We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Hotel Rialto in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay at Hotel Rialto in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Rialto. Love the location, it's very central and surrounded by excellent restaurants. The hotel lounge has some of the tastiest cocktails in the city. Simon the bartender makes incredible drinks. Silvia front desk was very helpful during check. The rooms are clean and slept great. There is great little wineshop attached to the hotel as well. I look forward to my next trip to Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    378
    61
    16
    7
See reviews for
231
705
85
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is easily located from the bus station. We were welcomed with a complimentary cheese board, which had some lovely unique touches and we also sampled some of the wine. We enjoyed it that much we stayed most if the night and had tapas there. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff could not do enough to help and offer advice.

The only negative I would say is the breakfast because a muffin and drink would not be sufficient for a day if exploring, so upgrade to a full breakfast. After a little mishap with the breakfast it was dealt with brilliantly.

Lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natsky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We spent our first night when we relocated to Victoria from Toronto in this hotel. The design is modern and chic and all the staff we met were charming and helpful. Our room was very large and comfortable, and the bathroom was big with plenty of natural light. An added bonus was the light breakfast included in the price. Their cafe' is bright and airy and they have a delicious selection of muffins and croissant. We also had a very positive experience in their tapas restaurant and cocktail bar. This place is a great addition to downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelaL770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed there last night and couldn't have been happier. Beautiful room, bed, sheets and shower. The room was a bit smaller than some, but common among most of the boutique hotels I've stayed in. What set this hotel apart was the complimentary continental breakfast and cheese plate. The cafe is a beautiful place to spend a sunny morning with an espresso and a book (especially when the cherry trees were blooming on the street!). At night, the complimentary cheese plate was a very nice touch and encouraged me to try a sample of the lounge's very impressive wine and cocktail list. I must compliment this hotel on it's exceptional attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conscious14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of Memorial Arena as well as good restaurants, bars and shopping. The staff was very helpful and polite and the room was very comfortable. The complimentary small breakfast of a beverage and a pastry was a surprising bonus and delicious. They also offer full breakfasts at a discount. The off-site parking a block away was securely locked at all times and there are loading zones along both sides of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We decided to head over to Victoria for a last minute overnight getaway for my birthday and I'm so glad we stayed at Hotel Rialto. Our room was great, as was the bathroom (we booked the King with the soaker tub). The hotel manager had also made me up a birthday card that was waiting in the room when we arrived!

The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The location was amazing for walking around the downtown area, and was very close to most of the bars and restaurants we had been recommended. It's also close to a great shopping street.

The parking is off site, about a block away. It's fine but it could be a pain if it were raining a lot.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Found this hotel last minute while searching online. When I made my booking, the price quoted was the same as the price that had been given to me from various online sites. So far so good!

Arrived, location was great. Parking is off-site which is annoying only because I can be lazy at times.

Room was small and there was very little light in the room, both exterior and interior save for the bathroom. Huge bathroom with heated floors, which was pretty dope. For just one guy, it was all I needed. It was really clean which was awesome.

The hotel was great! Served it's purpose and I had no problems!

Room Tip: Don't stay in 208 or 210. Or any of the "08" or "10" numbers as they face a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronvonhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing