We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Had a "situation" with no hotel and just about everything in Victoria booked out. The staff could have taken advantage of this but did the opposite - sensing how I was feeling, the actually dropped the nightly rate to help out - didn't expect that! Good location but still a 30 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Room was excellent - all new and spacious.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CraigH0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good Morning Craig and thank you for leaving this review after your good experience at our property. I'm so very glad that our staff were able to accommodate you after what certainly must have been a stressful evening! While we always encourage reservations, we will certainly do our best to help any walk in guest who visits our hotel. We have recently undergone many updates here at the hotel, with new counter tops and cabinets in our kitchens and bathrooms. More is to come this fall with updated furnishings and fresh decor! Come back again and see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    386
    110
    22
    15
See reviews for
280
365
83
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melfort, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Vacationed in Victoria from August 16 the to the 21st. Was apprehensive of being off the harbor, but was short lived. The price was reasonable and we received a sweet upgrade when we arrived. The staff were the best. The room (upgraded to a suite), was clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. Only issue were the stupid sea gulls making a racket every morning. The only criticism was having to use valet parking, so the cost rose somewhat. But the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Book away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monster_in_the_boat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for giving our downtown property a try on your last trip to Victoria! While it's true that we are not directly on the water, I believe that our location is one of our largest assets. Rather than being on the edge of the core, and having to walk in- we are right in the thick of it, minutes to everything, and not only our beautiful Inner Harbour which is just a few blocks away. For those guests traveling on business, we are nearby the conference center, the downtown core and many government agencies. For those sightseeing, we are walking distance to Beacon Hill, the Inner Harbour, Legislature, BC Museum and much more. Transit, restaurants and shopping are all accessible. As is the norm with any downtown hotel, we do have parking available for a $13 per night charge which includes our unlimited valet service. Please consider us again on your next trip to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

central location downtown , within walking distance to downtown amenities , numerous restaurants within walking distance , on site restaurant , on check out day luggage can be left at the front desk until the end of the day , on check out day your vehicle can be left in the parkade until until the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Good Morning Linda and thanks for leaving us this great review! For guests checking out (or even for guests arriving before our guaranteed check in time of 3 o'clock) we're happy to hold onto any bags for the day so that you can enjoy the city unburdened before you leave for your next destination. If you have parked your car with us, feel free to leave it at the lot all day to avoid having to find downtown parking. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Last week we had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel in Victoria B.C. Our stay was perfect from the time we checked in until check out. The front desk staff was incredibly nice and friendly. We arrived early, and front desk supervisor Lina Jang was exceptional and allowed us to check in early, the rooms are impeccable, very clean and well kept. We cannot say enough about this hotel. If you are visiting Victoria we highly recommend the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel tucked away on Johnson St in Victoria B.C. Also check out the restaurant
excellent food and friendly service. Over all this is an excellent hotel with an exceptional staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maple M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you Maple M for this glowing review! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Lina and the rest of the staff, it's always a pleasure to pass on good comments! Though our guaranteed check in time is at three o'clock, we always do our best to accommodate early travellers if we are able to. We hope you enjoyed your island visit and will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is very good. Service is also good. If you are looking for a full size kitchen then you should avoid this. Every now and then we had to ask for stuff. The food at the restaurant is very average.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 743amitavab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our kitchen suites have full kitchens, rather than kitchenettes in them. They have a stove, full sized refrigerator, and are stocked with all the basics, pots, pans flatware etc... Though we may lack a few specialty items, we are more than happy to get them for you should you require them! Please consider us again on your next visit through Victoria,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary trip to Victoria. From check-in to check-out this hotel did not disappoint! Staff were all so friendly and helpful! They upgraded us to a King room because we were there celebrating our anniversary which was a pleasant surprise! When we walked into our room,it was beautiful,so clean and inviting! The staff had given us a lovely card,bottle of wine and chocolates!
Housekeeping did a great job,our room was always promptly made up and clean. Valet service was a nice thing to have.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant only once,it was nice. Staff was friendly and did a good job. Food was hot,but pancakes were a bit rubbery. Tasted ok though.
The hotel itself is lovely and within walking distance to almost all the great thing to see in Victoria! We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello Nadine and Congratulations again on your anniversary! We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Victoria and our services provided. We always do our best to make every guest feel like they are at home here at the Carlton Plaza. Hopefully we will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A very clean and quiet place to stay. Hotel staff exceeded ALL other staff experienced at other hotels. The only negative would be the valet parking. If one needed access to their vehicle a number of times during the day this could be an inconvenience. Fortunately we did not require access to our vehicle so that did not apply.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Donald and thanks for taking a few minutes to leave us this nice review! We are located right in the heart of downtown Victoria, and as such do not have on site parking. Our parking costs $13 per night but does have an unlimited in and out, 24 hour valet service. Vehicles can be pre-scheduled to be available at anytime, or retrieval by phoning down from a guest room takes between 10-15 minutes. Many guests find as you did, that with everything so close by, it is nicer to walk than to try and find downtown parking. We hope that you'll come and stay with us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing