We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent service”
Reviewed 21 March 2009

My wife and I picked Dashwood for a quiet and relaxing spring break and we were not disappointed. The B&B is located immediately next to Beacon Hill Park, along with the walking path along the ocean that eventually leads into the heart of the city. It is about a 20 minute walk into the city, either through or around the park. There is also a small "village" just 5 minutes' walk down the street with some restaurants (including a great authentic Italian pizzeria), a grocery store and a drug store. The location of the house is also great for very quiet nights...no traffic noise at all. We loved the location.

Most of the rooms have views of the ocean, as did ours, so its possible to read in front of the windows and watch ships go by, or watch the many joggers going by. The B&B is itself an almost 100-year old house--very charming and lots of character. Our room was large with a soaker tub in the corner, although the bathroom is a little tight...can really only have one person in there at a time, comfortably, but that's to be expected in an old house like this. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean.

The breakfasts were also something to look forward to. The breakfast room looks out to the water through a large window, the food was great, and the mood was enhanced with the music played in there each morning (some Dianna Krall, Michael Buble, and others).

The hosts are also very helpful and responsive to any requests.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    52
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
293
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Dashwood Manor does what a good B & B should do--it gives you a snapshot of the community. The view was breathtaking with Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains visable from our room. The house was lovely, the food delicious, the hosts were gracious, and the gardens were lush. All the same attributes that we found in Victoria as a whole. We would recommend it highly!

Jeff and Linda,
Knoxville, TN

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tnbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

My husband and I just spent our 5th wedding anniversary at Dashwood Manor. It was a wonderful place to stay! Just a short drive to downtown Victoria and short walk to adorable Cook Village. There is a large park and a beach area right across the street from the Inn. David, the Innkeeper was very helpful with information about places to go and activities to do. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a small balcony with a great view of the ocean. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Liked — The location/view
  • Disliked — The bathroom in our room was a little dated but the innkeeper says it will be renovated in the coming year.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Having traveled extensively in Canada, USA, and Europe and one of us a travel industry professional that inspects and books hotels for conferences, we have an excellent knowledge of accommodation value. At the price point paid for the Somerset room, our expectations were high. Unfortunately the Dashwood Manor didn’t measure up.

The room itself is well positioned on the 3rd floor and has a water view across 2 streets below. There was considerable traffic noise during the daytime hours, but it quieted down during the nighttime hours.

Upon entering the room our immediate impression was that this was an unfinished room. The carpet, bathroom floor tile, shower and tub were contemporary and recently upgraded. Walls were painted fairly recently, but surprisingly there were some areas completely missed. The painter had painted around the television set, for example, apparently not taking the time to move the set and complete the job correctly. In the area near the refrigerator, the baseboard was missing with new paint not reaching the floor. Another patch of missed paint was visible above the shower in the bathroom. The windows had aluminum blinds that were very old, and damaged. There were no curtains. The furniture was a mix of contemporary and some antiques. There was no theme in decorating the room we could discern.

The bed itself was uncomfortable, and when we pulled off the sheet to investigate, discovered an older mattress with a sagging side – it was worn out. The pillows were small and not the luxurious types we’d come to expect in accommodations in this price range.

The TV was an old model that needed to be repaired or replaced. It had a green tinge to all pictures and this was most evident on black and white pictures. There were only several channels available. There was no phone in the room. There is no air conditioning or ceiling fan, which would be nice on warm days.

Disappointed in the quality of the accommodations, we talked to Dave the following morning. Dave wasn’t willing to adjust the price we were paying but a small amount, stating the price was competitive with other accommodations in the area. We didn’t push this. We just don’t agree with Dave that this room in its present condition is worth the price paid. We checked other accommodations in the area and found much better values after our 1st night, but weren’t willing to leave Dashwood and forfeit a cancellation fee.

On the positive side, the breakfast was excellent for all our days at Dashwood Manor. Great care is taken in the preparation of the food and we both felt this was one thing Dashwood Manor was doing right. Dave’s travel tips for the area were also very good.

Sorry we can’t recommend the Dashwood Manor to others, but perhaps Dave and Sharon will continue with their upgrades and eventually satisfy discriminating travelers like us.

  • Liked — Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor value for dollar spent
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageBB, Owner at Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2008
It was very nice to see the positive comments about our breakfasts and the hospitality and helpfulness we show our guests. Yes, we do work hard to provide and a comfortable and very pleasant experience for our guests.

This guest stayed with us in early September. The couple benefitted from a discounted rate right from the start and were given an additional $10 per night discount per night as a token of our goodwill after discussing some concerns they had about the value of the room. At no point did they request a refund or indicate that they would prefer to leave early, and we seemed to have built a good, positive relationship over the couple of days of their stay, so we are a bit taken aback by their complaints. This room does have good value, and it compares very well with comparable accommodations in the city.

The Somerset Room was renovated extensively during the spring of this year, with a completely new, tiled bathroom, chromatherapy tub, walk in shower and new toilet and new pedestal sink. It’s an amazing room of over 100 square feet. A previously existing, old, apartment sized stove was removed from the room, and the bar fridge was moved from a void in the wall to the cupboard unit where the stove had been. As with many projects in the Victoria region, we faced lengthy delays waiting for parts, trades people, etc. so we were approximately six weeks behind our anticipated schedule. Because of this, we had to reschedule the full repainting of the room until this fall. We tried to explain this to each of our guests, and we adjusted the rate to compensate for the couple of unfinished areas.

As the guest mentioned, two areas of the paint were mismatched with the existing colours on their walls. This included the area where the fridge had been located and the void closed off and the area where the new shower was built into a new space created from an exterior hallway. We did our best to match the colour, but it was obviously not the best match we could have achieved with more time for experimentation. This was not because the painter was trying to hide anything or that an incompetent worker had missed this area, it was solely because the complete refinishing had to be rescheduled for the slower fall and winter months. The missing piece of baseboard, a short length tucked along a side wall in front of the stove, and out of view from most areas, was missing due to the displacement of the stove and subsequent move of the fridge. A new piece will be added when the painting is completed in the next couple of weeks.

The guest suggests that the bed is old and in need of replacement. In fact, the beds were all replaced in 2004, 2005 and 2008. This particular mattress was new in 2004, and it is a good quality mattress by Sealy, designed especially for lodgings such as hotels and bed and breakfasts and purchased from our local wholesale supplier. There is absolutely no sagging and it definitely does not need replacement. There are four pillows on the bed, two fibrefill for guests who are sensitive to feathers and two, excellent quality, down pillows. These are queen sized pillows, the same as all the pillows we have in every room with queen sized beds. The pillows were also new at some point between 2004 and this spring.

The guest describes themselves as discriminating guests, a description we believe all our guests hold. The guest does not mention that one of them is an interior designer. Although we try our best to make sure our guest rooms are comfortable with quality furnishings and amenities, we do not purport to be interior designers, so our rooms may seem to need some improvement to a discriminating interior designer. This is a 10 000 square foot, 97 year old house, and the improvements we constantly make are usually appreciated in light of this.

In summary, I do not believe this guest was evaluating the Somerset Room based on criteria a typical guest would use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene, or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Fabulous accommodations. Beautiful home, comfortable beds, excellent location, warm and gracious hosts.
You will feel welcome in this quality environment that is clear evidence of the heart and soul of the owners.
The location can't be beat. Walking distance to downtown, to a neighborhood village with excellent food, across the street from the water, walking path and a beautiful park.
The owners have excellent recommendations for places to eat and experiences to be had.
No need to think twice about staying here.

  • Liked — The beautiful house
  • Disliked — Have nothing negative to say
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ceschirmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,624 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,990 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1 Cook St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 heritage Inn offering bed and breakfast with fabulous ocean views from all guest rooms. Located beside historic Beacon Hill Park in walking distance to downtown Victoria and across the street from the beach. Eleven spacious guest rooms. Romantic getaway featuring jacuzzis, fireplaces, stained glass, antiques. Private bathrooms. Attentive, knowledgeable innkeepers with an easy-going, friendly manner. Inspected and approved by six organizations including Victoria's Historic Inns, BC Innkeepers Guild, Tourism Victoria, Victoria's Finest B&Bs and Tourism BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed And Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing