We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked the Rialto because of its location - central to most things in the city - and the description of its rooms. The description was spot on and we received a large, well appointed room and were delighted with it. Staff were excellent and we enjoyed breakfast, drinks and dinner in the cafe and restaurant. The hotel was within easy waking distance of lots of restaurants, shops and tourist attractions and was only five minutes from the port for the Victoria Clipper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi Stephen,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with other travellers, we definitely are blessed with a good locale for exploring the city.

Hope your visit to Victoria and Canada was amazing.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights here, the hotel is extremely comfortable and the staff are super friendly and efficient.

We had a Junior Suite which was well appointed, perhaps a tad small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. But clean and comfortable.

Why not 5 star rating, only a couple of minor issues, one is soundproofing, when you are woken up by someone floor above flushing the toilet because you hear the water rushing through the pipes at 3am it's a little frustrating. Also road sounds can be clearly heard from the street and once you have noticed the manic 'cuckoo' sound of the crossing up the street it's hard to ignore from about 5 am....

Anyway, minor things, hotel is really very nice and staff are great.

The cocktail bar is also worth a visit, the bar tenders make some curious drinks with care and enthusiasm that eventually turn out very tasty !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your review, sounds like overall you were pleased with your stay but appreciate the details you pointed out. In this case, I'm not sure what can be done but have passed along your comments to building maintenance.

Hope you enjoy your travels while in Canada.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our first trip to Victoria, and this is the kind of hotel that we look forward to revisiting. This is a small hotel, recently renovated with superb rooms. It's a little off the main tourist street (about 3 blocks) but an easy walk. Excellent service and value. The bar and restaurant were also good, though a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi Robert,

Appreciate you taking a moment to tell others about our little hotel. When you say "Our first trip to Victoria,..." it sounds like there will be others. I hope that is the case.

Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My favorite place. Urban chic,european contemporary elegance. From a complimentary continental breakfast to a chic restaurant boasting delicious local cuisine.The Rialto is centrally located in the heart of Victoria and within walking distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Your opening sentence says it all! We love to hear that. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had an opportunity to check out our dining options in the hotel.

Thank you for helping spread the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I found this hotel Entre provider, and it was the perfect hotel for us to stay in for our Victoria visit. I'm a big fan of boutique hotels. This one has it down to a science.

The front desk staff, especially Michael Peng, are incredibly helpful. The rooms are clean and sophisticated and technologically advanced. It has crown molding, and subdued minimalistic art, but also a floor heater thermostat in the bathroom. That is a first for me. And happily we did not need to use it during our visit, but it's nice to know that it's there if we need it. The bed was very comfortable, the towels were soft, the amenities in the bathroom were more than adequate, I never heard any noise from any other guests, and the sheets were soft. What more can a person ask for in a hotel?

Well the Rialto does try to give a bit more. They are very flexible with how they treat their customers. For instance, you can get a cup of coffee and pastry from the coffee bar in the morning. But what if you'd rather have an omelette than a Danish? Order the omelette, but get a three dollar credit towards it because youndidn't eat the Danish. In the same spirit, the Rialto will give you a $10 credit towards food ordered in their coffee bar or restaurant if you decide that you really don't need your room cleaned that day. It's not a huge thing, but it's nice. It's almost more memorable that they made the offer then the money any savings amounts too. It's just a nice gesture.

When and if my husband and I return to Victoria, we will definitely be staying here again. This hotel is exactly the kind of hotel I am always looking for, whenever, and wherever we travel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SJtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

What can we say....it's obvious you "get us". I'm not sure I could have articulated our finer points to potential guests any better than you just did in your review, so thank you for that.

So just as you read some one's review and stayed with us as a result, I suspect you may influence someone to have an equally great experience. We promise we will take good care of them :)

Hope you can return soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

From start to finish the staff at the Rialto was a class act. When making our reservation by phone Enes was so professional. It was a pleasure dealing with him, and since I was having a temporary hearing issue, he patiently repeated so much of the conversation that I was missing first time around. We had a 'late arrival' and when we checked in we were upgraded to a king size room . Quiet and spotlessly clean. One small feature which we really appreciated - there was a night light in the bathroom. We had a wonderful sleep on the comfortable king size bed. Guests are provided with coupons for coffee and pastry in the morning, or they can be used for free coffee and $3.00 off breakfast menu items. We opted to use them toward our delicious full breakfasts in the bright, sunny breakfast room. Checkout with Alex was also easy and pleasant. Thank you all. Will certainly return when we are in Victoria.

Room Tip: I can't speak for pool or gym because I never inquired if they had either available. We were in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jed39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi there,

Greatly appreciate you taking a moment to spread the word about our hotel. Hope you can stay with us again soon, Richmond is pretty convenient for a quick weekend get a way.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rialto in June 2014 for 5 nights. What a stay! Some of the highlights of the hotel:
1. The staff. I can't say enough about them. Prior to my visit after I made my reservation, I emailed them a question regarding check-in. Within 15 minutes a member of guest services called me at home to answer my question, as well as provide info on attraction in Victoria. They are all extremely courteous, and are willing to help you plan your stay in vacation without hesitation and with great recommendations.
2. The room. I understand that it has been recently renovated, and it shows. Very clean and spacious. Like previous reviewers have noted, the structure of the old building lends to sound travelling easier than it should, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper (Or use the complimentary pair that they provide!)
3. The restaurant. Fantastic breakfast (the French Toast was outstanding). They provide a complimentary cheese plate on check-in, which was delicious. Also, their bar has a fantastic whisky and liquor selection, and the bartenders make some VERY creative cocktails.

Also, great location: walking distance to the harbour, Chinatown, and water taxis.

A must-stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hi Pauly,
Love hearing that our staff was a big part of your stay, our team is truly our biggest asset and we appreciate them so much, its great when they are recognized.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,052 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing