We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable weekend”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, comfortable weekend”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We loved this hotel. We were given a surprise upgrade to a lovely King Suite room. Free "cheese plate" was delicious and full of hot and cool goodies. This treat was way beyond what we expected from a cheese plate. Lovely choice of breakfast treats included as well. Excellent location, extremely helpful and friendly staff, and excellent value for the price point. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    410
    69
    17
    7
See reviews for
259
775
89
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It's been 1 1/2 years now since my original review, and we've stayed almost 10 times. Weekends away, even 5 days when the brother-in-law came to visit so he could have our bed!
We've stayed in probably all the fourth floor rooms, and they're all different so be sure to discuss your preferences with the outstanding front desk staff.
All the rooms are clean, attractive, some with tub/showers, some with only showers, and some with two person soaker tubs. The beds are super comfortable and triple sheeted, so you don't need to worry about groudy bed covers.
With the cocktail Venteo tapa lounge next door, there's almost no reason to leave the building! Thank you Simon for a very entertaining New Year's Eve!
See you all soon again.

Room Tip: Inner rooms are very quiet. North facing rooms overlook the city hall tower clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Rialto for a night, and was totally enamored by it. We stayed in one of the Superior Romantic King rooms. it had a comfortable king size bed and plenty of sitting space. There was a two person soaking tub, a separate shower, and dual sinks. The bar was fantastic with a wonderful range of cocktails. And staff was courteous and very helpful. We will definitely return for a much longer stay the next time we are in Victoria.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, definitely go for the Superior Romantic King room. It's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a business stay in Victoria, and picked the Rialto more on a whim than anything else. I wasn't expecting too much, given the price I got through Expedia, but I was happily surprised. The front desk staff (four different people during my stay) were all super friendly and helpful; my room was bright, clean and tastefully furnished; Veneto's Tapas Lounge served delicious food (and the complimentary cheese plate made a very tasty lunch the following day); and I loved the decor in the lobby and throughout the hotel. I did find that the room got quite hot at night, which made for a couple of restless nights, but that's a minor quibble. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: My room didn't have much of a view, but that worked for me because it meant I had a quieter slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto this past weekend and had a great time. I go to Victoria quite often and like to try a different hotel each time I go. Well the Hotel Rialto has won me over. The location is excellent, right in the middle of all the quaint shops and restaurants, just down the road from Chinatown and just down the road from the mall. It's around the corner from Trounce Alley, which has an excellent SpanishTapas restaurant and fun shops. The hotel offers a complimentary cheese plate in the evening and a continental breakfast in the morning. There was a specialty wine shop next door, which offered a 10% discount to hotel guests. They have a martini bar in the hotel, which is supposed to be the best martinis in Victoria. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The tiled bathroom floor was heated, which was a really fun perk. The staff at the front desk and the servers at the morning breakfast were all very friendly and helpful. I will be going back to this hotel the next time I am in Victoria. Thank you Hotel Rialto for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deemarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowser, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

From the moment we walked in the front door until we checked out the next day our stay at the Hotel Rialto was 5 star the whole time. The rooms are crisp and bright, beds cozy ... how delighted we were with the complimentary cheese plate that took the edge off our hunger until we went out to dinner. The location is ideal for a walkabout downtown, an easy stroll to many fabulous restaurants, although you don't have to walk at all as the restaurant in the hotel is terrific. The staff were awesome, very friendly and professional. The breakfast cafe was the icing on the cake with a lots of choices for whatever your heart desired to start the day and really awesome coffee! Couldn't have chosen a better spot!

Room Tip: Room 403 is the best room in the Hotel, cor ner room overlooking Douglas and Pandora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Good price, very nicely updated holders hotel in the heart of the city and a very do-able walk for most from the ferries. Very friendly, helpful staff, comfortable clean room. The free cheese platter was a nice surprise.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ratherBriding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,740 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing