We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ended up here from Hotwire.com and we were very pleased. Staff were excellent, friendly, helpful with one exception and he just seemed to be having a rough night with the restaurant so perhaps I should not dock the hotel...but they are connected. Room was very clean and fairly spacious. Pool was very unique, clean, but super slippery tiles all around! Didn't try the fitness room as we were getting plenty of walking around town all day and night (which we enjoyed) however it looked good as we sat in the hot tub. We used the hotel shuttle once when half of our party didn't want to walk in the rain anymore and it was quick and friendly. Location worked for us as we just wanted to walk around and not be quite in the downtown core, so it was quite and yet close enough to walk to everything we wanted. The pedestrian trail on the harbor side is very nice to meander back into town and stay off the side streets (which are not bad anyway)
We hope to make it back and would certainly recommend this place to others. We had a 9th floor room (not the 08) and still found the views nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Peter C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Sweet little place on the water after a crazy cold week in Chicago ... trick is to get an "08" room (208, 308, ...) with a nice view on both the bay and the harbor. Comfy king size bed facing the water from my perfect 708 room. Not often in Victoria (where no Hilton is to be found) but that small hotel is the full package. While the bar closes early, the service was super friendly. Will be back for sure ... oh before I forget ... clams and crab cakes absolutely delicious. Thanks!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank alangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear alangourmet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Although all of our harbour view rooms have a direct view of the harbour, as you noticed the "08" queen corner rooms provide a two direction view. We are always happy to note your room preference; although we are not able to guarantee room numbers, our team always does our best to accommodate preferences.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service on your next visit.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel and one of the best experiences of this trip to Victoria. We checked in and were given a room on the sixth floor, but due to some water on the floor right beside the door, we were upgraded to a room on the ninth floor
The view of the water is fantastic, even in rain and fog. The room is extremely comfortable, and the curtains make it dark and easy to sleep. Private, secured parking is available at a cost of $15 per night. We extended a one-night stay to two - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Everything was done with a smile and you were made to feel special and important. The night we arrived there was a female concierge on duty who was so very friendly and her manner made us feel as if we were expected guests they were happy to see.
There are some really great restaurants around the hotel so do your homework if you do not want to eat in-house every night or every meal. You will not be disappointed in your stay, and I know we are looking forward to a return trip in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for water view, and try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Iris K,

Thank you for choosing the Coast Victoria Harbourside for your recent visit to Victoria. It's never any fun when you encounter a service industry employee "just going through the motions"; our entire team has a noticeable measure of pride in what they do and I'm happy to see that you saw this reflected during your stay.

I am sorry to hear that you were initially assigned to a room that was not up to standards but was delighted to see that we were able to provide an upgrade.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've been here before (the first time on business, as the hotel hosted a weekend workshop I attended). Then last summer. And most recently, the weekend of February 22, 23.

What a lovely view. What a comfortable spacious room! Handy parking in the parkade that made retreiving things from the car easy. We had learned earlier that the Blue Crab Grill and associated bar (where one can order off the dinner menue without the fuss of the dining room) was a wonderful place to eat and drink. I had a perfect martini (OK several of them), my husband drank a micro-brewery beer, he ate the clam chowder two days in a row (he REALLY liked it) and I went for the Bunless Burger (which was a lovely piece of meat served with salad and trimmings) and the next night - fried halibut and salad. And yes it was fresh flaky yummy halibut. I used to be a commerical fisher person and I know the difference. And it had been battered and fried fresh - not shaken out of the freezer box. A truly lovely meal, capped off with a served Creme Brulee.

The room was comfortable, the bed was amazing comfortable. All good. Real good!

Room Tip: Room with a view of the harbour is desirable. But maybe they all have this (not sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
2  Thank Easygoing-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Easygoing-11,

Thank you for taking the time, as a TripAdvisor Top Contributor, to share your recent experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside & Blue Crab Seafood House. Always a pleasure to welcome returning guests back.

Our chefs take pride in their position as having the best seafood kitchen in Victoria. Daily visits from local fishmongers ensure fresh seafood of top quality is constantly available. Our ever-changing "Catch of the Day" is a reflection of this program. Our seafood menus change throughout the year to ensure that local seasonal seafood is always available.

Happy to see that you enjoyed your room - not all are Harbour View, although these can be selected at time of booking.

We look forward to having the opportunity to once again welcome you back.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Have stayed here over 12 times because of the wonderful water view and the staff.
Unfortunately this also means we are getting older. Toilet in bathroom is lower than average so if you have knee, hip or mobility issues bring your own seat booster.
We had to eat dinner and breakfast (not included) at the hotel. If you don't like seafood or fish, nor are in the mood for a burger or steak sandwich, you will have a problem. Same issue for vegetarians - in restaurant or bar areas and room service menu.
Room service prompt but continental is unappetizing.
Wonderful walking path goes into inner harbour and everything a visitor might want. Also a mini ferry stop from March to October.
In the summer we go over to adorable Fisherman's Wharf for meals and fun - just a block away....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
4  Thank elginwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear elginwood,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. It has been a pleasure to welcome you back time and time again. Constructive comments are a critical component in our pursuit of hospitality excellence, and we truly appreciate your feedback. The property has acquired a seat booster which will be available for you (and other guests) on your next visit.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you want to be off the beaten path just a little with an awesome view, terrific staff, spacious rooms, terrific view and a great walking distance in a quiet neighbourhood...choose the Coast in Victoria. The hotel is really quite pleasant with an oustanding view from bar and restaurant and very hospitable staff to help with your every need. Nothing seems too far away in Victoria and there are wonderful walking routes from this location to the legislature and downtown.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room over looking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
1  Thank LoveLakeoftheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear LoveLakeoftheWoods,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. We are always happy to see such positive feedback from top TripAdvisor contributors such as yourself. We are very fortunate to have our waterfront location that is, as you've described, "off the beaten path just a little". Our location allows us to remain close to all Victoria amenities yet removed from the hustle and bustle of the city. In short, a great place to relax, and our complimentary on demand shuttle is available on those rainy Victoria days when the walking routes might not be quite as pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Victoria and having the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel staff was exceptional. Very friendly and willing to go the extra mile without being asked. The hotel and amenities were excellent. Clean and up to date. The restaurant at the hotel was absolutely fabulous. Great service and the food was great. Especially the seafood and dish presentation.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisure73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Leisure73,

Thank you very much for your recent stay, and for taking the time to share your comments. Happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, both in the hotel and the Blue Crab Seafood House. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £79 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina By APA Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing