We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Room was very clean and comfortable with all of the amenities I require. The staff including parking valets were prompt, friendly and courteous. The downtown location with valet parking included in room rates makes this possibly the best dollar for dollar value in Victoria.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie42Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

Thank you for the kind comments you made about your experience with us. In this tough economy, we try to bring as much value to our guests as possible. I am glad that you found our valet service to be reliable and convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

This is the third year in a row that we have stayed here as extended stay guests looking for a break from the long Edmonton winters, we were five weeks this time. The hotel rates are a very good value for budget conscious travellers like us. What makes the Best Western Carlton Plaza exceptional is the level of service provided by its staff, from the front desk and bellmen to housekeeping and maintenance, everyone wanted to help us. My husband is in a wheelchair and the staff were particularly attentive to provide assistance in any way they could. What impressed me most was that all the staff had this attitude - they went the extra step to do their best. We were treated like family and that's why we keep coming back. The hotel is located within short walking/wheeling distance to restaurants, shopping and Chinatown.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sllv162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Went on a trip to Victoria with the family to check out the old stomping grounds. I lived there for several years during University and after so both my wife and I were very familiar with the city and wanted a good location from which to launch our trips down memory lane.

I had stayed in this Hotel 20 years ago and didn't think much of it from what I recall but this trip was a pleasant surprise. We really enjoyed our stay and felt none of that harried travelling with children stress that usually accompanies a trip.

Things that were great

>> Staff - Fast helpful and courteous
>> Location - For touring around - Great restaurants
>> Service - Free valet service - Quick response to needs

Things that were not so great

>> Original room was tiny for two adults and two kids but we upgraded to a suite and it was GREAT!

>> A bit of a "bad part of town" but n Victoria that is not saying much. Even the homeless are excruciatingly polite and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

Thank you for giving us another chance after 20 years! I'm glad that we were able to plesantly surprise you. We have seen many guests and many changes over our long history which is almost 100 years old! I hope that we can make your next stay with us a perfect one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

I only stayed at this hotel for two nights in mid week, but enjoyed it very much! The location is right downtown, but I felt very secure at night. It is perfect for someone who doesn't have a car.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was discounted because of the poximity of the nightclub. It didn't bother me at all, but I was staying mid-week, it might be differant on a week-end. Room was very clean, flat panel tv was great (clear picture which I can't say for some high end hotels I have stayed at).
Overal, great value for money. I would stay there again no problem!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

It's wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The 37" flat screens television is a new addition to our rooms. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Carlton Plaza in beautiful downtown Victoria, BC. I was traveling with my mother and it was very important to me that she had a comfortable travel experience. And did we ever! Our room was superb - the kitchen suite enabled us to enjoy a relaxing morning and to visit with family at our convenience. Our beds were extremely comfortable and we awoke refreshed each morning. Every member of the staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we were happy and well looked after. We look forward to a return trip and the Best Western Carlton Plaza will be our hotel of choice whenever in Victoria.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litlsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming both you and your mother back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was functional although the drain in the tub was very slow. After a shower the tub would take about 15 minutes for the water to totally empty. that was not a problem as one of us showered in the morning and the other in the evening. I would definitely be staying here the next time I visit Victoria.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiswuanywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate feedback from all of our guests. I apologize for the issue with the tub drain. I am pleased to report that we had our maintenance department inspect the tub drains in the hotel to prevent this issue from occuring on future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

The reception by CONNNIE Stecyk was great - friendly and prompt and accurate - the front counter people were right on the ball, and we did enjoy being welcomed at all times. We stayed 2 more nights because of the room - it was a king size bed with a lovely duvet , and we were impressed with the ability to make a cup of tea and a sandwich when we wanted them. We will come back again I am sure.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2009

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We try to make it a point to acknowledge and greet every guest whenever they past the Front Desk. I will also ensure that Connie reads the wonderful comments that you made about her. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.7 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £62 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing