We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, cozy, getwaway”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This refurbished small hotel is a tasteful, contemporary, and get this, inexpensive, treat in a city over-served by quaint, stodgy and over-priced hotels. Beautifully decorated rooms, fabulous location, a fantastic restaurant on the main floor (Venetto's), a respectable wine store, complementary breakfast treats and a genuine staff of friendly, helpful and go-out-of-their-way people to make your stay a delightful and warm experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the Pandora St. side or the side opposite Douglas St., that side is a bit noisy. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salferreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

A great surprise! Clean, well decorated and super helpful staff you find in this hotel.
Micheal on the desk went the extra mile with a smile. Rooms, food and wine store are all top notch. We were concerned about the noise from the busy street, kept windows closed and had a great sleep, earplugs are provided which is a wonderful gesture. The hotel is striving to have a strong green program. I love the green card insentive, forgoing daily housekeeping, if you do so you get a $10 food voucher, great idea. A couple of items can be improved on to enhence the green program: One more towel rack in the bathroom to hang the reused towels to dry and to replace the little shampoo bottles with well funchtiong bulk dispensers filled with a high quality products.
The welcome cheese plate and the continental breaky anthere nice touch. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 270lucass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Front desk agents especially Michael were very helpful so was the cafe Veneto staff and housekeeping.. The rooms and bathrooms were very, modern, clean and neat.
Only downside for me was the small tub and I'm only 5'8" lol

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oilflloormain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights at this fine old Hotel. There is really nothing that I can say that was bad about this hotel. I cannot really comment on the food as we only took advantage of the continental breakfast(which was very good....fresh pastry was delicious). The desk staff was the best I have dealt with for some time, they went out of their way to assist us, even dropping what he was doing to check a schedule, and print off a copy for us. The hotel is close to so much that the rental car we had was not used at all in Victoria, we walked everywhere. There are some reviews that make note of the noise from the street, well yes there is noise but you are in a 4 storey hotel in the center of downtown, what do you expect....the staff to run outside and tell every person on the street to be quiet. There are earplugs supplied free of charge if you are a light sleeper. The parking was close by and was $15 per night, might seem expensive, but again you are in a small hotel that does not have a built in parkade, but the lot is gated and locked for which you have a remote fob that opens the gate, I did not find this to be unreasonable. Upon checking out there was a meal that had been charged to our room, for which as I said earlier was not ours. When advised of this, the desk clerk promptly removed and charge with no questions asked. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends without hesitation!

Room Tip: If you feel the street noise will be a bother, request a room on the 4th floor and off of the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a lovely surprise to find such a wonderful hotel so close to everything in downtown Victoria!! Very clean rooms and helpful friendly staff. I will certainly stay here again. And the food is very good in both venues. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean room, great value for the money. The restaurant offers good food, and their hot breakfast is great.
I like the "green" option, i.e. for every day that a guest opts for no room cleaning service, the hotel offers a 10 dollar discount on the restaurant bill, a true win-win offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiaan_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have been to Victoria many times and have stayed at Swans and the Delta in the past. Those places were both full and I found Hotel Rialto online. I like smaller hotels with a more cozy feel and good customer service. Hotel Rialto was exactly that. The hotel is classy, clean, quiet and close to everything downtown Victoria has to offer. The manager and front desk staff were happy and helpful and working to please. I will always look to stay here first when I come back to Victoria.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alijhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £100 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing