We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view, great breakfast, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #5 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“amazing view, great breakfast, good price”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We only stayed here one night but it was a fantastic stay. Normally I don't like bed and breakfast places due to the style that many of them utilize; but the Dashwood's new management is trying for a simple and modern look and it really impressed! In addition, the breakfast is very good and the view of the beach can't be beat. We were able to see something like kite-gliders that were caught in a wind pattern that allowed them to stay relatively stable in the sky- amazing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review & for sharing the pictures of your visit.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    52
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
298
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This B&B has it all--fantastic service, beautiful, comfortable, and very clean room, and awesome location (it's really right across the road from the beach). I had one of the smaller rooms--the Fairfield--but it was still quite big and I had an excellent water view. (In real life it's even better than the pics). I walked both to the restaurants just up the street in Cook Street Village and to downtown each day through Beacon Hill Park. The breakfasts are delicious and you get to pick from quite a few choices. I had something different each of the three mornings I was there and everything was really good. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLB098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review & suggestion about the on-line pictures of the Fairfield Room. We will take some new pictures. :)

We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you want to be away from the hub-bub of the Inner Harbour hotels yet close enough to be able to walk to the inner harbour comfortably, then this B&B is perfect!! Hosts David and Michael welcomed us and provided us with a wonderful 4 day stay- tasty made to order full breakfasts was a great start to our days, walking paths along the beach and Beacon Hill Park right across the street plus an easy walk to Cook Village restaraunts and coffee shops was a treat. The inn is clean,quiet and linens were top notch! We will be back and highly recommend this beautiful inn if you appreciate the finer things in life!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnangel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed here with my hubby for a couple of nights this summer after a recommendation from someone who lived in Victoria. We weren't disappointed! The best thing about it is the location - on one side of the street is the beach where you can walk in either direction for miles and miles and on the other side is a Beacon Hill park. Not far from downtown, about a 5 min drive. You can probably walk to downtown in 15-20 min. The owners who recently acquired the place, David and Michael, are super nice and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, especially the bacon (and I usually skip on the bacon, but this was too yummy too pass)! The room was spacious and clean and even had a refrigerator, which we liked. The only quirk we had was the shower in our particular room - the water would go from really hot to really cold out of the blue, but I have informed the hosts of this problem and they said it should be fixed soon. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your review & bringing to our attention the water issue. We have installed a temperature regulator in the shower in your room.

We're happy you enjoyed our tasty bacon. :)

All the best!

Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent four nights in July at Dashwood Manor, in the Cambridge room. The location could not be better - waterfront view, and right next to Beacon Hill Park, a great place to relax. There are restaurants and shopping within walking distance, and we walked to rent a car our second day. The hospitality of the hosts was exemplary - helpful, friendly, great attitude, good advice. Breakfasts were super - always a selection, and the dining room layout facilitated both sharing and privacy. The room was well furnished and clean, with very comfortable bedding. We've stayed in many B&B's,and not one was better than Dashwood Manor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyraNBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay & visit to Victoria.

We hope to see you on your next trip.
All the best!
Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent two nights at the Dashwood and give it very high marks. It's under new ownership -- less than three months, but clearly not much has changed, which is a good thing. The building itself is a beauty, built as I recall in 1912, and the location next to Beacon Hill Park is superb.

I suppose being out of the downtown tourist area is not for everyone; it's about a twenty minute walk through one of the most beautiful parks in N. America to downtown; or you could just walk across the street be on the Strait of San Juan de Fuca with miles of walking/ running paths to stride along. For us the park alone made our stay in Victoria a delight.

My chief complaint? Those little half and half containers for coffee instead of real milk. But, hey the owners are still working the kinks out.

We stayed on the third floor; had a balcony with two chairs that looked out onto the Strait. The bathroom was a converted attic - it was a little odd, but spacious. In general, if you like B and B's then this place is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property & your suggestion about the milk & cream containers. As per your suggestion, you'll be pleased to know we no longer use the little plastic containers. We now offer 2% milk, half & half cream, & almond milk. :)

We look forward to your next visit.

Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at Dashwood for 4 days and 3 nights. It was wonderful! Our room - the Chelsea Room - was beautiful. The views from this corner room are truely amazing.

Our hosts were so gracious and the food - well, the food was great! Don't pass on the bacon or you'll regret it.

I am not sure if you'll get back this way or not, but if we do, there is no doubt that we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Grab the Chelsea Room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSJ960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We hope you will come see us again.

Sincerely,

Michael & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,059 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,741 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. Attentive, knowledgeable innkeepers with an easy-going, friendly manner. Inspected and approved by six organizations including Victoria's Historic Inns, BC Innkeepers Guild, Tourism Victoria, Victoria's Finest B&Bs and Tourism BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing