We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There are a lot of hotels in Victoria to choose from, so this may or may not be a good choice for you.

Location is on the harbor but about a ten minute walk to the "inner harbor" where all the activity is and maybe another ten minutes to restaurants and shops. They do offer a shuttle service at the concierge desk which came in handy when we did not have time to walk.
Hotel is a five minutes walk from the Victoria Clipper, which is the basic reason we chose it.

Location is on the water, but our room did not have much of a view. Rooms are generous sized. Lived in but not worn. Bathroom floor was not spotless when we checked in.

Hotel is in good condition, but not a charmer.

Free wi fi in rooms, could not find a coffee in the morning. We did not eat at the hotel, so no comment there.

Concierge doubles as the shuttle driver and was very helpful.

This was fine for the two nights we were there, but would not make a special effort to go back again with all of the other choices to try.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Kal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Ed_Kal99,

Thank you very much for your well thought out comments regarding the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Our waterfront location and harbour view Blue Crab Seafood House are among the top reasons cited amongst our guests in terms of selection criteria. Our year round indoor/outdoor pool is also unique in Victoria. Frequently, guests tell us that they like being within walking distance of downtown yet prefer being in a quiet residential location. I was sorry to hear that your bathroom floor was not cleaned satisfactorily upon arrival, and have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper regarding this issue. This is uncharacteristic of our housekeeping team, and we would like to extend our apologies for the state of the floor cleanliness upon your arrival.

We look forward to your consideration on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    472
    108
    46
    14
See reviews for
361
655
63
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were very disappointed about the customer service. AS I was checking in I was struggling with 2 suitcases while mu husband parked the car, no one helped me and no one offered to carry my bags to the room. The friendliest people were the ladies cleaning our room. The room was very roomy and the bed was wonderful. we were disappointed in the "deck", it was only wide enough to stand, not enough room for chairs to sit in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a deck large enough for two people to sit and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Constructive criticism is a critical component in our effort to offer the best guest experience among our competitors peers, and it appears that we missed the mark during your arrival. Please accept our apologies that neither our bell or front desk team members offered assistance with your luggage upon arrival. In an effort to ensure this situation does not reoccur, we have reviewed your comments in a recent team meeting.

We look forward to being of service on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

As with all of the Coast hotels I have stayed in, this was excellent. The room was clean and inviting, the staff was helpful and kind and the amenities were what I had expected.There was a bit more noise from the halls I could hear than I had hoped for, but it did not disrupt my experience or my sleep. I appreciated the underground parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Barbara R,

Coast Hotels endeavours to provide a "refreshingly local" experience at all of our properties. Rather than taking a cookie cutter approach to operating our hotels, we ensure that each of our properties has a distinctly local feel. Sounds like we met the mark on your recent stay. Thank you very much for the kind feedback, and we look forward to having the opportunity to be of service on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have been here many times great view nice room s and the restaurant has very good food in walking distance of many attractions and if you have a boat there is a dock also not to many hotels have this amenity and they are dog friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retepremhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear retepremhel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. It is always a pleasure to read such great feedback from our repeat guests, particularly those who are Top TripAdvisor Contributors.

We look forward to having to opportunity to once again be of service on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel was nice, friendly staff. Given some inaccurate information re: water taxi service, the rooms were small and and cramped for a big price. No regular packets of coffee in the room, all decaf..I wondered if the Canadians were concerned about my intake of caffeine and that's why the decaf packets were all that was available. That drove us to the restaurant, which although pricey, had a good meal available and the coffee there was regular and good. I hate to criticize anything, but I think for the price paid for the room, parking should have been at no charge. The pool was nice, internet at no extra cost. Unfortunately, it was a pretty good hike around the harbor to get to the main part of Victoria and it would've been helpful to have more info on the water taxi service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Kathleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience this summer at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. I would like to apologize that your coffee selection was unavailable. Our new single serve Starbucks coffee program has proven to be more popular than anticipated. During the time of your stay we were awaiting a new shipment of regular coffee. We have taken steps internally to ensure that we will be able to keep up with demand.

I was happy to note that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, as well as our newly upgraded wireless internet access and pool area.

We look forward to having the opportunity to be of service on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Coast while we visited Victoria in March. I searched through dozens of properties that were central or had a water front view. Eventually I found a groupon for the Coast and decided to book here.

Wow! It was an amazing surprise. From the moment we stepped into the hotel everyone from the concierge to the front desk to our housekeeping attendant were superb and provided the best in service. I was shocked that even with a groupon and our dog, we got a corner room on the 9th floor! The room was very spacious, clean, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Our puppy Fletcher was only about 5 months then and we greatly appreciated how kind and patient the staff were to him.

I should add that the location is tucked in a beautiful neighbourhood super close to the Empress Hotel. The short walk is part of the terrific Victoria experience.

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Matt B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside, particularly since it has been several months since your stay. What a great memory! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel! Check in was a breeze. The service was really pleasant. The room is clean, comfortable and they have a number of nice features (Starbucks coffee in the room, comfy robes, Juliet balcony ). The rooms are small but very functional and also very comfortable. I liked the area because it is a bit away from the Summer craziness of DT Victoria but still within walking distance. They have a free shuttle into Downtown if you don't want to walk. The walk is beautiful, though. They are also close to the wharf, which is fun and has lots of great dining options. I am a little on the fence about Blue Crab. The food ( which you can order on room service) is very good and the service is fast and friendly. However, I found the staff in the restaurant rude. Particularly the host. There are a lot of amazing dining options around, so I would recommend them for brunch in the room. I found the prices really reasonable.the pool is great! Indoor/outdoor with a hot tub. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmary1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastHarbourside, Front Office Manager at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear jmary1973,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Coast Victoria Harbourside. Our team was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, however I was disappointed to note that you didn't find the service in the Blue Crab to be of a high standard. I would like to apologize on behalf of the Blue Crab team. Guest feedback is a critical component of our ongoing development. Please be assured that I have reviewed your feedback with our restaurant team. This is not a comment that I often receive and serves as a reminder of how we must all be cognisant of the manner in which we present ourselves to our guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity to be of service on a future visit to Victoria.

Regards,

Cedric Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Property: Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina By APA Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing