We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

As soon as we arrived it felt like we were at home. The staff at the front desk did everything they could to make us comfortable..The room and bed were amazing and very comfortable! The staff assisted us with restaurant suggestions, booking tickets for events and renting a car. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent and dinner at the restaurant was also amazing. We looked forward to eating at the hotel every day. The location of the hotel is perfect and within walking distance of everything. We recommend this hotel and we would definitley stay there again.

Room Tip: A view of the courthouse is very nice especially at night..
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TovarFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Room modern fresh clean and spacious. Price includes a coffee and pastry for breakfast. Hotel restaurant food was excellent. Overall a delightful stay. I would highly recommend this hotel , you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tortoisefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent two nights here in early August for some sight seeing and scuba diving in the area. The front desk staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was a good size, clean and well stocked (fridge, microwave, robes, etc.). We really enjoyed the ambience of the property.In addition to the continental breakfast (coffee and a pastry) the free cheese plate was a nice touch. There was also some free parking (overnight) across the street. Very quiet in the room, which made for a great sleep.
Any negatives to the property didn't really factor into our plans...many attractions are not in walking distance and as a smaller hotel it doesn't have rooms with views. If these don't matter to you, I would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Guy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great location - walking distance to the harbour, Chinatown, shopping, etc. Secured lot parking - which although it is not right at the hotel, it is still very close (just across the street a bit and costs $15/day). The front desk staff were all very helpful, going above and beyond to answer your questions, and even make further suggestions based off of that. The room was very clean, and the bed was a great sleep! It was also a nice touch to give the vouchers for the free cheese plate at the lounge, and free coffee and pastry in the morning at the café ( the selection of baked goods was a bit limited but both were very tasty). The cappuccino was amazing! Creamy flavour, with none of that burnt, cheap taste - one of the best we have ever had. For some it might be a bit awkward to go in and order the free cheese plate and not order any other food/drinks so if that is something you might feel uncomfortable doing , perhaps go with a bit of an appetite - although we just ordered 2 teas with out plate, and they were perfectly fine about it. The hallway noise we heard occasionally, but it was a non issue and they also leave ear plugs in the rooms for guests who may be light hotel sleepers, which I thought was very thoughtful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

True, it's not the best location: a 15-20 minute walk to the scenic Inner Harbour and the museums. The hotel car park is a block away. There are no views from any room.

That said, the Rialto is a splendid little hotel securely nestled in a recently (2009) renovated 100-year old building. The modern furnishings and lots of glass disguise its age. The helpful staff, all of whom seemed young and eager to please, were a perfect blend with the modern image that the hotel conveys.

At our request we had an inside room, with nothing to look at except the next wing of the hotel across a window well, but it was totally immune from the street noise and very quiet except for the ever-present seagulls that raucously challenge the dawn. The room and bathroom were both well proportioned, clean and comfortable.

The Vento bar is congenial and appropriately bustling, while the adjacent dining room is serene and with tables spaced apart sufficiently to permit easy chatter - a challenge these days at many restaurants. The menu is interesting and our meals were very good. Our thanks to our excellent server-hostess, Jacqueline, who cautioned us that the "smaller plates" entrees aren't that small, with the result that we backed off our proposed appetizers and instead shared a fine salad to start.

The complimentary morning coffee and pastry is not just a nice touch; that's all that is needed after a hearty dinner at Vento.

Like other reviewers, I've stayed at a number of hotels in Victoria. From now on the Rialto will be our only choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eztraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent service, very helpful, went the extra mileto confirm reservations, well appointed room with fridge and microwave. Good location, a bit at the end of the tourist trail but one block from a historic synagogue, if that is of interest. Free wifi, free continental breakfast, free cheese platter in the bar/restaurant. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank naomi_steinberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed, my wife and I, two days (Sun. and Mon.) at Hotel Rialto, wanting to see Butchart Gardens (among other things) on Vancouver Island, so we rented a car in Seattle and drove to Port Angeles to take the Black Ball ferry to Victoria. The ferry was supposed to leave Port Angeles at 5:20 PM and arrive 90 minutes later at Victoria, which would have been an OK late check-in anywhere. However, a ferry mishap caused a delay of 4 hours so we arrived at the Rialto just after 11 PM. I'd called to let them know we'd be late, and the desk manager stayed after his shift to make sure we got checked in. Street parking is free until 9 AM, so it wasn't the problem I'd imagined it would be. In fact, we never paid anything for parking our entire stay. Of course, we did a lot of driving...

The Rialto is a corner, 4 story building with 34 rooms, Although built in 1911, it's been completely modernized. We stayed in #401, a Superior King Room. The room was modern, clean, relatively spacious. Very quiet, firm mattress. The bathroom was quite large. Free Wi-Fi. Included in the fare was a complimentary pastry and coffee at the Cafe Veneto entered via the lobby. An alternative was $3 off a "full" breakfast, which one of us had: braised short rib hash with two poached eggs and caramelized onions and some Italian flatbread to help with the yolks. Incredibly good. Also, a huge assortment of really good, large muffins, specialty bread and croissants. Next day we tried the duck confit hash breakfast, also good. We never got to avail ourselves of the complementary evening cheese platter.

The Rialto is located near Victoria's Chinatown, which is entered via elaborate ornamental pillared arch over Fisgard Street, but extends only one block. It's supposed to be the oldest Chinatown in Canada. Not sure being older carries any cachet with me; at least because it's so small, it's easy to see everything by strolling down one side of the street and strolling back the other side, but I digress.

We failed to avail ourselves of the complimentary nearby fitness center, which may have had a pool, so I didn't enter a rating. Also, even though late July, temperatures were in the mid-60's so we didn't use any A/C, just heat. Heating was quiet.

Maybe the only disadvantage to the Hotel Rialto is that it's rather far from the harbor area with its floating fish restaurants and other interesting things to see. But if we return to Victoria, we'd certainly stay at Hotel Rialto again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnVic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,052 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing