We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent facilites and an awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Prairies
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent facilites and an awesome staff”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is our second stay at the Chateau Victoria. A " heads up" before i start the review. Its NOT a modern, art deco-ish hotel. Its furnished circa 1980-ish decor. The decor is dated BUT Its CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. PLUS its located close to the harbor and everything that you need is close by. For the location, the spacious suites ,FREE parking and FREE shuttle service, you're getting a BIG BANG for the buck !! Excellent for long term stays.
The front desk and foyer is very inviting and very modern. Yes, this contrasts the decor in their suites. The staff was very friendly right off the start. We arrived early morning , expecting to drop our suitcases off and wait. They went through their suites and found a suite that was available. Now thats service. Most hotels would look up and say " you're early, come back later".
The suites are spacious with a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, living room, balcony and a separate bedroom. The bed in our suite was VERY comfortable. My wife forgot to check the make of the mattresses, as she wanted to get a set for home.
One potential drawback, theres no central air conditioning. I have never stayed here in the summer, so i can't comment further. Otherwise heating was excellent, no problems at all.
The noise level was very good inside the hotel. However the outside noise tends to reverberate through the single pane windows. This is depends on where your suite is situated ( refer to the tips below) .
A very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent restaurant recommendations.
Clive's Classic lounge on the main floor has a good collection of scotches and bourbons.
I can't comment on the wine list as i don't drink wine.
Overall an excellent hotel with an excellent staff.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the rooms overlooking the front ( ie- room 801) . It tends to get noisy especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ba11istic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you Ba11istic. I'm glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. Just one point of clarification about our windows. We did have single pane windows but have changed them all to double pane as of about three years ago due mainly to the fact that we are in the heart of downtown and like most downtown, they can be a little noisy at times. The double pane windows have helped a great deal but you can still hear revelers and sirens from time to time. You might have also noticed our new lobby. We are currently taking that new look to all our corridors as well this winter. We hope you can make a third trip to see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    705
    164
    57
    33
See reviews for
643
741
100
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel.and the service is excellent.the people at the dest are really nice.the dining room has a great view.the room's come with a bowconi,a heater/fan and in the washrooms there are two soap's and one aromatic spa green tea shampoo, a aromatic spa green tea conditioner and a aromatic green tea lotion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for the great review Aaron. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the the room and it's extra amenities. Please think of us if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a BC Ferries package, therefore, the price was very reasonable. If you discount the cost of the return ferry ticket, the room probably works out at around $40 for the night. For the location, which is 2 blocks from Inner Harbour (and is across the road from the Marriot), this a very decent price.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean, as was the bathroom.
The kingsize bed was very comfortable
The only negative part was the view- we overlooked a car park and a wall, but we didnt care as we were only staying for one night and it's to be expected in a downtown area.

We didnt use any of the facilities the hotel offered, so I'm unable to comment about them.

Overall, if you get this room as part of a cheap package and are looking for a clean and friendly environment in a convenient location, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review jimmy F. Packages are a good way to buy travel as they do give great value. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked this hotel for a Christmas getaway, after researching other properties in the area. Prior to my arrival, I had called the hotel to ask a few questions and Bryce was more than willing to provide answers and other helpful information. He was very pleasant and professional.

The arrival and check in was easy and seamless, even with our early arrival - they found a room for us. We soon were off to explore the area. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance for everything, including groceries that we bought for in our kitchen suite. When we were faced with carrying groceries for our Christmas dinner, we were pleased to be able to call back to the hotel and their shuttle was at the grocery store within minutes to bring us back.

Our bed is quite comfortable and the layout of the room is very functional. I am able to let my husband have a lay in while I build the coffee and move around the suite without waking him. The room was very clean and we had no issues. Our kitchen was a super addition - completely cooking a Christmas dinner for two and not lacking any tools or dishes to prepare the meal. Quite pleased.

The staff are super. Having worked at a hotel over Christmas, I realize that it is not necessarily where you want to be during the holiday, but you would not have known it with the staff on duty here at Chateau Vic. So pleasant and cheerful, holiday wishes with every person you passed and it was genuine. Well done, everyone!

Again, a great property to stay at while visiting Victoria on business or for pleasure - close to all amenities and so many gems of restaurants and shops. We have enjoyed our stay and still have 5 days left! Off we go to walk the harbour!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review LaRayne and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites for your Christmas holiday. We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience during your visit with us. Having a suite with a kitchen can make preparing a special dinner seamless, our fifth floor suites are all equip with galley kitchen and some of our one bedroom suites located throughout the hotel also have full kitchens. It does make it easier to be away from home when you can cook those special dinners. Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with Bryce and the entire team ~ everyone enjoys a great review! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We got a great price for a 2 bedroom suite with a gigantic balcony. Good lighting, and very comfortable furnishings except for two things: 1) the hide-a-bed in the living room was just barely ok, but maybe we could have asked for another mattress. 2) the upright chairs were not ideal for sitting at the desk. It would be nice to have an adjustable office chair.

Shuttle service to anywhere (probably anywhere _nearby_) that we wanted to go was a great bonus.

Don't miss the chance to have a meal in Clive's.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you Barbara for your review and choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you were comfortable in our two bedroom suite; it does have a beautiful large balcony to enjoy the city from a bird eye view. Please be assured that your observations and suggestions about the pull out sofa and the deck chairs have been shared with our management team. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated. On a side note, we are currently renovating the hallways and last year we renovated our traditional rooms, our next project will be going into our suites and giving them a new look. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Spent 4 nights with our dog in this pet friendly very nicely appointed hotel. Great location. Free and covered parking with easy access to our room was great. Staff were all very friendly. We were on 2nd floor above the entrance so view was very limited but never a problem with noise. We understand there are designated pet floors and this is one of them with a standard room. Good size room - king bed. Easy access out through the parking garage to walk our dog who enjoyed the attention he got from the staff. Easy walking distance to the heart of Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you justakiwi for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your dog had a pleasant stay with us. We do offer pet friendly rooms that are located on the second and sixth floors, as you mentioned our second floor rooms are our traditional rooms; also they have been recently renovated. Our sixth floor pet friendly rooms are one bedroom suites just in case you and your pet need more room. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

For the price we paid, 5 stars. To be this close to the inner harbor at the price we paid, which included parking, you can't beat it.

First the great, location, location, location. The bed was very comfortable. The onsite restaurant was also outstanding if a bit on the pricy side but not out of whack with other comparable restaurants in the area.

The only drawback was the thermostat did not seam to adjust the heat at all. The room was a bit on the chilly side. But for what we paid, they still get the 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review Paul, we are so glad you had a positive experience during your visit to Victoria. Thank you for letting us know about the thermostat ~ we do encourage all our guests to contact the front desk with any concerns with the room. Our maintenance team is happy to assist you and we would like to make sure that your comfortable during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria
Chateau Victoria Hotel And Suites Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing