We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel staff is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel was nice, friendly staff. Given some inaccurate information re: water taxi service, the rooms were small and and cramped for a big price. No regular packets of coffee in the room, all decaf..I wondered if the Canadians were concerned about my intake of caffeine and that's why the decaf packets were all that was available. That drove us to the restaurant, which although pricey, had a good meal available and the coffee there was regular and good. I hate to criticize anything, but I think for the price paid for the room, parking should have been at no charge. The pool was nice, internet at no extra cost. Unfortunately, it was a pretty good hike around the harbor to get to the main part of Victoria and it would've been helpful to have more info on the water taxi service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Dear Kathleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience this summer at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. I would like to apologize that your coffee selection was unavailable. Our new single serve Starbucks coffee program has proven to be more popular than anticipated. During the time of your stay we were awaiting a new shipment of regular coffee. We have taken steps internally to ensure that we will be able to keep up with demand.

I was happy to note that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, as well as our newly upgraded wireless internet access and pool area.

We look forward to having the opportunity to be of service on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Coast while we visited Victoria in March. I searched through dozens of properties that were central or had a water front view. Eventually I found a groupon for the Coast and decided to book here.

Wow! It was an amazing surprise. From the moment we stepped into the hotel everyone from the concierge to the front desk to our housekeeping attendant were superb and provided the best in service. I was shocked that even with a groupon and our dog, we got a corner room on the 9th floor! The room was very spacious, clean, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Our puppy Fletcher was only about 5 months then and we greatly appreciated how kind and patient the staff were to him.

I should add that the location is tucked in a beautiful neighbourhood super close to the Empress Hotel. The short walk is part of the terrific Victoria experience.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Matt B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside, particularly since it has been several months since your stay. What a great memory! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel! Check in was a breeze. The service was really pleasant. The room is clean, comfortable and they have a number of nice features (Starbucks coffee in the room, comfy robes, Juliet balcony ). The rooms are small but very functional and also very comfortable. I liked the area because it is a bit away from the Summer craziness of DT Victoria but still within walking distance. They have a free shuttle into Downtown if you don't want to walk. The walk is beautiful, though. They are also close to the wharf, which is fun and has lots of great dining options. I am a little on the fence about Blue Crab. The food ( which you can order on room service) is very good and the service is fast and friendly. However, I found the staff in the restaurant rude. Particularly the host. There are a lot of amazing dining options around, so I would recommend them for brunch in the room. I found the prices really reasonable.the pool is great! Indoor/outdoor with a hot tub. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmary1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear jmary1973,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Our team was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, however I was disappointed to note that you didn't find the service in the Blue Crab to be of a high standard. I would like to apologize on behalf of the Blue Crab team. Guest feedback is a critical component of our ongoing development. Please be assured that I have reviewed your feedback with our restaurant team. This is not a comment that I often receive and serves as a reminder of how we must all be cognisant of the manner in which we present ourselves to our guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity to be of service on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent hotel accommodations and superb hotel staff. Reception staff are friendly and can't help enough. Room staff is great and helpful. Being pet friendly was the reason we originally chose this location, so we were even more enthused after seeing how staff treated pets. We plan to stay again and again and will recommend this hotel to all friends and people that plan to travel to Victoria.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay side are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear j h,

Thank you very much for selecting the Coast Harbourside for your recent visit to Victoria. We are pleased to be a pet friendly property, with nearly all of our room types able to accommodate pets. Of course, we do reserve some of our rooms for guests with allergies, so we always recommend that guests advise us ahead of time if they will be bringing their four-legged friends with them!

We look forward to welcoming you and your pet on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff and facilities were great. The room was large and comfortable. Check in and out was a very easy. Apples at the front desk. Move our bags from storage to the room while we were out visiting the sites. The pool and hot tub were excellent. Shot walk to the BC legislature and down town area. Either on the streets or the harbour path. Close to everything once you get your bearings.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the "less expensive" (south or south west corner). Could just barely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nh_roots_and_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear nh_roots_and_wings,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. I was happy to note that you enjoyed your stay, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is immaculate and right on the waterfront, our room was very spacious and comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff who are always willing to help, whether it's showing us on a map where a certain tourist site is or just being pleasant first thing in the morning, they were all very polite and courteous. A special thank you to Joshua at the front desk for trying to help us when my husband put his back out, saying he could send someone to the pharmacy for medication to getting my husband to a clinic, all your effort was greatly appreciated. The only drawback for myself was the restaurant, although very good food, not a lot of variety and the hotel, I think would do very well with a small cafe along with the restaurant that would offer a more everyday menu with snacks and sandwiches for late night. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel and look forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view, the views are so beautiful well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ravenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear ravenda,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of the Coast Victoria Harbourside. We hope your husband is feeling better! As a newer addition to the team, Joshua will be delighted to read your comments. We are currently in the planning stages of a casual outdoor patio offering on the ocean level of the building set to open next summer. We hope this addition to our offering will provide a suitable alternative to our full dinner menu and lighter Blue Crab lounge offering. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here as part of the Victoria Clipper package and loved it, we were harborside, where we got to see everything going on in the harbor, planes taking off, ferries coming and going, water taxis, and even a sea otter. There is a great walk from the ferry to the hotel and a dock where you can watch the boats and eat at the holes in the wall on the dock and go on the whale tours from here. John the bellman/conceriege was very helpful and showed us to Cora's for breakfast, which was also very good. Also a enviro friendly room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear C M,

Thank you very much for selecting the Coast Harbourside for your accommodation in Victoria. We certainly appreciate reading positive feedback from Senior TripAdvisor Contributors. John will be delighted to read of your acknowledgment. We look forward to having the opportunity to be of service should your travel plans allow a return to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £72 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina By APA Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing