We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a very pleasant Hotel in a beautiful area, walking distance to the waterfront, shopping and the Empress Hotel. The room was average size, traditional style, view of the roof next door. What I loved about this hotel; as we were checking in they put out a beautiful display of fresh cold apples and offered them to us, the beds were beautiful white fluffy and warm. Hubby and I each had our own bed that we stretched out, napped and watched TV in, before we moved into one bed for the evening. The shampoo, soaps and lotions were excellent and my favorite "Bath and Body Works". The staff was friendly (teased us about playing in the elevator, when we went to the wrong floor" and helpful "extended late checkout until 1:30 pm without charge".

Room Tip: I would think the higher floors would have a much better view. The restaurant is on the 19th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Melody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you Mark for your thoughtful review. We are very happy to learn that you had a very positive experience with us during your stay. It sounds like you and your husband had a fun and relaxing week-end. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with our entire team ~ everyone enjoys a great review. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    676
    157
    54
    32
See reviews for
600
710
94
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Cannot say enough about how great the staff were at this hotel. They really do everything they can to make sure your stay is perfect. They drove and to the our Whale watching trip and even picked us up. They are always so helpful. The hotel was a great location.The restaurant was good food and a great view of Victoria from the top of the hotel. Rooms were nice and clean. A bit small, but after the great service we had at this hotel I would not want to stay anywhere else in Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_gam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you c_gam for choosing the Chateau Victoria and for your kind review. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with our entire team ~ everyone enjoys a great review! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is perfectly located to see all the sites in Victoria, BC. We had a suite at a phenomenally low price. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is an excellent restaurant on the top floor and a pub/restaurant off the lobby. The rooms are well appointed with a large screen TV. This is THE place to stay in Victoria saving you money for the fun stuff.

Room Tip: Get a suite-well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you Chad for your review. We were happy to read that you had a positive experience during your stay with us. Thank you for the room tip – our one bedroom suites are quite spacious and provide the little extras of home. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with Vista 18, our rooftop restaurant and Clive’s Classic Lounge located in our lobby area. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great hotel for kids, nice pool,central location, walking distance to most maker sites. Very good value for the money, much better than many larger chain hotels. Very friendly staff and nice size rooms. Had stayed one alone on business and now once with two kids in-tow! will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you Denis for your kind review. We are happy to read that you and your family had a positive experience during your stay with us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our exceptional experience starting with entering the comfortable classy and CLEAN lobby. The front desk staff were friendly, professional and helpful. When expressing interest in some attractions, Marion Ann Berry picked up the phone and was able to make all of our reservations. Keith Taylor was also very helpful and friendly. Every member we met from the housekeeping staff, front desk staff and restaurant staff were friendly and HAPPY!. It was nice to see happy workers and not corporate minions. When we have the opportunity to return to Victoria, we will stay here again. We have recommended Chateau Victoria to our friends and travel agent! Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Deborah T,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for remembering the people who helped with your overall guest experience. I'll be sure I let these people know they were mentioned. It really does help inspire the service attitude we seem to have. Thank you again and we hope you can return one day.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
269 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed because of the price, well under what other near by hotels were going for. The front desk and lobby is modern but the hallways and elevator seem old. That changes once you get into your room. All upgraded rooms, plush pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, really nice powerful shower. Excellent fitness room, pool and hot tub. Great service. Ate breakfast in Vista 18 which, while a bit overpriced,offered amazing views of the city. One block north east of the convention center and the Empress. One block from the downtown core. Three blocks to the Inner Harbour. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a 4+ star hotel at 3 star prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. We are happy that you noticed our newly renovated lobby and traditional rooms. We have started our next renovation project in the hallways, they are getting new carpeting, lighting, a few extra cosmetic touches that will reflect the warm feeling of the lobby. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We made a last minute trip to Victoria for the weekend and I booked this hotel the day before we left. Upon arrival I was impressed with the lobby. Very nice and well arranged. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but we didn't mind. They let us check our luggage while we explored the city. When we came back we enjoyed the quiet seating area of the lobby while we waited for our room to be ready ( we arrived early in the morning so I didn't expect the room to be ready when we got there). The staff were all very friendly and kindly answered our questions. I had only booked a standard room and was thrilled when we were surprised with a 1 bedroom suite when we arrived at the room. It was very spacious with 2 queen beds, a little kitchenette, huge closet and a separate room with pullout couch, another closet, tv and desk. My 4 yr old loved the separate living room to play with his toys and watch cartoons. The beds were heavenly!!! So comfortable! I slept so well! The balcony had a great view of the city and we could see out to the harbor. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset and sunrise from the balcony. The front desk staff even helped us with dinner restaurant suggestions and even offered a shuttle to take us and pick us up. Wonderful hotel and we will be returning here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dis3fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your last minute getaway. We are very happy to read that you had a positive experience during your stay with us. Our lobby has been just renovated in the last twelve months and we are continuing our renovation projects through out the year. Thank you again for your gracious review, your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria
Chateau Victoria Hotel And Suites Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing