounds of bells at a church nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We're so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our hotel has a number of kitchen suites available which generally cost $20 more than a traditional room. They are great for those travelling who would like to do a bit of cooking in the room, or even just enjoy a bit more space. We're walking distance to three markets, which leaves us spoiled for choice! Please come and stay with us again on your next trip to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A lovely base for visiting Victoria within walking distance of everything

The hotel staff are very friendly and nothing too much trouble.

The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Good Morning! Thank you for taking a moment to leave us a good review. We are centrally located to everything downtown has to offer, and love showing off our favourite spots. It makes our day when someone comes back to the hotel to let us know that the restaurant we recommended was fantastic, or the walk we sent them on was beautiful. Victoria is a lovely town, and we're so lucky to live here year round! Come back and stay again any time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carlton Plaza, a member of staff was returning from lunch as our taxi pulled up and immediately proceeded to help with our luggage. Check in and out were friendly and efficient.
Our room on the 5th floor was extremely comfortable and well equipped. It's true that the decoration is a little dated but I don't think this hotel can be beaten in terms of service, location and value for money. Most places of interest are only a short walk away and taxis are reasonable if you can't manage.
The bathroom was rather compact yet it was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels. It's a small thing but I would prefer a proper hair dryer, ones attached to the wall aren't very convenient.
I'd be happy to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank REALLYMR&MRSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We love reading reviews of happy travellers! Thanks for taking the time to leave us this nice write up. We are just minutes away from all that downtown has to offer, restaurants, cafes, pubs, attractions and city transit. Our friendly staff are always happy to point you in the direction of their favourites and point out the best routes on the city maps we have available at the front desk. Please think of us again when you next visit Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £62 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing