We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated, not restful sleep”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated, not restful sleep”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The hotel is older but has had significant upgrades in the past couple of years. The lounge/restaurant is quite nice and lobby entrance up to date. The rooms are smaller in size (as with all hotels of the original build) but adequate for the need. I had the "Superior Junior King" which included a nice size washroom, bedroom area (no closed door to next room) and a small entrance/living area with small kitchenette. Everything was up-to-date. Any issues were resolved quickly (no ironing board and remote batteries missing were quickly delivered by front desk person). I was located on the north side of the hotel on the second floor. Both evenings I stayed (Wed/Thurs) the traffic from Douglas Street was noisy - especially BC Transit buses. I had asked for a quiet room at check-in because of previous ratings and was told this one was quiet - not. I received a welcome "cheese plate" coupon for the lounge and a coupon for each morning for a continental breakfast (muffin and coffee or juice) - nice touch.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the higher floors on the back (west) or south side of the hotel - hopefully it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicTraveler_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    396
    65
    16
    7
See reviews for
241
735
87
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Seems like the rooms, bar and common areas have recently been remodeled. Very modern, yet comfortable. Great and helpful staff. Price included a great cheese tray as a welcome gift and a coupon good for continental breakfast.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This Edwardian Hotel, in terms of what you get for your money, is in the same class as the Fairmont Empress. This is what a first class boutique hotel is all about & I cannot envision how the current owners could have done any more to provide their guests with a truly unique experience. Beautiful appointments & an attention to detail that would normally cost twice what you pay. I could go on however I would just be repeating myself based on what other reviewers have said.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveBC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I adore the Hotel Rialto for so many reasons: The owners commitment to resurrecting a beautiful example of Canadian heritage architecture to it's original glory with fresh new amenities is first and foremost. Secondly, the staff is so nice, the fantastic bedding - best pillows ever! had to order some for home! and best of all, my day starts with a perfect latte in Breve and ends with a perfect cocktail or glass of wine in Veneto - accompanied by friendly and super skilled servers with great music in the back ground. If I want a glass of something in my room - Vintages is there with helpful and knowledgeable staff offering a great selection of local, old world and new world beers, wines and spirits. PLUS - it's walking distance to Ulla and Brasserie - 2 of my favourite restaurants anywhere. Thus, the Hotel Rialto is my favourite place to stay in Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Excellent staff from start to finish. Modern decor, very comfortable and accomodating.
We stay in Victoria once a week and having been trying other properties.We will be back to Rialto.
Unexpected voucher for coffee, muffins and cheeseboard. The lounge is one of the nicest upbeat ones in victoria.

Room Tip: We were in a Queen room on top floor..Great big windows with natural light..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hospitalityplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

amazing rooms, we had a queen junior suite, very comfortable beds had a microwave and mini fridge. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the harbor, great shopping, restaurants, pubs and Chinatown. The staff were so helpful, just the suggestion of a wish and they tried to make it work for you.It was an enjoyable weekend and would love to go back. Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Hotel Rialto. The staff were friendly and helpful; especially the front desk person- wish I could remember her name! Our room was clean and comfortable (maybe add another chair to allow two people to sit would be nice). We thought it was really good value with a free cheese platter for the evening and coffee and croissant for breakfast included in our price. We were within easy walking distance of the downtown Victoria sites. Parking was off-site but a short distance away- we were able to easily park in front of the hotel to unload and unload. Yes, we would return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the building would be quieter. We had a Saturday night booking so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushleaguepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing