We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms & location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great rooms & location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights over New Year's. We were very pleased with the rooms and the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room & bathroom were both very spacious and clean. The decor in the rooms was a bit boring.

My only complaint about this hotel is surrounding the parking and pet fees. Upon checkout, I was given a bill for $143 to cover pet and parking for 4 nights.

The parking fee was $12/day. While this may not sound like much, it becomes immediately evident that there is street parking everywhere surrounding the hotel, and on weekends, it is free. Unfortunately, we arrived late Friday evening & did not discover until the next morning that the virtually unlimited street parking was in fact free. I would recommend for the sake of fairness at minimum a reduced parking rate on weekends.

I also found the $20/day pet fee to be excessive. Most midrange hotels that I have stayed at or looked at charge a flat pet rate of $50 or so (some even $25). This makes far more sense than charging a daily fee. The hotel only cleans the room once after the pet leaves, regardless of how many nights the pet stays, so I fail to see the need for a "per day" pet charge. If the hotel for some reason disagrees and feels that a "per day" pet charge is necessary, at least providing a maximum pet charge would seem more logical and fair.

We were quite pleased with the rooms and would certainly stay here again if traveling without a car or a pet. However, if returning to Victoria again with our dog and auto, we will most likely look for another hotel in which we will not have to pay $143 in pet and parking fees upon checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    455
    102
    45
    14
See reviews for
336
610
61
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Great value for money with very helpful,friendly staff. There is a shuttle available to take you to town if you dont want to make the ten minute walk. The view from the room was fantastic and there was a real balcony to step out onto to see the water. There is also a beautiful view from the restaraunt and bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just spent 12 knights at this hotel whilst visiting family over Christmas.
The hotel reception hotel reception staff could not have been more helpful.
There was a small problem with our allocated room upon arrival - this was very quickly dealt with by a very helpful member of staff called Vladimir and rectified by a complimentary upgrade.
The room was very large with excellent furnishings and a very comfortable bed.
Will definitely use this hotel again when in Victoria.

Room Tip: If possible request a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

My partner and I like to travel with our dog, who loves road trips, and it can be difficult to find a nice place to stay that welcomes dogs. This place was great. We had a nice, comfortable, quiet room, and our dog was welcome. The view of the harbor is great, and there are nice walkways along the water. There is an indoor / outdoor pool, which is nice to use in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Great to stay here when in Victoria ANY time of year.
Inner harbour rooms are our favourite. Dogs are allowed, kids love the pool, we love the martinis!
Great food both in restaurant and rooms service. The bathrooms are the only thing I could complain about. Tiny tubs, cracks here and there, and no fan.

Room Tip: Take the harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NettledaleFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and just loved it. Great staff, AWESOME restaurant, comfortable beds, well appointed rooms (and bathrooms) and an awesome view of the outer harbour. The complimentary shuttle to anywhere in downtown came in very handy in inclement weather, but most everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to the Harbour View room, it's worth the added money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stay here twice a year when we vacation in Victoria and always get the king bed with a harbor view. It's fun to watch the ferries and seaplanes, and we always enjoy a lovely, leisurely walk to town along the harbor. The room design makes it a very comfortable space to live in, but I noticed during our last visit that the furniture is showing a bit of wear and the toilet ran. The staff is very friendly, and I especially appreciate Judy, the head housekeeper, who retrieved items that I left in the room and sent them to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancySueFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A captivating location, a 42 slip marina, the award-winning Blue Crab Seafood House, and Victoria's only indoor/outdoor swimming pool make the Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel one of Victoria's most popular. Guests return time and time again for the quiet ambiance, unique waterfront setting, friendly hotel service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina By APA Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing