We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Service and Room!”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very nice boutique hotel in great location. Staff were very helpful and accomodating. The renovated room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious and very reasonable. Restaurant was closed for private event the night we were there so didn't try for dinner. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nowanislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto this last weekend while in Victoria and had an excellent stay. This hotel has just had an extensive remodel and they have done a good job. I also received vouchers for a welcome cheese plate at the restaurant and for breakfast. The room was lovely and very clean. It came with only a shower but that wasn't a problem for me. The food was excellent all weekend long. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I hade a Double Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cpettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I am sorry to say that my stay at the Hotel Rialto was very fleeting. I was supposed to stay for 3 days but had to cut my trip short. So I was only able to indulge in the lovely surroundings and accommodations for one evening. Staff was extremely helpful immediately upon my arrival. Offering up vouchers redeemable for a quickie but yummy breakfast of a scone,muffin, or pastry every morning accompanied by coffee. Also vouchers for an awesome gym just a short walk away.

Accommodations themselves were very quaint,clean, and charming. A mix of modern and artisan decor in the rooms topped by opulent white marble and glass bathrooms.

Beds are unbelievably comfortable and quite pretty. A true boutique hotel in all of its elegance. Best of all this hotel is smack in the centre of downtown, close to local eateries, fast food joints, and a 2 min stroll away from the Mall. Unbeatable right? Did I mention the prices are INCREDIBLY reasonable and well worth the price for something attractive, clean, and beyond zen.

Great staff overall, very friendly, sincere, and willing to please.Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: if your an elite booking.com member, upgrades for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CurlyHair g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel was recently renovated and it's lovely. Very modern rooms, nice appointments. The rooms are chic and the bed and bedding is super comfortable.
We stayed in a king suite on a package with complimentary champagne, cheese plate, breakfast coffee/muffins. Wow - it was a great deal. And we were treated wonderfully throughout the stay. There was a young woman at the front desk (spanish accent) who was especially helpful and welcoming.
We ate at the very popular and busy tapas restaurant. Had a less great experience there. First night had drinks ($11 CAD each - New York prices) and the service was disappointly unfriendly and poor. Second night ate dinner and had friendly, but somewhat rushed, service. The food, however, is interested and quite tasty.
Highly recommended boutique hotel within walking distance of everything in the downtown/inner harbor area.
PS - we are a GLBT couple and no issues whatsoever (i.e., no obnoxious "do you want separate beds" at check-in)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Experience_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Upon check-in, I discovered that I was upgraded to a "Jr King Suite" free-of-charge.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, which is perfect, because you have the opportunity to visit all the best of what Victoria has to offer.

The cocktail bar that connected to the hotel "The Veneto" offers the best cocktails in the city. I'm not just saying that, I know they do because I've been living in the city for 3 and 1/2 years. (See my review on "The Veneto" here on "TripAdvisor")

Before any of my guests came up to visit me in my room, the staff phoned me in my room and verified if that particular person was in fact, a friend of mine. Once verified, he then escorts the guest to the elevator.

For your morning Breakfast, there's a cute little Cafe that you can eat at. Boy, do they ever serve up a mean Eggs Benny!
The reception will give you discount coupons to save you 3$ off your meal.

Room Tip: They offer Government discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jordan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I travel a lot. I stay in hotels a lot. But I have not had as pleasant an experience in years as my wife and I had at the Rialto in Oct 2012. The staff were friendly and helpful - even enthusiastic. The hotel is in an older character building, but the interior renovations are very good. The room was tasteful and well appointed. Not just proper glasses, but a couple of wine glasses and a corkscrew as well. The location is excellent - a few blocks to pretty much anything you need. The restaurant/lounge/coffee shop were all excellent and treated my wife's food sensitivities well. I can't think of much they could do to improve it - not sure if it had a gym, but I wasn't in the mood for using one anyway!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YodaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked the Rialto Hotel for one night in October and were delighted with our choice. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Free cheese and crackers after 5.00pm plus a $3.00 voucher off a hot breakfast, which by the way was absolutely great. It's not as close to the town centre as some hotels but if you don't mind a walk it's fine. For China Town it's very convenient. Parking is $15.00/day and it's a secure parking lot a block away. It is a friendly, beautifully clean hotel. We totally recommend the Rialto, we don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher room is probably better, we were on the 3rd floor (out of 4!). The hotel does provide ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,844 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £84 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing