We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ended our holiday in Canada at this hotel for three nights and were well pleased with our greeting ,check in and the cleanliness,space of our room.
Whilst not in the centre of Victoria,location isn't a problem as the harbour and other attractions are easily reached on foot.
Our room was situated overlooking a busy main road and the hotel give ear plugs to help with the noise but we weren't put off. We walked everywhere so didn't have a problem with sleeping!
We only used the restaurant for breakfast and found a good selection of food.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireTull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello and thank you for posting your review. I trust you had a great Canadian holiday and happy to hear we wrapped it up on a positive note.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others.

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    376
    60
    16
    7
See reviews for
228
700
84
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel Rialto is really a nice venue. ALL staff were wonderful, great attitudes, smiles to greet you, from the management to breakfast and evening restaurant, to the environmental services staff.

We arrived early, and they kindly put our luggage in a secure locker so we could come back and get registered and moved into our room, which was also very nice. Comfortable beds, HEATED bathroom floor, and really nice accommodations.

I know I've said wonderful and nice several times, but it certainly fits. I plan to go back later this week. I am so gratified to know I will be going back to a great hotel and its reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ-Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
"Its nice to be nice ;) " You may have said nice a few times but we never tire of hearing it.
Thank you for acknowledging our little hotel and the staff, we really appreciate it.

Glad to hear you were returning for another stay...hope there will be more in the future.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My 3 guests and I , all gave The Rialto a resounding "rave review" rating. The service staff were congenial and efficient. Racing in the Canadian Melges 24 Nationals, the bar atmoshere and complimentary cheese tray was the perfect touch for our "after sailboat racing" wind down.
The rooms were impecably clean and the location was perfect.
5 Star all the way.
Frank and Melges 24 CAN 539 Team

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi there,

Hope you and your team had a great time here in Victoria while racing. What a great reason to visit our city! Thank you for making us a part of the fun and helping to spread the good word.

Come back and visit soon,

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice hotel and the staff couldn't have been nicer. This boutique hotel is well located anda short walk to the harbour and all the attractions. The restaurant has a casual atmosphere with excellent service and tapas and ahuge variety of fun cocktails. We highly recommend it and our room was very close to perfect too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Kath,

Very nice of you to take the time to share your Rialto experience with other travellers, we really appreciate it.

Come see us again soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a small, intimate hotel that's nicely located, within walking distances of most main attractions but not in center of tourist attractions so it was a nice respite when you wanted a break for the day. The staff is friendly and helpful; the rooms are nicely decorated although ours was on the small side. There were two of us, each with a suitcase, but there was only room for one suitcase in the room so it was a little challenging to move around.
The hotel offers a voucher for a nice little cheese tray you can eat in the trendy bar or take up to your room. And breakfast, including their lattes, were great way to start the day.

Room Tip: If size of room is a concern, make sure you ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi there,

Very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for letting others know some of the details that make our hotel unique.

Hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked the Rialto because of its location - central to most things in the city - and the description of its rooms. The description was spot on and we received a large, well appointed room and were delighted with it. Staff were excellent and we enjoyed breakfast, drinks and dinner in the cafe and restaurant. The hotel was within easy waking distance of lots of restaurants, shops and tourist attractions and was only five minutes from the port for the Victoria Clipper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Stephen,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with other travellers, we definitely are blessed with a good locale for exploring the city.

Hope your visit to Victoria and Canada was amazing.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights here, the hotel is extremely comfortable and the staff are super friendly and efficient.

We had a Junior Suite which was well appointed, perhaps a tad small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. But clean and comfortable.

Why not 5 star rating, only a couple of minor issues, one is soundproofing, when you are woken up by someone floor above flushing the toilet because you hear the water rushing through the pipes at 3am it's a little frustrating. Also road sounds can be clearly heard from the street and once you have noticed the manic 'cuckoo' sound of the crossing up the street it's hard to ignore from about 5 am....

Anyway, minor things, hotel is really very nice and staff are great.

The cocktail bar is also worth a visit, the bar tenders make some curious drinks with care and enthusiasm that eventually turn out very tasty !

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review, sounds like overall you were pleased with your stay but appreciate the details you pointed out. In this case, I'm not sure what can be done but have passed along your comments to building maintenance.

Hope you enjoy your travels while in Canada.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing