We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern rooms close to everything”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
NW Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice modern rooms close to everything”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Rialto for a couple nights while traveling through Vancouver Island. From the minute we were greeted at the front desk for check-in, everything about the hotel and staff was spot on. Both the lobby/lounge and rooms are very updated, modern, and well appointed.

The room itself was a bit smaller than I'm used to, but it felt very European. I like to spread out a bit and unpack, and there just wasn't as much room to do that as I like. Otherwise, the bed was very nice and very comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate. This was a welcome change from a budget motel in Port Angeles we stayed at the previous two nights.

We enjoyed the coffee/pastries both mornings as well as the cheese tray next door. The bartender took pride in making something different for us that we both really liked after asking a couple questions (I guess that's one of their things).

Parking was a bit strange and was the only ding other than the room size. Parking on the street is free overnight, and we were able to find a close spot both nights. It would have been a problem if we weren't out and about during the day.

Overall we liked the Rialto and would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KentV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    401
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
247
758
88
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan, BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Rialto a few times over the last few years and have seen it evolve into the luxurious hotel it is today. I was lucky enough to stay again this week, this time on business. Other than the amazing rooms (very well appointed, and very clean) and the in-house amenities (great lounge, nice cafe and perfectly stocked liquor store), what really sets the Rialto above the rest is the attention to customer service. I have never been taken care of at a hotel quite as well as I have at the Rialto. Kudos to all of the staff there. Keep up the great work and hopefully see you again soon.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cup0Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is the third or fourth time we have stayed at the Rialto. We have stayed at a number of other highly rated hotels but we have come back to the Rialto, and are glad we did. Its price is superb, at least 50 dollars a night less than any other comparable hotel. The staff are terrific, they can not be more helpful. The rooms are great, quiet and very nicely outfitted. The price includes a free cheese tray and morning continental breakfasts. The food is great and we finally tried the hotel restaurant for dinner and it was wonderful. We also used the gym, which is a few blocks away, but its free and a very very good gym, better than any hotel we have stayed in. The location is superb, very very convenient. In short, look no further. Its better run than most, cheaper, and very nicely appointed.

Room Tip: go for a room not facing douglas, its much quieter, but they provide free ear plugs anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gajgmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is great. The rooms are nice. The bed is comfortable. I like the heated tile floors in the bathroom. Overall, they did an excellent renovation. I like that its a historical hotel but with modern decor and amenities. Nice attention to detail that makes your stay even better. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee and pastries from the cafe downstairs and the cheese plate from the lounge. It's the first time I've had a hotel have complimentary earplugs in the bedroom, which is a small but really nice thing. It's a great location and reasonably priced. I'm impressed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived on the Victoria Clipper around noon on Saturday. The hotel is an easy walk down Government Street to Pandora. Our room was not yet available, however Stephanie was incredibly helpful and quickly checked us in and stowed our bags for our return, stating the room would be ready no later than 3pm. We wandered, had lunch and ended up back at the Hotel around 2:30pm. Our room was ready to go. We were in a King room, #403, a corner room. It was large, incredibly clean, included a microwave, a fridge, a very comfortable bed and a decent size bathroom. The bathroom did not have a tub, however, it did have HEATED FLOORS which are wonderful. Wifi worked incredibly well. While you can hear street noise, it was not disturbing to us at all but earplugs are provided. We did not hear any hallway or adjoining room noise. Did I mention the room was spotless ?
We requested the late checkout of 2pm with a $25 fee (completely reasonable !!) and there were no issues whatsoever. We did eat breakfast at the cafe - stellar ! and we did have snacks at the bar next door. The hostess at the restaraunt was incredibly accomodating even though we did not have reservations. Both food and service were impecable. The BBQ Chicken lettuce wraps were delish and the breakfast sangy was perfect.
Kudos to a welcoming reception, a smiling face and helpful information when asked.
I liked that this hotel was a walk away from the Ferry terminal so you can get your bearings, and I liked that is was a smaller boutique-like property.
The staff at all three locations, cafe, bar and front desk were exactly how customer service should be. I would definetly stay here again as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a great boutique hotel. November long weekend was my third stay in this hotel, this year. I had the scrumptious queen suite. Could not ask for a more delightful place. It is downtown, only minutes from wherever you want to go. Great restaurant for breakfast and lunch. And the Vento lounge is delicious. Every staff member there is so helpful and friendly. I'm in Victoria a lot. I don't think we will stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

5 star service, friendly staff and a great tappas bar. All this and in downtown Victoria, what more could you ask for! Right down in the middle of the city. I would imagine Jazz Fest would be the ultimate, will try for it and let you know. Viva la Victoria and Rialto.

Room Tip: Use your feelings as you room guide
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,028 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing