We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is waterfront awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is waterfront awesome.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We did a quick trip from Vancouver. Never stayed in a B&B before. This place totally exceeded all of our expectations. The location was amazing the rooms were beautiful with super fresh white linens, all the privacy you could want and the bacon that came with breakfast was the best I've ever had. Thanks so much for a great trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianrporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    52
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
290
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Recently home from a long weekend at the Dashwood where we felt incredibly welcome and cared for by our hosts David and Michael. The location is not to be beat. We woke each morning and before breakfast, merely crossed the street to enjoy a run, walk, bird watching along the park and shore. In the evenings, we left our car parked at the Dashwood and walked downtown. A pleasant 20 min walk or so. David could not have been more helpful in researching the nightly entertainment options, making calls and reservations for us. Breakfast was top notch not only in taste, but in presentation. I think Michael wakes before 6 am to carve the grapes into sculptural forms! We were so filled by our healthy breakfast each morning, that we didn't eat lunch. We hope to be back soon. Thank you, David and Michael.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgluroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our 3 night stay in the Cambridge Room. David and Michael were great hosts. The breakfast was exceptional in taste, presentation and variety of menu choices. Fantastic location across from the ocean and Beacon Hill Park. Cook Street Village is a few minute walk provides good restaurants and a 'local', The Beagle. Strongly recommend this B&B and we will book again.

Room Tip: The Cambridge Room (on Dallas Rd side) is very quiet with excellent views. Room has a lovely sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1VickieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent a night in Dashwood Manor during our Honeymoon trip around Western Canada. The location of this B&B is just perfect. Having spent a few nights in Vancouver, we were looking to do something different when we got to Victoria. This place fit the bill; it's on the outskirts of the city so we had the best of both worlds - park & seafront, and within a couple of minutes drive of the city. The B&B is located right on the coast road, with amazing views at night over to the lights of Port Angeles in Washington. It's beside Beacon Hill Park (home to Canada's largest totem pole!) The house itself is like stepping back in time in all the right ways. There were so many authentic features. When we were taken to our room, there were old big band tunes playing quietly in the background. Our room overlooked the seafront, and we just sat down, listened to the music and took it all in for a few minutes. David was lovely and could not do enough for us. Alex was also very helpful the next day, printing directions to Ucluelet for us (thank you!). For breakfast, we both ordered the omelette and it was perfect, not at all oily or greasy. There were a few really nice places to eat just down the road so there was no need to drive anywhere at night. If I ever come back to Victoria, I'm staying here. We could really see why this place is number 1 on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlepits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Dashwood Manor for 2 nights in early September. We have nothing but superlatives to offer about the experience, the hospitality, the accomodations, and the breakfasts! We've stayed at B&Bs in the US, Canada and Great Britain, and this was truly the best B&B experience we have ever had. Because we booked only a few weeks before, the only rooms available were the "smaller" rooms, the Tudor. The room was actually quite large, with a sitting area, a kitchenette, a full bath and a very comfy queen bed. Across the road, there is a walking path and a path down to the sea. Cook Street Village and Beacon Hill Park are just a short distance away, and Victoria Harbour is only about 25 minutes walking distance. We hope to return to Victoria again, and would not consider staying anywhere but Dashwood Manor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripping_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirabel-aux-Baronnies, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Due to a cancellation, we were very lucky to stay one night (09/14) at the beautiful Dashwood Manor (thank you Ian for the recommendation!). David was very charming, helpful and took good care of us, a perfect host. Our room was very neat and spacious with a great ocean view we believe, just the weather... (right David? ;-) Coming back from dinner, there were freshly baked goodies on the counter - just great! Thank you David, we can only recommend the Dashwood Manor!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy and Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

4 of us took the trip to Victoria for the Celtic Thunder concert.We had the good fortune to stay at the Dashwood. From the well appointed, comfortable rooms (with mountains of pillows) to the artistically presented delicious breakfast overlooking the water, our stay was outstanding. Our hosts were friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere was enchanting, almost like stepping into another time. We will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: not a bad one in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. Attentive, knowledgeable innkeepers with an easy-going, friendly manner. Inspected and approved by six organizations including Victoria's Historic Inns, BC Innkeepers Guild, Tourism Victoria, Victoria's Finest B&Bs and Tourism BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing