We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel has been around for many years and is beginning to show it. The rooftop restaurant is quite nice, just be sure to get a view of some interest. Difficult to access if driving.

Helpful?
Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    695
    160
    55
    32
See reviews for
628
728
100
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I've been staying at Chateau Victoria regularly, as a frequent business client, for at least 3 years now. It's always been spotless and friendly and very helpful in every way, from reservations to front desk to housekeeping and maintenance staff. They've recently done some upgrades and made it even more pleasant. Rooms are spacious and the suites are great for doing your own breakfast. Location is within walking distance of virtually everything in downtown Victoria. Even Spinnakers Pub is a pleasant seawall walk on a nice day. The waterfront is a block and a bit away. Vista 18, the lounge at the top, is a great unwinding and/or meeting spot in the evenings and Clive's serves eclectic beers from around the world. Great place, great people. Very close to 5 star, in my book, at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: They are all good, but ask for a suite for a bit more room. Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windandwine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your great review. I like the fact it is from a business travel perspective. Many business travelers will choose a branded hotel because they have an idea of what their going to get from the hotel based on past experiences with that brand. As an independent, we appreciate you sharing your experience so other business travelers will give us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Victoria for two nights the week before Christmas and were very pleased with this hotel!!
The hotel was recommended by Clipper Vacations who arranged our trip from Seattle and I appreciate their good advice. We had a junior suite with separate bedroom (snoring issues solved…), a large balcony, great view and a small kitchen area with refrig. The suite was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The location was excellent and we walked everywhere. The staff was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable and provided a bowl of fresh fruit - Clementines - at the front desk for guests. Victoria is such a pleasant place and this hotel fits in perfectly – very civilized and designed on human scale. Although you can pay more for a hotel in Victoria, I doubt that you could find a property that pleases you as much as the Chateau Victoria – I can’t wait to return for another visit!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

he Chateau Victoria is a hotel I have always stayed at for business given its excellent proximity to the downtown business centre but this weekend we went for a family trip and it was perfect. We parked the car and did not move it all weekend. If you are flying on the float plane it's just a short walk from the terminal. The hotel is perfect walking distance to just about anywhere except some of the tourist sites of North Saanich and Sidney. The suite we had was great and gave everyone (4 of us) space to move around. Check-in was a breeze and the staff are friendly and welcoming. I was looking at the maps provided at the front desk and the staff were quick to ask if I needed directions. The pool and hot tub were used by all and were excellent (great pool for laps). The gym equipment is dated and the room is small. The views are stellar with The Empress and the lights of the legislature view from several rooms. The seawalk in front of the legislature is right out the door at the corner. Parking was included in the room (we had a corporate rate so not sure if that is different as others have reviewed). A variety of restaurants, including the Asian food fare in nearby Chinatown, are all within walking distance, and the Vista 18 in the hotel offers wonderful food, and an excellent local BC wine list to accompany live jazz. No passwords for internet use - just log in. Showers were hot and the housekeeping staff were very accommodating when we asked for thinner pillows and coffee filters - they returned in 3 minutes with each. All in all, this is the perfect hotel if you are wanting a getaway within the local city scene. It' not a spa package (which you can get at Laurel Point and Ocean Point Resort) but the hotel will arrange for spa service to come to you if you like. Will definitely return again and again to the Chateau Victoria.

Room Tip: As for a view of the legislature buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island_m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. Your travel piece is like a travel blog. It could be published in a travel section. Very well done. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I just spent 4 nights at the Chateau Victoria and was very pleased with this hotel. My room was spacious and clean, all amenities were have been updated and the bed was very comfortable.

Parking is included in your stay! If you stay at other downtown Victoria hotels you can count on spending $25 a night to park.

The hotel has a free shuttle as well. You can be dropped of and picked up throughout the downtown area.

I was on a business trip and 3 of my co-workers are visually impaired. The hotel staff were excellent in helping with hotel orientation and ensuring their needs were met.

The only slight on the hotel is that the gym area is a bit small, however the pool and hottub area very nice.

Oh, and the best part is that the rates are excellent in comparision to other Victoria hotels of the same star level.

Room Tip: Ask how much it is to upgrade to a Deluxe Suite facing the water. You might be surprised at how litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockin_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thanks for the great review. I can't tell you how much they help independent hotels like ours. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We decided to travel to our hometown of Victoria, B.C. from Seattle and spend Christmas with my 85 year old mother. Instead of staying with her, we decided to all have a vacation and stay at our favorite downtown hotel together. We arrived on the 24th to the Victoria Chamber Choir singing carols in the lobby. There was a wine and cheese reception and plenty of coffee and tea. They very generously upgraded our room and gave an exceptional rate. Our room consisted of 2 queen beds, one in the living area and one in the private bedroom. There was a small kitchen stocked with plates, cups, cutlery and a small fridge, a microwave and eating area (where we set up our 3' tree). No CD or DVD player, but we did not ask the front desk for one, so perhaps they would accommodate. We had a large balcony which overlooked the city (some rooms do see the Empress, better to look at it ..and pay a fraction of the price). We walked up to Christ Church Cathedral to attend midnight mass that Christmas Eve and it was wonderful. This church is a must-see for any vacation. The Chateau Victoria is central to every downtown landmark. The Empress and wonderful causway, the Royal Victoria Museum, Murchies (for the best high tea for a tiny price), Fort Street (great for antiques). Dallas Road for a pretty spectacular walk along the breakwater (and dont forget to at least have icecream at the little cafe at the entrance). Victoria has an exciting "Chinatown" with some exceptional international shopping. If you love eclectic interior shops, Chintz and Company is a must-must-must see. You can walk, but a car is probably the best bet. Free parking while you shop. Nothing in Victoria is very far and I would highly recommend this charming and delightful city. The stay would be complete at the Chateau Victoria. I must add, while we were there the fire alarm went off at 2am on the 26th of December. They have an excellent PA system and we all headed down to the lobby where the Victoria Fire Department came and immediatly put our minds at ease, as did the newbie front desk clerk. A false alarm which was handled well. Love this hotel and will stay again and again.

Helpful?
Thank citieswithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here back in early May 2011. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were huge! We bought a one night package from Vancouver and we realized they gave us a suite when we were only a couple!

Sleep was comfortable - bed was nice and big! The facilities itself is very good - well kept hotel and very clean indeed. Everything was walking distance to all the sightseeing area which was a added benefit. We got a good deal and would recommend it if you do visit quiet Victoria, BC!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria
Chateau Victoria Hotel And Suites Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing