We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always my first pick for a hotel in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“always my first pick for a hotel in Victoria”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have been staying at the Chateau Victoria for years, typically when I am in Victoria on business. The customer service is bar none excellent, consistently! The front counter staff always have smiles and cheerful greetings, no matter what time of day or night, and no matter how busy they are. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Clive's Cocktail Lounge is in the Hotel and is fabulous! A "must visit" every time I am there - a true cocktail lounge - and they know their cocktails!
The hotel is right downtown, central to everything, and being just off the main street (Douglas) it is very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeulahCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you BeulahCanada for your very kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites once again during your visits to Victoria. Please be assured your gracious comments have been shared with our entire employee team – everyone enjoys a great review! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    634
    156
    55
    31
See reviews for
564
668
92
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely location, better than helpful staff - they definitely go the extra mile. We were treated really well, even though we just walked in looking for a room.
Clean and comfortable rooms, and even better suites! Great amenities: especially the delicious food in the restaurant with the new chef and the mixologists working at Clives- oh la la! As said in other reviews, walking location to many sights nearby. Looking forward to using it for our wedding guests as a place to stay!

Room Tip: Suites are great for families as they have two bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennilleAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you TennilleAmber for your thoughtful review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites once again during your visit to Victoria. We were pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us and please be assured that we have shared your gracious mentions to the Clive’s Classic Lounge Chef and Mixologist, nothing say’s it better than oh-la-la! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualicum beach
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Not going to lie, I'm still basking in the glow after having slept in one of the best hotel beds ever. The Chateau located at the foot of Blanchard a walk off Douglas is perfectly aligned to ALL sight seeing in Victoria especially perfect if you're doing it on foot. The Royal Museum, Beacon Hill Park, Harbour Front, the Empress, Legislative buildings to name a few of the not-to-miss Victoria hot spots are within steps of your front door. Clives an amazing lounge with its bible of cocktails is housed within the Chateau along with Vista 18 - offering sublime views of the city while serving up spectacular cuisine. The hotel itself has recently under gone some renovations, WOWZERS! We have stayed here both pre and post renovations = GREAT JOB! Perfect for your four legged friends too. Our only wince is the bathrooms are painfully small. Free shuttle as well with a super friendly driver!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your pet, request a room on the second floor which has easy access to a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemlockcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you hemlockcottage for your very kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites once again during your visit to Victoria. Thank you for noticing our renovations, we are almost complete our latest project of transforming our hallways. You have certainly pointed out some great amenities that we offer for being so close to downtown and the great view from Vista 18 – you can see the Royal Museum which is only two minutes away from the hotel.

We also do offer pet friendly rooms on the sixth floor as well that will give you and your four legged friend a bit more room in the living room and bathroom, however we understand that being on the second floor has easy access to the green spaces just across the street from the hotel. Please be assured your gracious comments have been shared with our entire team – everyone enjoys a great review! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Spacious, clean and comfortable. Our suite was called a "King French." King-sized bed; French doors separate the bedroom from the rest of the suite. Nice balcony.

Work space fit my needs well. WiFi was free, but pretty spotty - fine for browsing, but not reliable enough for a webcam meeting (wasn't a problem because I made a hotspot with my cell).
Staff was very nice and professional. Shuttle driver "Dean" was great.

Happy with our stay there. Plan to go back sometime in the next few months.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayeFaye123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you JayeFaye for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us and enjoyed your King suite with French Doors, it is a nice room to have privacy from the living room area. Thank you for your feedback in regards to our Wi-Fi services; we are constantly striving to enhance our service levels and by sharing your experience with us, you have contributed to our progress. Please be assured that we have shared your gracious comments with Dean; he was thrilled by your recognition! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Centrally located but far enough from Douglas to be quiet. Friendly, helpful staff. Full services including pool, hot tub and exercise area. A beautiful view from the restaurant. Didn't have a chance to go to Clives because it was so busy, but I look forward to that next time. A nice feature that you don't have to walk through the lobby to access the pool and exercise area. Recently renovated and well done. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review Kate and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us. Thank you for noticing our renovations, we are just completing our hallways - they are transforming into works of art. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great rooms, friendly, welcoming, great staff! From Marla and Kristyna at the front desk to the bar staff in Clives, it's wonderful to feel so welcome! They even remembered me when I went back a 2nd time. I've been back again since and I highly recommend the hotel. Great location, Lovely linens and nice rooms. It's just a great place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenofallthingsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you Queenofallgoodthings for your very kind review and staying with us once again during your visit to Victoria. We have taken the liberty of passing along your gracious mentions regarding Marla and Kristyna on the front desk. We do like to share with the entire team; everyone enjoys reading great comment cards! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very comfortable bed: I slept well. Quality linens: their towels are nice, soft and a good thickness. I like towels that are absorbent and not starchy.
The staff was very friendly, especially the full time housekeeper that was assigned to my room.
The furniture is a bit old. The mattress and TV are definitely much newer - which is more important.
The only thing that I disliked about the room was that I found it a bit warm. Even if I lowered the thermostat to 20 C, the room temperature was on average 22 C. Likely because my room was on the 8th floor and Victoria was going through an unusually cold spell.
When I reserved my room, it got upgraded at no extra charge because of the lack of availability of standard rooms. So I got a room that was a junior suite with a bedroom and a combination living room/kitchenette. I wished they had a clock in the living area. They only had an alarm clock next to the bed. Other thing to note is the hot tub is not as hot as I would have liked it.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmed005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you Charmed005 for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us and have shared your specific observations to the appropriate departments; also please be assured that we have shared your gracious comments to our entire employee team – everyone enjoys a great review! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria
Chateau Victoria Hotel And Suites Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing