We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying at the Dashwood Manor beside the ocean was the perfect holiday for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Having seen this pleasant seaside inn from the outside the year before, I vowed I would stay at the Dashwood Manor when I next had the chance to visit Victoria. I am so glad I booked the start of my holiday with them, as it fulfilled my requirements for peace & relaxation, accessible nearby ocean beach area, and walking distance to everything I needed. That it was right across from lovely Beacon Hill Park was a bonus, as were the exquisite breakfasts served with fresh local produce and friendly, helpful hosts. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: a variety of rooms available from honeymoon suites to basic, comfortable & practical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbutuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

The host, Dave & Sharon are a great ambassadors’ for Victoria. Truly knowledgeable and did provide a first class service. All recommendations they offered was exactly what we were seeking. The B&B is centrally located, yet quiet and peaceful location. The view is great. The interior is clean, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the heritage room, very spacious, large bedroom and bathroom, very private, evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Dashwood is about 25 minute walk from downtown, facing the sea which is very nice. The owners will promptly make taxi and restaurant reservations. However, the guests lounge is locked in the early morning hours (apparently the owner's bedroom is under the lounge) so we were advised, since we were early risers, that we should walk 5 blocks up the street for a cup of tea or coffee. Even on the day of departure, when we had to get at 5AM cab, and requested coffee and tea service, they wheeled a table with coffee, no milk, no tea, no chairs, out into the lobby, so we wouldn't disturb their sleep. We will certainly never return to this inhospitable place. In all our years of preferring B&B's to hotels, this was our most unsatisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageBB, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

With some guests, innkeepers can tell right away that they will be difficult, demanding and very different from the respectful, considerate guests who typically come into our home to experience a bed and breakfast stay. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, and the numerous comments from other reviewers demonstrate that we do provide friendly, competent and overall excellent service. Even this guest alluded to our helpfulness when she mentioned our support in arranging details of her day.

Her comments about our home and her excellent rating for our bed and breakfast for cleanliness are appreciated and, we believe, these better represent the quality of her stay with us. Reading her comments, we are struck by how she had only one complaint and that was we did not want her disturbing everyone by having coffee ready for her before 5am. There were many reasons for that, and some had to do with this particular guest and her lack of consideration for our housekeeping staff, for the other guests and for ourselves. Throughout her stay, she and her husband were loud, untidy and insensitive to the quiet, pleasantly relaxing atmosphere in the house. Our housekeeper spent We frequently make exceptions to our routines to make sure our guests’ needs are provided for, but, in this case, we judged that to be inappropriate for the sake of the rest of the house. To be fair, fresh coffee is set out in the guest lounge by 7 to 7:30am each morning. There are 5 coffee houses a short walk from here in the Cook Street Village, and guests who do want freshly brewed coffee before that time can get freshly brewed coffee by 6am. Having coffee out by 4:30am so the guest could get a 5am taxi has never been requested before, and I would expect that most travelers would wait the few minutes to get their coffee at the airport rather than expect extraordinary measures from their bed and breakfast hosts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Spectacular views, impeccable hospitality, fabulous rooms, beautiful setting and close to all you would want to do in Victoria.

Absolutely loved this place. Will return again. Highly recommend it.

Cheers
Zeena and Terry

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmajumder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had a great time.
We enjoyed sharing our travels experiences with our breakfast companions.
Dave was a great host.
We will tell our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppuck17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was in Victoria on a cycling trip and stayed at the B&B. I was really impressed with the location and the facility was top notch. THis is an amazing place and I need to bring my family back here to stay for a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan181786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed in May 2011 in this B&B for a few days and I would certainly like to come back. The house is old, full of antique elements, and very comfortable. I enjoyed the views, overlooking the bay towards the Olympic mountains. Dave, the owner is very helpful and ready to assist with information about Victoria and surroundings. Special notice should be taken of the three course haute cuisine breakfast with the main course varying from fresh made cheese soufle, omelet with mushrooms and fresh garden herbs, to great toast with maple syrup, red fruits and the like: great and warming start of the day! Thanks for the stay and Next time I'll be staying at the Dashwood Manor for sure

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#3 of 92 in Victoria
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £95 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing