We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C..
1 review
“Best Service in Town”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My friends and I have been coming to the Best Western Carlton in the heart of Victoria, B. C.
for the past three years. We run the Royal Victoria Marathon, so on the Sunday, when we
drag our butts back to the hotel, the staff have always provided us with either a late check
out, shower facilities to clean up, or we can utilize the YMCA facility at no cost. I have found
that whatever we may ask for, they have always been willing to accomadate us. I would
highly recommend the Best Western Carlton in Victoria, B. C.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snookums77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are proud to have a lot of marathon runners stay with us every year! Congratulations on running the Royal Victoria Maraton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    390
    113
    25
    15
See reviews for
288
368
84
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gabriola island BC
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria BC, within walking distance of all the shops as well as the ocean. The staff are spot on, friendly, quick, amenable and warm. They will change a room in a second if you aren't pleased. The desk clerk actually called my room and left me a message to check as to how I was doing and if there was anything he could do. As a woman travelling alone, I felt safe and secure at all times.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWFrontOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
Thank you for writing a review for us! Our front desk staff is more than welcome to offer suggestions for things to do in Victoria. I hope you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim,CA
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Well situated in the downtown area of Victoria, BC, with good selection of high-class and moderately priced eateries (including its own restaurant, which is quite good, but only open for breakfast and lunch). It is a well appointed facility with rooms of varying sizes and accoutremounts. There is no self-parking--but, and this is important--it rarely requires more than 5-7 minutes from the time the call is made to bring one's car around until the car is presented in the front of the hotel. The hotel is situated two blocks away from Congregation Emanu-El, affiliated with the United Synagogue for Conservative Judaism, which is a plus for my wife and myself since, as Jewish Shabbat observers,
we walk on the Sabbath. Another feature of the wonderful hospitality shown us over the years we have stayed at the Carlton Plaza is that we have been allowed to order from the hotel restaurant, on the Sabbath, without having to sign for the order. We, of course, have had to discuss this with the staff prior to entering the restaurant--but the staff has said "yes" to us each and every time. Great people--very understanding. The front elevator is relatively small and can only be called to the ground floor by inserting one's room card--a minor inconvenience for the additional security this system provides. There is a larger elevator down a hallway and we have alwaysa found that one to be very serviceable for our needs.

A major in-door center city mall is but three blocks away, as is the marvelous Munro's Book Store and Murchie's Teas and Coffees (and wonderful food, as well); Roger's Chocloates (stupendous) and Rocky Mountain Chocolates are also in that same area. 4-5 blocks away is the Empress Hotel and the Inner Harbor and a little further along--Parliament.

This hotel is a gem in the middle of one of the world's great neighborhoods. The staff is
competent, polished, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the city and its environs
We have visited Victoria 18 times!! We discovered (?) the Carlton Plaza on our 3rd visit and have never gone to another hotel in Victoria since that time!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RambamAnaheim_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA state
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We booked this hotel through Priceline.com and got a very nice rate. It is right on the edge of the tourist/downtown area and we could walk everywhere which was great since we didn't bring a car. We chose a suite with a kitchenette. It was nothing special decor-wise, but comfortable and we could have our breakfast in the room. There are a number of good bakeries nearby in which to purchase breakfast treats. The hotel's restaurant, open only for breakfast and lunch, did not look appealing. The bed was so comfortable that I ordered the pillows and mattress pad from shopbestwestern.com. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldogWAstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our stay at the hotel was excellent from the minute we walked in the door.Frontdesk staff,Valet,and Housekeepers, all treated us with compasion and great service.We will be back for more of that.
Many Thanks. Steve Pasanen

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khope0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I stayed at the BW for three nights. Stayed on the top floor that being 7. My particular room had an outside balcony overlooking the city. Believe my room was #704. Rooms are very comfy would surely stay here again. Great customer service as well..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We walked from the victoria clipper Dragging our lugage,over packed for sure! We are older and a bit broken,so as the blocks added up we became a little fearful. To our great surprise,we were greeted very warmly by the hotel staff.Then we were told they up graded our room,very nice indeed! Infact my Husband wanted to know how much I had paid for the room,to his delight I told him American Airline miles coverd all the expenses! I have told every one who will listen,this is a nice place to stay! The walk was great and they helped up navigate the buss system to got to Butchart Gardens.Not so bad and lots of tourist were doing the same! Alot cheaper than a tour and you can take your time! If I had taken a tour We would have been rushed! Great place to stay!Great beds,kitchen,large screen tv,we didn't use.Very clean bedding,crisp!Great location and safe!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing