We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but small hotel in the city”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, but small hotel in the city”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this hotel for the one night we were staying in Victoria for the last leg of our honeymoon. The place was nice and the room was cute. It was however really small and had poor lighting. I mean bad. They had one very small light on the ceiling and one desk lamp. We had a nice night stay however. They give you a coupon for breakfast which is pretty sad(a choice of juice and a choice of some muffin or croissant). The staff was friendly overall. I don't think I would stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking a moment to give us some feedback of your recent visit. In fact, we assessed the lighting in the hotel rooms as a result and have come to realize a few rooms required additional fixtures, which are being installed. It is feedback like yours that can help make us even better.

We bring in fresh muffins, scones, croissants every morning for hotel guests to enjoy with their morning beverage in the café. The voucher is simply to identify guests from our regular patrons.

We would love an opportunity to put you in a room with the new lighting, please contact me directly for any future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    396
    65
    16
    7
See reviews for
241
735
87
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely rooms, excellent breakfast foods as well as top cocktails and excellent scotch selection at the bar. Can't go wrong! Don't be turned away by the location, it's close enough to the water, a five minute walk to the water and a ten minute walk to the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to give some feedback. Our food and beverage team at the hotel work really hard at making it special, I will pass along the feedback to the crew. Given that you are from New York and have no shortage of exceptional dining options, we really appreciate the compliment.

Be sure to come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed for one night. The hotel is located centrally downtown within walking distance of the shops, ferries and waterfront. The rooms were were very clean with comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and gave us a voucher for a cheese platter and vouchers for a continental breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmac2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi, thank you for your comments, we love to hear our staff are keeping the bar high. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I love it when some of the older hotels get a remake, this is a great example. Our room was ready at 3 PM as promised. The staff was friendly and gave us some good info about the local scene. The welcome cheese platter was a nice touch (and good tasting). We also received breakfast coupons (coffee and pastry or meal discount) for both days. We had two great breakfasts in the café (our group was 3 couples celebrating our anniversaries). I would recommend this place to anyone for one or several nights. Location is good, we walked to most places during the stay. It will be the first place I check with the next time in Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eckhardt U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi there,

Very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking a moment to share it.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for three nights on the first floor and found the location to be very noisy from outside. First time this has been an issue for us in Victoria. We've previously stayed at both Best Westerns and the Delta.

Also, despite the fact we said we would be a party of four, the room was not prepared that way. Pullout couch did not have top sheet only blanket and we received three towels, two mugs, etc., etc. We had to ask for everything. And the blankets provided did not smell fresh.

Had hoped for a nicer experience, was pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostBrainCells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi there,
I'm very sorry to learn your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. For any future stays, we will ensure you have an interior room which provide a very quiet stay.
We hope you will give us an opportunity to show you a Rialto experience more consistent with our reputation.
Please contact me directly to make any future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Such a great little hotel - feels like your in the big city! So many pluses here - they think of the details and deliver. GREAT on site bar and restaurant, loads of guest perks and the location simply can't be beat. Friendly, helpful staff and lovely well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlBroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
That's a great compliment, thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice experience in Veneto our restaurant. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Vancouver isn't too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It was a good, clean room -- nice decor and well appointed. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff, checking in and out was a fantastic experience. I would definitely stay here again, one of my new favourites in Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We never tire of hearing good things about our staff members. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,008 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,633 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing