We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Last week we had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria B.C. Our stay was perfect from the time we checked in until check out. The front desk staff was incredibly nice and friendly. We arrived early, and front desk supervisor Lina Jang was exceptional and allowed us to check in early, the rooms are impeccable, very clean and well kept. We cannot say enough about this hotel. If you are visiting Victoria we highly recommend the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel tucked away on Johnson St in Victoria B.C. Also check out the restaurant
excellent food and friendly service. Over all this is an excellent hotel with an exceptional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maple M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you Maple M for this glowing review! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Lina and the rest of the staff, it's always a pleasure to pass on good comments! Though our guaranteed check in time is at three o'clock, we always do our best to accommodate early travellers if we are able to. We hope you enjoyed your island visit and will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is very good. Service is also good. If you are looking for a full size kitchen then you should avoid this. Every now and then we had to ask for stuff. The food at the restaurant is very average.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 743amitavab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our kitchen suites have full kitchens, rather than kitchenettes in them. They have a stove, full sized refrigerator, and are stocked with all the basics, pots, pans flatware etc... Though we may lack a few specialty items, we are more than happy to get them for you should you require them! Please consider us again on your next visit through Victoria,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary trip to Victoria. From check-in to check-out this hotel did not disappoint! Staff were all so friendly and helpful! They upgraded us to a King room because we were there celebrating our anniversary which was a pleasant surprise! When we walked into our room,it was beautiful,so clean and inviting! The staff had given us a lovely card,bottle of wine and chocolates!
Housekeeping did a great job,our room was always promptly made up and clean. Valet service was a nice thing to have.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant only once,it was nice. Staff was friendly and did a good job. Food was hot,but pancakes were a bit rubbery. Tasted ok though.
The hotel itself is lovely and within walking distance to almost all the great thing to see in Victoria! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Nadine and Congratulations again on your anniversary! We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Victoria and our services provided. We always do our best to make every guest feel like they are at home here at the Carlton Plaza. Hopefully we will see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A very clean and quiet place to stay. Hotel staff exceeded ALL other staff experienced at other hotels. The only negative would be the valet parking. If one needed access to their vehicle a number of times during the day this could be an inconvenience. Fortunately we did not require access to our vehicle so that did not apply.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Donald and thanks for taking a few minutes to leave us this nice review! We are located right in the heart of downtown Victoria, and as such do not have on site parking. Our parking costs $13 per night but does have an unlimited in and out, 24 hour valet service. Vehicles can be pre-scheduled to be available at anytime, or retrieval by phoning down from a guest room takes between 10-15 minutes. Many guests find as you did, that with everything so close by, it is nicer to walk than to try and find downtown parking. We hope that you'll come and stay with us again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our 3 teenagers in one of the suites (2 queens, sofa bed, kitchen). We have always stayed at the Best Western Inner Harbour when we visited Victoria but it was already booked so we booked here instead. At first I wasn't very impressed - the building is older, and the view from our room was of the top of other buildings that had seagull poop all over them. But this place has really grown on me! When we went out exploring, we realized that the shopping on this end of town is great - so many wonderful little shops and restaurants that we had overlooked before. It is a very quiet hotel - We haven't heard anyone else when we have been in our rooms at all. We all got very good sleeps and the shower head was great. The kids and I ended up spending a lot of time watching the seagulls from our window. We saw the parents feeding their chicks and it ended up being a great and very interesting view! Every single staff member that we have been in contact with has been very helpful and friendly. There is no parking lot close by for your car so you empty your belonging from it and hand over your keys and they park it in a parking garage for you. You just need to give them 10 minutes notice to have the car back and they bring it right to you. It was kind of nice not to worry about parking and driving. Everything was within a 15 minute radius of the hotel. The room may be a bit worn, but it is very clean and it has lots of extras (2 TV's, good Wi-Fi, lots of plugs ins and a good air conditioner.) This hotel was a nice surprise and we will definitely book here as a first choice next time we visit Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travellovexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello and thanks giving our property a chance on your last trip to Victoria! I'm glad to hear it was a success. Our location is one of our strongest assets, as we are located right in the center of downtown Victoria. Shops, restaurants and attractions are all just minutes away, and most guests find they do not need a vehicle, though we do offer parking for $13 per night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Located in downtown Victoria, within walking distance of the ferry terminal and most major attractions. Quiet at night. Good size, clean room. Comfortable bed. Functional bathroom and shower. Room amenities include coffee maker and laptop-size safe. WiFi included.
A few minuses: small slow elevator, electrical outlets located under the desk (those in the bases of the table lamps are too loose).
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. However, if they take a credit card deposit even for a prepaid stay, they need to be prepared to issue a zero balance statement at check out.
Overall a good value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Good Afternoon and thank you for writing this nice review. As stated, we are central to downtown Victoria and walking distance to most everything including transit points, restaurants, pubs and attractions. We have two elevators located in our lobby (and yes, one is much smaller! and a bit slower than the other unit) as well as a business center, vending area and access to several businesses. As with most hotels, we do require preauthorization on a valid credit card upon check in for any added incidentals- though we do not charge the card. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a great downtown hotel if you want to be central to everything. You do not need a car yet they have very reasonable valet parking if you want a car. The rooms are very big and the beds are very comfortable. I would stay here every trip to Victoria. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Sandra, it sounds like you had a great trip to the Island! You are correct we do have parking available for $13 per night, but with everything located just a few minutes walk away, most guests find that they leave the car and explore on foot. We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip out West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £58 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing