We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a honeymoon and city sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for a honeymoon and city sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Rialto in August 2012 for our honeymoon. We were so happy with the service from the moment we arrived. The friendly staff greeted us and congratulated us on our wedding and made us feel extremely special. The room was a king room, which was lovely and the modern bathroom and amenities were great!
We loved enjoying some tapas and cocktails in the lounge in the evening after sightseeing in the day. the location was perfect for being able to walk everywhere in the city!
The staff were great, especially Alex, who was very knowledgeable on what to do in the city and local areas and through the concierge we were able to book many excursions and rental cars, with ease.
Each morning of our 5 day stay, we started with breakfast in the bright cafe and enjoyed coffee and pastries and were greeted with a smile.
The hotel also participated in a green program and use green products, which is a great thing to see!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanted to experience Victoria!
Great stay on the honeymoon and thanks to all the friendly staff for making it a fantastic time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAndJulesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    378
    61
    16
    7
See reviews for
231
705
85
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Two days stay after the west coast trail, smelly, carrying backpack but still welcomed in this classy hotel. A little pricey but you get quality service and very friendly helpfull staff. Great comfortable beds and very good complimentary cheese plate. Well located close to harbour front and chinatown..
Guy L, Ottawa

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a great stay at hotel Rialto after a long day of trip. The hotel is very clean, cozy and convenient. It is located in between the downtown Victoria and historical Chinatown and they are all within walking distance. Our front desk service Michael is a very passionate and friendly guy. He suggested us several nice italian restaurants and some must see scenery in Victoria, especially during the night. Oh boy, it is amazing and me and my girlfriend really loved it. To be honest, I haven't visited Victoria for years but this time is truly unforgettable. The hotel is great, the food is excellent and the scenery is amazing. I highly recommend Hotel Rialto and its front desk guy Michael as he provides friendly services and excellent suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Recently renovated, modern and very quiet, considering the downtown location. Very comfortable bed. Michael and Kelly at the front desk were amazing. We stayed 2 nights and the first morning at breakfast we waited more than 20 minutes after ordering juice and coffee and then decided to leave to eat elsewhere. I returned the breakfast voucher to Michael and explained why were not having breakfast in the hotel. The second morning Kelly apologised for the first morning delay and informed us that breakfast this morning was complimentary! We had outstanding service and a very tasty breakfast. Our waiter explained that they had been short-staffed the previous day.
This to us represents excellent and personal service, not something one always sees from larger hotels. We left with good feelings and will return. We highly recommend the Rialto, Victoria, B.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaimoGandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rialto for three nights recently. Can't say enough how much we enjoyed it. Great staff, beautiful new rooms, fantastic bar and restaurant, and convenient parking. The location is ideal for all the downtown sights with lots of great restaurants nearby. Loved the bed, linens, heated bathroom floors and brand new everything. We felt like we were the very first people to stay in our room. Loved the complimentary beverage and pastry every morning as well as the wonderful (and free) cheese plate that we enjoyed in the bar. Will definitely be staying here again and will recommend it to everyone we know. Thank you Hotel Rialto for a lovely place to call home while we were in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Rialto is superbly located in the old wharf district of downtown Victoria. This area of downtown is frequented by the homeless, so if you have issues with this, your choice might need to be reconsidered. That said, we didn't mind at all and helped a few folks along the way. The history of the area, while nothing like Europe, is interesting. The hotel was perfect, quiet, with well equipped rooms that included a kitchenette. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Veneto Lounge is one of the best places to dine (if you enjoy Tapas) in the city and was written up in the National Post, Globe and Mail and local rag in Tofino BC! A short walk away sits the Inner harbour where you can choose from a long list of things to do. Stay at the Rialto and you will enjoy a complimentary breakfast in their cafe and free use of their business center....if in fact the front desk can locate it!

Room Tip: Any room is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We made a last minute reservation and the staff was so helpful. The room was great - a top floor corner king unit. The room was comfortable and the property was great. The staff was attentive and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing