We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful stay . . .”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We remember the Hotel Rialto fondly for many reasons. We were celebrating an anniversary and they went out of their way to make it a memorable one for us. As other reviews have stated, the location is within walking distance of most of the important sites one would want to visit during a stay in Victoria. Our suite faced the street, but noise was not an issue at all. In fact, we had a lovely view of the old City Hall and the trees across the street. The Veneto Tapas Bar in the hotel provided some of the best food we had in the city during our week-long stay. Amazing, delicious small plates and cocktails! Just as good was the fare in the sunny breakfast and lunch room. The friendly staff consistently provided helpful directions and suggestions. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burroak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. Beautiful clean spacious modern rooms and the greatest concept for green living as it has implemented an idea where you are rewarded $10 rebate a day if you choose to go green by just reusing your towels and choosing to not have your bed made. Love it. Should be in all hotels!!! The voucher idea for breakfast is great too. Alex explained the idea to us and well done to him for it. Close to everything too. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitewashqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel Rialto is in a good location where you can walk to the harbor, Chinatown and shopping. It's a very clean hotel and the rooms are somewhat stark/modern. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. The bathroom had a small fiberglass shower with no shelf for shaving legs :). It did have heated floors which would be nice in the winter. Our room (facing the front) didn't have a desk or any chairs. Our travel friends' room did have those features as well as a tub/shower but it was in the back of the hotel near an adjacent bar, so noise was an issue for them. The hotel rooms are supplied with earplugs, I guess to muffle the street noise. Linens were very nice.

With our stay we got vouchers for a cheese platter (delicious!) and either $3 off breakfast or coffee and a pastry. We opted for the breakfast and it was fantastic. I had the smoked salmon sandwich with a fried egg - it and the accompanying hash browns were amazing. Our daughter got the fruit bowl and the fruit was incredibly fresh, hubby got the yogurt, granola and fruit compote and he loved it. Coffee was nice and strong.

Hotel Rialto is a great value and I would stay here again but I would probably ask to stay in a back room the next time as they seem roomier.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quieter room. The rooms in the back might have more square fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed two nights in this recently remodeled boutique hotel. Lost the high rating due to non operating air conditioner with stuffy room, and poor lighting in the room as well. But after letting go of those two failures, we used it as a hub to explore Victoria by foot. Though the hotel was located next to the city hall/government building, there were also some pan handlers and seedy looking characters roaming about.
We had breakfast and coffee downstairs each morning before our walking travels, and had dinner at the restaurant inside the hotel one night as well. The restaurant was a fantastic tapas type with a full bar which had one of the most extensive unique menu of cocktails we've ever seen. The food menu also was delicious at every turn.
As for the hotel, it was clean and unexpectedly quiet inside. Only the occasional emergency vehicle driving down Douglas street caused us to notice how quiet it really was. Staff was attentive and responsive to our needs. Secured parking is available a block away for $15 a day, or you can park anywhere on the street after business hours. We had the parking pass in our package deal and that gave us some security that our car would not likely be vandalized. It wasn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off Pandora street or away from Douglas Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HossSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in june and liked it very much. The room we stayed in was small but comfortable and very clean and had a large bathroom with a heated floor. We asked for a quiet room and got one that didn't face onto the street. The staff was friendly and the location convenient. It was about a 10 minute walk to the bus that takes you on the ferry to Vancouver. The complementary cheese plate they gave us in the bar at the hotel was wonderful. Can highly recommend the Lumberjacks Breakfast cocktail too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Rialto for 1 night. Located right in the middle of Victoria. One word fantastic, bed and pillows very comfortable. The room though small had all we needed, ie fridge and microwave. The bathroom is modern and was spotless. Staff also wonderful. Restaurant downstairs, meals very good. Paid parking but that was ok with us. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alan_muzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed with Hotel Rialto during a one-night getaway from our home an hour north of Victoria. It was our first night away from our 8-month old so it was kind of a big deal. We booked a room with the Residents Package (which came with a $30 voucher at Veneto) and when we got there the Guest Services Manager upgraded us to the King Suite, which was palatial. The staff was amazing (Maureen Kelly is our hero) and the hotel itself is a hidden gem. Very classy and modern without being pretentious or intimidating. Veneto in the hotel makes food that is unbelievably good. It is worth the stay in itself. I think Hotel Rialto is one of the best deals in town and we will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Get room 112 if you can. It's like having your own apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hokemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £100 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing