We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you trip advisor for sending us here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Thank you trip advisor for sending us here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I found this hotel Entre provider, and it was the perfect hotel for us to stay in for our Victoria visit. I'm a big fan of boutique hotels. This one has it down to a science.

The front desk staff, especially Michael Peng, are incredibly helpful. The rooms are clean and sophisticated and technologically advanced. It has crown molding, and subdued minimalistic art, but also a floor heater thermostat in the bathroom. That is a first for me. And happily we did not need to use it during our visit, but it's nice to know that it's there if we need it. The bed was very comfortable, the towels were soft, the amenities in the bathroom were more than adequate, I never heard any noise from any other guests, and the sheets were soft. What more can a person ask for in a hotel?

Well the Rialto does try to give a bit more. They are very flexible with how they treat their customers. For instance, you can get a cup of coffee and pastry from the coffee bar in the morning. But what if you'd rather have an omelette than a Danish? Order the omelette, but get a three dollar credit towards it because youndidn't eat the Danish. In the same spirit, the Rialto will give you a $10 credit towards food ordered in their coffee bar or restaurant if you decide that you really don't need your room cleaned that day. It's not a huge thing, but it's nice. It's almost more memorable that they made the offer then the money any savings amounts too. It's just a nice gesture.

When and if my husband and I return to Victoria, we will definitely be staying here again. This hotel is exactly the kind of hotel I am always looking for, whenever, and wherever we travel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SJtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
What can we say....it's obvious you "get us". I'm not sure I could have articulated our finer points to potential guests any better than you just did in your review, so thank you for that.

So just as you read some one's review and stayed with us as a result, I suspect you may influence someone to have an equally great experience. We promise we will take good care of them :)

Hope you can return soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    378
    61
    16
    7
See reviews for
231
704
85
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

From start to finish the staff at the Rialto was a class act. When making our reservation by phone Enes was so professional. It was a pleasure dealing with him, and since I was having a temporary hearing issue, he patiently repeated so much of the conversation that I was missing first time around. We had a 'late arrival' and when we checked in we were upgraded to a king size room . Quiet and spotlessly clean. One small feature which we really appreciated - there was a night light in the bathroom. We had a wonderful sleep on the comfortable king size bed. Guests are provided with coupons for coffee and pastry in the morning, or they can be used for free coffee and $3.00 off breakfast menu items. We opted to use them toward our delicious full breakfasts in the bright, sunny breakfast room. Checkout with Alex was also easy and pleasant. Thank you all. Will certainly return when we are in Victoria.

Room Tip: I can't speak for pool or gym because I never inquired if they had either available. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jed39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi there,

Greatly appreciate you taking a moment to spread the word about our hotel. Hope you can stay with us again soon, Richmond is pretty convenient for a quick weekend get a way.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto in June 2014 for 5 nights. What a stay! Some of the highlights of the hotel:
1. The staff. I can't say enough about them. Prior to my visit after I made my reservation, I emailed them a question regarding check-in. Within 15 minutes a member of guest services called me at home to answer my question, as well as provide info on attraction in Victoria. They are all extremely courteous, and are willing to help you plan your stay in vacation without hesitation and with great recommendations.
2. The room. I understand that it has been recently renovated, and it shows. Very clean and spacious. Like previous reviewers have noted, the structure of the old building lends to sound travelling easier than it should, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper (Or use the complimentary pair that they provide!)
3. The restaurant. Fantastic breakfast (the French Toast was outstanding). They provide a complimentary cheese plate on check-in, which was delicious. Also, their bar has a fantastic whisky and liquor selection, and the bartenders make some VERY creative cocktails.

Also, great location: walking distance to the harbour, Chinatown, and water taxis.

A must-stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Pauly,
Love hearing that our staff was a big part of your stay, our team is truly our biggest asset and we appreciate them so much, its great when they are recognized.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto for a week on business. It was fantastic--the staff were so helpful and they knew me well before the end of the week. Rooms were lovely, clean, spacious and comfortable. Location was perfect for sightseeing and shopping in Victoria and for getting to UVic. Alex, the manager, was on top of everything--from ordering cabs to getting me passes to the nearby gym. Free coffee/tea and muffins for breakfast was a nice perk as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It only starts with good value. The front desk personnel were not only helpful with recommendations you would expect in this town of virtually unlimited tourist attractions, but also with things like parking regulations for disabled drivers and the location of a kite-flying festival. Though the building is early twentieth century ( check out the informative display in the basement), it was totally gutted and rebuilt from the inside. The result is a high quality European ambience. Our room had the most luxurious bathroom in any hotel--tub for two with separate stall shower and two sinks. First rate breakfast and a bartender and bar staff both knowledgeable about obscure Irish Whiskey and full of suggestions when requested. This is a remarkably well-run facility. Highest Recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeendil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Seriously - if you are looking for a great value for a couple of nights - you found it. Here's why:
Great location - can walk to anything in the downtown area
Great service - everyone of the front desk clerks went out of their way to help with several requests
Extras- a cheese plate on check in
Extras - breakfast vouchers for discounts on the breakfast
Great lounge - they make some great cocktails to start your night off
Good food - the restaurant is highly rated and serves tapas if you want something trendy or small to share
Great breakfasts - try one of their Benny's or omelettes .
My room was good size and handicap accessible
Earplugs - they come in handy as hotel is a renovated older (assuming) wood building, so you can hear folks in the hallways
Right next store to a great wine shop!

Room Tip: There are various size rooms, ask about the size/upgrade at checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've stayed in many high end (and expensive) boutique hotels before, but this time, traveling on my own I was on a tighter budget.

Hotel Rialto provides an incredibly luxurious experience for a reasonable price! Let me walk you through everything that makes this hotel great:

-Perfect location, if you're traveling without a car the bus stop is across the street which will take you to the ferry terminal (to get back to Vancouver etc.) and Butchart Gardens etc.
- All the main attractions in Victoria are within walking distance
- The public market is almost next door (which is an indoor farmers market of sorts, think St. Lawrence Market in Toronto or Granville Island in Vancouver, but much smaller) and is a great place to get a great sandwich, coffee or treats to bring back to your room.
- Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Traveling on my own I had a lot of questions on how to get around and they were always happy to help and even happily accommodated all my requests such as early check-in, late check-out and switching to a room with a better view
- Public areas in the hotel are bright and inviting, and make you feel like you're splurging on a luxury hotel.
- The hotel isn't too big so you're not waiting for elevators or to check in/out
- Rooms are perfectly equipped with huge flat screen tv's, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, bathrobes, ihome docking station/alarm clock, and even heated bathroom floors!
- The beds are super comfortable
- Free cheese platter in the restaurant is a lovely welcome treat. I recommend pairing it with a wine tasting flight. Service in the restaurant was amazing, and while I didn't have much beyond the cheese plate (I did add charcuterie to make it more of a meal, and that was delicious!) all the food people were having around me looked incredible.
- The free continental breakfast in the morning was perfect. If you're a big breakfast eater, don't expect quantity, your voucher entitles you to a coffee or espresso based beverage (their cappuccinos were divine) and a pastry or muffin (also delicious) which to me is the perfect way to start the day.
- There is a great wine and liquor store right in the bottom of the hotel. Being from Ontario I was surprised at how much higher BC alcohol prices were, however, this store seems to have lower prices than I saw elsewhere in BC, so that combined with the fact they offer a 10% discount to hotel guests is a great place to stock up on whatever you need.

I don't know if this would be the ideal hotel for families as the rooms are a bit smaller than the traditional hotel room (think big budget hotel chains) and doesn't have a pool, but for couples, solo or business, I don't think you're going to beat it.

I certainly will stay here any time I return to Victoria.

Room Tip: Because of the layout of the hotel, some rooms lookout onto another wall of the hotel and therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing