We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We returned to this hotel after our previous good experience last year. Standards and experience were consistent with the previous visit. Again front desk staff were excellent. This recently renovated hotel is comfortable and has a very modern feel. We were cycling and the hotel staff were very accomodating, arranging for secure storage. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS5341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
One of the purest measures of how well we are doing is a guest's willingness to return. This holds true not only for our hotel but our restaurants as well. We are fortunate to see many familiar faces as guests and patrons return. Happy that you will now be one of the familiar faces as well.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    376
    60
    16
    7
See reviews for
227
697
84
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. It was in a great location, we walked to everything that we wanted to. The room was clean and spacious. The parking was a bit awkward (slightly off site), and we were a bit confused and skeptical at first as to how it worked, but in the end we agreed that it worked just fine. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, but we both agreed that the check in process was slower than most places we've been. We only took advantage of the free coffee/muffins one morning because we found a great breakfast place nearby. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheechnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Appreciate you taking a moment to let others know.

Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My "home" (Hotel Rialto) for 5 days in Victoria was wonderful; it was chosen as an alternative
to the Empress Hotel (the site of my conference). 5 minute walk to UMMA which has the
best pea soup west of The United Bakery, Toronto and healthy Halibut. The Rialto also has
fine food and a bargain of bargains; Tapas at half price between 4 and 6 pm. Bus to Schwartz
Bay is across the road. Breakfast coffee is exceptional as well as the service.

Room Tip: All rooms are different; you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
I had not seen this movie, so I wasn't sure at first how to interoperate the review title...A colleague assured me it was a nice compliment and based on the 5 star review I'm guessing he is correct.

Thank you for helping to spread the word.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Rialto for the first time, on the Victoria Day long-weekend. We had a lovely room; very clean, wheelchair friendly. The restaurant and Tapa Bar were excellent as well. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We ate breakfast while watching the Victoria Day parade; a perfect view! We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th Floor "inside room" while not a great view; was very quiet for sleeping! (didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Joanne,
Great idea to be inside having breakfast while the parade passes right out in front of the hotel. That was a fun parade (I must have seen you in there as I was taking in the parade at the hotel as well that day).

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is well located and rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Good bathroom amenities and cleanliness, as well as nice decoration. Walking distance from main attractions and to many bus stops. Staff is helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lfbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking a moment to let others know about your experience at our property. Very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our group of six adults stayed here on our first visit to Victoria. The hotel is beautiful and the location was great for walking around the city. The breakfast bistro was very nice, and the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Loved our visit and would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soupy1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi there,

Hopefully your first trip to Victoria was a great success and thank you for making our hotel a part of it.

Hope that this will be the first of many.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My son and I stayed here the night before our trek on the WCT. Many thanks to Alex (manager) who kindly offered to facilitate our trip by going to MEC down the street and getting some supplies we couldn't bring with us so we would have them early in the morning without waiting for store opening. And he stayed the night we arrived to make sure we were kitted out or he would have cycled home to augment what we would need. Talk about an employee going the extra kilometre! The hotel was faultless - including all the staff we met - cheerful and helpful in all regards - they very willingly stored suitcases for us during the week away also. Could have used a Rialto half way through the trek! Very personal and friendly experience - would not hesitate to book again when visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pylorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
It makes us very proud when we learn of our staff going the extra mile for our guests. Alex is well known for his "above and beyond" approach to service so I was not too surprised to hear of this gesture.

I will be sure to make Alex aware of your appreciation. Thank you for letting others know about your experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing