We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lots to do and comfortable facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, lots to do and comfortable facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, close to the harbor and close to tons of restaurants.
The rooms were very comfortable and we were upgraded to a suite which was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. We had 2 teenages with us and we loved it.
The work out area is a bit sparse, but it will do for the very basics.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lathrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you Lathrops for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria.
We are pleased that you and your family had a positive experience during your stay with us. We are happy that our front desk was able to provide you with a complementary upgrade, sometimes it's nice to have a little more space when travelling with family.
Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    695
    160
    55
    32
See reviews for
628
728
100
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The airconditioning was a bit noisy but we were generally very pleased with the room. The hotel is in a great location just 5 mins walk from the centre of town. It owuld have been nice to have more availability of help with bags, but other than that very happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you CEL67 for choosing to stay with us at the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated.
The common goal of our employee team is to meet and ideally exceed our guests’ expectations. We are constantly striving to enhance our service levels and by sharing your experience with us, you have contributed to our progress.
Thank you again for your positive feedback and suggestions and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We bought a vacation package from BC ferries transporting from Seattle to Victoria. My mistake was in thinking that this hotel was a nice upgrade. It hasn't been refurbished since the 1950's except for the modern black tv stand, which looks out of place from the rest of the cinnamon colored wood. The beds creaked and sagged, although the pillows were comfortable. The clothes bar actually fell down on my head as I was trying to situate my luggage inside the closet. The 3 hangers that were provided broke on the floor. We were on the 9th floor, which had a walk out balcony that let in fresh sea breezes. That was a very welcome amenity. The hotel was reasonably clean and the van came in handy to get to the harbor when it was time to check out. The location is the big plus. You can anywhere downtown from this old hotel.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGianelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you TravelingGianelos for choosing to stay with us at the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated.
We do make every effort to meet and ideally exceed our guests’ expectations, and were disappointed to learn you were unhappy with your suite. We would like to assure you that our property upgrades are ongoing, and all of our facilities will continue to receive the attention and updates they require!
We are happy to report our lobby has been recently renovated last year and our hallways in the last six months have a brighter look, we now are moving into our suites starting in the fall. We hope that you will be able to return to see the new look.
We are delighted that the rest of your visit was positive and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel was located in the perfect spot. You can walk to all the shopping, eating and waterfront. The only issue was the air conditioner in the bedroom. It was a single standing floor unit that was noisy. The parking was excellent. The staff was awesome. The room was clean but a little dated, but has everything that you would need to get off the road for a night. Swim, eat, walk and visit all the local attractions. Enjoy

Room Tip: As always the rooms overlooking the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you Janie M for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suties during your visit to Victoria! We are pleased that you had a positive experience during your stay with us. We have taken the liberty of sharing your experiences with our entire employee team ~ everyone enjoys reading a great review! Thank you again for favourable notes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Chateau Victoria for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable with the exception of the portable air conditioner, which was loud while it was running and turning on and off. Modern decor makes this hotel have a upscale feeling, without the upscale price. Front desk staff were always pleasant and eager to help us find near by attractions. The hotel is a short walk to pretty much all of the main downtown attractions in Victoria. The hotel shuttle bus was a great perk! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyS159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you AllyS159 for choosing to stay with us at the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated.
We were very pleased to read that you had a positive experience during your stay with us. We have taken the liberty of sharing your review with our entire employee team ~ everyone enjoys reading a great review!
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

First stop on our trans Canada holiday and a massive suite in the Chateau Victoria adjacent to the harbour and City Centre. Had two dinners in the roof top restaurant overlooking the harbour, one of which was an enjoyable selection of tapas. The room was extremely well appointed with a huge super king size double. The city bus trip and ferry hopper was a great way of exploring the City.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3HamiltonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you 3HamiltonC for your kind review and for choosing the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites during your visit to Victoria!
We are so pleased you had such a positive experience on your first stop during your Canadian Holiday.
You have certainly pointed out the key features of our location, customer service and amenities, thank you! Please be assured that your gracious comments have been shared with our entire employee team – everyone enjoys a great review! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope the rest of your Canadian Holiday was a success ~ we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were only there for one night at the start of a road trip through British Columbia. We were given a suite although the booking was for a standard double. The suite was spacious and well equipped with all that one could need. The breakfast was reasonably cheap by Canadian prices and there was a good variety on the menu. It would be excellent for a longer stay. As it came as part of a ;package it is hard to comment of value for money, but I would say that it gave the impression of being good value. Staff were welcoming and helpful. There is ample free parking on site.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you JonnyG47 for choosing to stay with us at the Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites and for taking the time to provide us with the comments from your stay. The responses we receive from our guests are extremely valuable and sincerely appreciated.
We are delighted that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us - we hope that you are able to return for a longer stay to tour our beautiful city a little more - there is so much to do! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria
Chateau Victoria Hotel And Suites Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing