We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable and central place to stay in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable and central place to stay in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were planning on staying with friends but then decided on booking a hotel to allow us more independence while exploring Victoria. Checking out the offers we decided upon the Rialto and were not disappointed in the least. Our room was a corner one on the third floor with so much natural light. The bathroom is spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel has a "go green" policy too which I thought was pretty progressive. Oh yes, try the bar downstairs for a dram of whisky or a fancy cocktails and sit alongside Victoria's hipsters as this seemed to be their favoured haunt. I would recommend this hotel to anyone be they visiting on business, with their partner or just on a break. Oh yes, they have off street parking as well nearby for a small fee. At no point did we feel at any way troubled walking out of the hotel at night, we were very centrally located and the staff did their utmost to ensure we had all the appropriate tourist info necessary.

Room Tip: we were in a corner room which could be a bit noisy, but, the natural light was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    378
    61
    16
    7
See reviews for
231
705
85
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

When in victoria u must stay here. Gt hotel, gt staff. Rooms big airy with v comfy bed, coffee, fridge and ac that works. Dont look anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a totally renovated "boutique hotel" in downtown Victoria, good location during the day, close to everything, not good evening/night, lots of drug and homeless people in this area. Staff is very slowwwwwwwwwwww, and seemingly uncaring to a customers needs. Possibly overworked as well.

Rooms are fine, lots of traffic noise if you are facing Pandora or Douglas, the back inside rooms are very quite.

The #1 issue with this hotel is no parking, we got a $20 parking ticket right in front of the hotel at 9:30AM. The other issue is we were under the impression some kind of breakfast was included, it was mentioned at check-in that it was a pastry continental type of breakfast, we had assumed that would (of course) include coffee, but it did not, we were surprised when we were charged $6.00 for 2 coffees. This has never happened to me in all my extensive travels, coffee is almost always included in the room in the mourning, and if you are going to include a pastry continental breakfast, of course that should include coffee as well.

I am not a person that likes to be nickeled and dimed, parking is $15 for the hotel, and is a block or so away, coffee is $6.00, so that adds $21.00 to the price of the hotel, this is not right in my opinion.

Room Tip: this is a great location in downtown Victoria, but be careful evenings and night, lots of street peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleeottorogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaureenKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Dear kleeottorogers,

I was sorry to see that your review of your stay was somewhat mixed. I'm hoping to clarify some of the issues cited in your review:

As we are a downtown location, in the heart of the city, you will find all the best shopping, restaurants and city attractions. Like in any major city centre, you get a mix of people from various classes that contribute to a colourful and vibrant culture.

While parking is an issue that many of the downtown properties struggle with, we are fortunate to have a private lot, adjacent to the hotel which we charge a modest $15 per night.

I know when you are anxious to get into the hotel room it can seem like a long process to check in, however, I am consistently overwhelmed at the positive comments I receive regarding my staff. (A quick scan of reviews will confirm how often the are acknowledged). However, sometimes being thorough with each and every guest can take some time, I apologize for the delay.

Every guest that checks into the hotel receives some "value added" tickets. These are offered simply as a bonus to our guests. You get a "purchase any coffee beverage and receive a free pastry in our cafe", and also a "free 3 dip flatbread in our lounge". The terms of the offers are stated very clearly on the ticket, I'm not sure how it was confused for a continental breakfast.

In the end I am very sorry to hear that you felt you were "nickeled and dimed" at our hotel, I can only tell you that our mission as a small boutique property is to provide the best possible experience at a fair and affordable rate. My hope is that now that we have shed light on some of the concerns that the expectations will be better aligned with the experience.

Kind Regards,

Maureen Kelly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, B.C.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The location is wonderful...close to everything. It is quaint..older but has been done up right. The staff is fabulous..they will help with anything. We ate at the attached restaurant..which is tapas style. This also was very, very good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We just got home from a weekend at the Hotel Rialto and we can't say enough about it. It's located in the heart of downtown Victoria so you're within an easy walk to everything. Our room was larger than usual and the bathroom was huge. They also have an amazing "Go Green" program. If you choose not to have housecleaning clean your room, each morning they give you complimentary pastries with your morning coffee at the cafe that's attached to the hotel. There's also a great Tapa's Restaurant that's right in the hotel. The food there is excellent and you should really eat at least one meal there while staying at the Hotel Rialto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's at the rear of the hotel. Ours was facing the rear and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My girlfriend and I wanted a weekend away in Victoria and when Hotel Rialto came up as a Groupon we jumped at it. We certainly were not dissapointed. The rooms were clean, cozy and comfy, the hotel was close to everything, the staff were helpful and friendly. Also if you are looking for some amazing the tapas restaurant in the hotel is unbelievably good! The duck poutine will change your life! If you are looking for a great place to stay in Victoria in walking distance to the harbour and shops then Hotel Rialto is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcmwesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We first heard about his hotel when we obtained a Groupon to stay there and therefore it was a great deal. It was our first visit to Victoria, but we live close enough for return travel there and would stay at the Rialto again, even without a Groupon. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, within walking distance to shops, restaurants, the Inner Harbor, and museums. The hotel itself was a complete remodel a few years ago and they did an excellent job. Our room was very clean and quiet. Our Groupon included the "romance package", so in addition to the room, we received lovely flowers in a vase, a $50 credit to the Tapas restaurant in the hotel(very good food and atmosphere), and wine and cheese platter on our first night. The staff was most helpful with suggestions. When we asked how get to Butchart Gardens ( a must to see if you go), the desk help thoroughly explained different ioptions for getting there. We enjoyed our stay at the Rialto and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing